We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Borobudur Resort
Nearby Hotels
$304
$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borobudurhills(Borobudur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amanjiwo Resorts(Borobudur)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
291
43
13
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
43
13
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pooljavanese experienceeach mealnon alcoholic drinksvolcanic mountainsdragon headsurprise upgradewhite water raftingoverlooking the valleystaff went out of their waycall to prayerjavanese styleeach eveningthree nightsyogyakarta airportrice fieldslaundry service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 350 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My sister recommended Villa Borobudur for a three nights stay to celebrate my birthday. We, ie sister, niece and i spent a restful and memorable weekend at the wonderfurl place which indeed was a Gem hidden in little Dusun Menoreh. The view from the Villa Dipanegoro was spectacular where Candi Borobudur and Gurung Merapi can be seen amindst the surrounding lush greenery. One can just spend the whole day sitting next to the pool or in the jacuzzi and stare dreamily into the distance with a whimsical smile. This GEM is supported by an Intricate and Genteel Setting - the ever accomodating and friendly Staffs who epitomised the term 'Service with a Smile'. Everything that we needed was at hand - a Thumb's -up to Ingo and his team.

Although the WIFI could do with a stronger signal but then who needs the internet when we can be One with Nature!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Tan J, Thank you for excellent review, it was very nice you chose to celebrate your birthday with us and it is great to hear you all enjoyed your time with us so much. We will pass on your compliments to our staff and check on the wifi. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future. Best regards, Ingo and all Villa Borobudur staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took a chance on this villa, knowing nothing about it beyond a suggestion from someone else and the pictures on the website, when we were looking for local accommodation for a visit to the area.
As it turned out we had an absolutely spectacular trip. The location is phenomenal, perched on the side of the hill with mesmerising views of the sunrise over the distant volcanoes. The staff were, without exception, the friendliest and most helpful I've ever encountered. Everything from the beautifully prepared food, to the drivers who took us on various personalised (and optionally catered) day trips, to the villa itself, was flawless. Noelle is an exceptionally gifted hostess and it was through her recommendations that we discovered the tremendous local art scene which we would otherwise have been completely oblivious to. That, and the more conventional trips to the various historic sites really brought the trip alive and we packed an enormous amount into a regrettably few short days.
It was an unforgettable experience which I fully intend to repeat, and wouldn't just recommend it to friends and family, I would insist they try it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villa Diponegoro which was, at the time, the largest and most private of the rooms available.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat1hew_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Matthew, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was great having you as our guests and we really appreciate your compliments as you have been travelling to many places, so you have much experience to compare to. It was very nice having you as our guests as you clearly enjoyed and appreciated not only the view, nature, the food and the service, but also the broad variety in things to see and do in the area, you truly got a feeling of what central Java has to offer. Looking forward welcoming you again! Warm regards, Noëlle and all VB staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We only stayed one night at the Villa Borobudur and loved every minute of it.

The views are great with the temple in the distance, the room was amazing with a giant four poster bed and the fridge is stocked with what you've previously requested to help you unwind on arrival.

The a la carte lunch was fantastic and the evening buffet was great.

And the staff were simply wonderful, consistently going out of their way to help from organising a trip to the Waisak festival to serving a late night "out-of-hours" drink and snack to organising onward transport.

The laundry service is free which was great for us as after trekking in Sumatra we desperately needed some clean clothes and it was returned later that day.

Wifi is included with rooms having individual passwords and we found it to be fine.

I'd say it's worth the money.

You'll want to Instagram the view, the carved wooden ceiling and chandelier possibly even the dragonhead shower! We did anyway...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timblankt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Timlankt, Thank you for your review, and indeed you visit wat way too short as there are som many more things to see and do. However it is wonderful you did enjoy your stay in all aspects. And we will check Instagram for your pictures as well! Hopefully we can welcome you again soon as you are not too far away. Best regards, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The views from this villa are truly amazing and all you want to do is sit and take it all in and enjoy this tranquil and special location. We stayed in the villa which allowed us access to our own pool and suited our 3 year old who had woken early due to jetlag and the call to pray then wanted to go swimming at 6am. It meant we did not disturb anyone else. All the staff are locals who are friendly and attentive. The food is authentic modern local cuisine and simply delicious. In addition to the main attraction of Borobudur we enjoyed an afternoon on a horse carriage ride through the local countryside stopping to participate in some pottery making which our 3 year son enjoyed nearly as much as playing with the staff at this unique villa. We hope that we can return and stay longer next time. Thanks to all the staff for their hospitality which makes this place a must for anyone looking for a place to stay when visiting Borobudur.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmstorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Mmstorer, Thank you for your wonderful review and for staying with us. Indeed your stay was way too short, but it is great you got to enjoy at least some of the sights and got to experience the peacefulness and special atmosphere of Villa and the area. Please come back soon, there is so much more to see and do, not only for you but also for your son! Warm regards, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Much has been said about Villa Borobudur by other reviewers, from the kindness of the staff to the mesmerizing views on the volcanoes and Borobudur Temple in the distance. What struck me in addition was the attention to detail : nothing is left to chance to delight customers. Against mosquitoes, for instance, bed nets, mosquito coils, mosquito sprays will form a triple protection in the room. To make travellers' trip most enjoyable, free laundry will be available : you drop your clothes in the basket in the morning and get it back clean and ironed in the evening. Last, a car that we were using had a small braking system incident : the brake was getting warm and some noise coming out of it. Without the slightest hesitation the driver stopped and said : I will call another car from the hotel. You are safe and comfortable at Villa Borobudur

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard-dranreB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Bernard, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting others know about our service. It was a pleasure having you and your family staying with us. It was very nice to see how you and the children thoroughly enjoyed the activities in the Villa and in the area. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future! Best wishes, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews