We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Priceline
$186
View deal
Trip.com
$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/05/22
Hotels.com$185
Travelocity$185
Orbitz.com$185
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
325
47
14
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
325
47
14
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews own home sunrise merbabu architecture cloudy magelang
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 391 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My family and I spent four nights at the VB. We decided to celebrate our son’s second birthday in a special place. We always thought resorts had to have beaches but VB proved this wrong. The views of Borobudur valley from the guest rooms are amazing. Borobudur temple appears out of the valley mist each morning, and Mt. Sumbing provides a picturesque 6,000 foot backdrop. Our room was crafted of local wood, and the intricate carvings, art and décor throughout the resort are inspirational. Our son was enthralled by the dragonhead bath and shower faucet. There was a good mix of meat and vegetarian dishes. Service is excellent and the staff go out of their way to make you comfortable. The highlight of the stay was the way the staff and owners treated our son. They got him a huge Mickey Mouse cake and they lavished him with love and small, local gifts. His party included a performance, and for our last night there was a musical performance. We also had VIP treatment at Borobudur temple as a part of our four-night package. This included a tour with guide Agus (whom we called the Javanese Jackson because of his ability to tell us about the temple and moonwalk at the same time) and entrance to the temple from a special vantage point away from the tour buses and throngs of people. We decided to visit the waterfall and take a horse cart ride around the local villages. At one point we disembarked from the horse cart and our son was shown how to make a pottery pot. We had a late afternoon flight to Jakarta so we decided to visit Yogyakarta in the morning before heading to the airport. We plan to return to VB and have already recommended it to friends. If you need to be near beaches then you should go to Bali. If you need to be near beautiful views, nature, friendly people who care about service, tranquility and authentic Indonesian historical sites and villages stay at VB. The memories will last for lifetime. Thank you Noelle, Egu and VB staff.

Room tip: All of the rooms have great views.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrellFreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Darrell, Thank you for your wonderful review and it was indeed very nice having you and your family with us for your sons birthday. We of course passed your compliments on to our staff. We are happy you all liked your stay, the view and surroundings so much. There is plenty more to discover and experience, so we look forward to welcoming you again! Best regards, Noëlle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in Villa Diponegoro and enjoyed the everchanging view from the terrace, the luxury of our open air villa (no need for air conditioning, the design of the villa keeps it at a comfortable temperature and we were there during a hot time of year) and the extra touches such as the table linen, theatrical daybeds and the surprising shower. After a 4 night stay we felt like we'd been away from real life for a month. This is a magnificent property, private, own pool and spa and surroundings to soothe your soul. We even got used to the prayer calls and uncharacteristically got up before sunrise to the view of the mist over the valley and shrouding Borobudur temple, just magical. Central Java exceeded our expectations as a destination and we hope to be back to experience the delights of Villa Borobudur. Congratulations to the owners and staff. We visited a wonderful art collective and liked meeting the local Javanese. My tip would be that if you want to visit Prambanan and see the Ramayana Ballet (both are worth seeing) do this while staying in Yogyakarta as its a long drive from Villa Borobudur.

Room tip: If your budget stretches to Villa Deponegoro, you wont be disappointed.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Torvie,
Thank you for your review and we hope it will convince more travelers to visit, discover and experience the delights of Central Java. We look forward to welcoming you again at Villa Borobudur. Best regards, Noëlle Haitsma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The first thing you notice when you arrive at Yogyakarta airport is that the people are very kind and respectful.

Upon receiving our luggage we were warmly greeted by the driver Prianto who would take us to Villa Borobodur.

It takes about 1 hour, depending traffic, to get to the hotel but along the way there are many things to see. At the hotel it seems as if the employees and Villa managers are eagerly awaiting your arrival since you they are ready waiting with a welcome drink, refreshing towels etc. We had especially a great encounter with Wahyu (which turned out to be the director) and Dina (manager of the Villas).

The first thing you notice at the Villa Borobudur is the marvelous view and if its not misty you will be able to see the Merapi Volcano (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mount_Merapi). This volcano is a wonderful sight to behold, even you just see only the top through the clouds. Very impressive and you will not get tired of having to see it everyday.

The villa/hotel has wonderful and polite staff, there is a great private pool, minibar is inclusive, 3 times a day you get to choose your meal, unlimited beverages, you can request for massages, rooms are very clean, laundry is inclusive, free wi-fi. And No surprise bills afterwards which for sure is a good thing.

If there is something you want arranged just consult with the staff. We did and they helped us in the best way possible.

If you like hiking ask for guidance from one of the staff members to show you around Mountain Menoreh or do this by yourself. Mountain Menoreh is where the Villa resides, so it is actually in your 'backyard'.

Things to do and visit nearby:
- Rafting
- Borobudur silver
- Climb the Merapi
- Hiking Menoreh
- Visit Yogyakarta mall
- 5min from the Villa is an authentic coffee bar
- Visit Borobudur temple
- Eat authentic food on the 'street' (ask the employees where)

At night you can just sit back, relax and be romantic and enjoy the view.

We stayed for 7 days and there is just too much to mention that both my girlfriend and I liked. The hotel just has everything you expect and probably more.

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rootberie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Rootberie,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it you have taken the time and make the effort to inform others about Villa Borobudur and its surroundings. It was a pleasure having both of you staying with us and are glad you enjoyed it so much. It was great you could spend 8 days in Villa Borobudur and had time to not only enjoy all the services of the hotel, but also many of the activities in the area. As there are still some more you would like to do, we hope to welcome you back again!
Best regards, Noëlle Haitsma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A stay at Villa Borobudur is true cultural immersion, an opportunity to really experience authentic Javanese culture, food, architecture and traditions, and to step into the "real Java". This small, cozy 6-villa property is not what we'd consider "luxury villas", but rather a heritage hotel with a personal touch that leaves you with a feeling that you've really experienced Java by the time you sadly depart. The personal attention and devotion poured into this place by its onsite Dutch owner, Noelle, and manager Dina shine through every pore.

If you are looking for a place where you can be showered with the upmost luxury, private pools, plush air-conditioned Western style accommodations, ultra-trained "cookie cutter" staff, and gourmet Western food and wine, and are visiting the area for nothing more than a quick look at Borobudur or to relax in the spa for a weekend, Villa Borobudur is probably not for you. However, if you are visiting Java to experience the island, its culture, its people, its scenery, its traditions and history, want to sample real Javanese cuisine, and enjoy real people that honestly desire your absolute happiness and want you to bask in everything Javanese, then Villa Borobudur should definitely be on your itinerary. Don't just spend one night here to see Borobudur, spend a few nights and experience the area with some of their very nice excursions, gaze at the panoramic vistas from your front porch with a cup of tea, relax with a massage overlooking practically the entire Central Java, and most of all meet the local people.

LOCATION - Villa Borobudur is located about 10 minutes drive from Borobudur temple, halfway up a huge jungle-draped hillside, just outside a tiny village up a narrow, steep and winding driveway, all by itself, giving it towering panoramic views over the valley below.

THE VIEWS - Simply magnificent. Borobudur is always visible, but at a distance (you're not super close, it's small but you can always see it), with mighty Mt. Sumbing looming just beyond, creating a dramatic and truly stunning scene. As the dawn breaks, the scene you experience from your front porch is just spectacular. The valley is shrouded in mist, with Borobudur just emerging, the sky just starting to turn orange, the outline of Mt. Sumbing becoming clear, with not a sound but the birds and the morning prayer at the local mosque. A spiritual experience.

THE PROPERTY - Villa Borobudur consists of six villas, the best of which is the Siddharta Suite, which runs about $400.00 per night after taxes and service charge. Seems like a lot, but not compared to the nearby Aman, which will not only stun you with rates of $1200-$1400 per night, but then charge you huge money for everything from laundry, to drinks, to food, to excursions, on top of that, complete with service charge on everything. Villa Borobudur, on the other hand, includes everything for you - all-inclusive food, non-alcoholic drinks, free wi-fi internet, free laundry, even a free 1 hour massage with multiple night stays.

The villas are built on a hillside with stairs running between them, so if you have mobility issues, you may want to be sure to stay in the lower level of villas so the stairs are not as much. There are no elevators, and while the staff will take your bags, you still have to go up and down the stairs for meals and the pool. The Siddharta Suite is standalone, while the Borobudur suites share a common wall with one other suite. The villas are hand-carved out of teak wood, with magnificent carved designs. They are designed in traditional javanese "jogla" style, including the two joglas that have the dining and sitting areas. Gorgeous views from everywhere on the property, including the swimming pool. Everything is open-air, no A/C, which is fine due to the cool breeze that sweeps over you up on the hillside. More villas are under construction at the moment, but it does not disturb your stay.

THE ENVIRONMENT - The villas are surrounded by jungle, which means you will have birds singing in the morning, butterflies fluttering around the property, and also a few friendly critters like geckos and frogs, which due to the open air style sometimes find their way into your villa. Along with the friendly creatures we found quite a few mosquitoes, so plan on repellent. There are mosquito nets on the beds and coils in the villa, but we still met up with our share. Each morning at 4:00 AM, the village mosque will issue the call to prayer, and it is really loud in your villa, however they supply ear plugs, and after the first couple days you get used to it. The rest of the day the prayer is quite low volume, a spiritual backdrop that is quite enchanting actually. I found waking up at 4:00 AM to be great actually - watching dawn break over the valley from your bed or porch is really amazing. It's not like there's a lot to do at night after dinner, the early morning is the best time of day (coolest) and you're training yourself to get up for the magnificent Borobudur sunrise experience.

THE VILLAS - The hand-carved teakwood villas are not what I'd consider luxury, but comfortable and authentic, full of character and atmosphere. From the Javanese statues at the foot of the bed to the illuminated buddha on the headboard to the dragon shower and bath, with flower petals at their feet, it seems every detail has been attended to. The furnishings are hand-carved teak as well. There is a desk for working, which is nice, and plenty of space for your clothes. The bathroom is large with shower and bath (in the Siddharta suite at least), and a separate toilet. The room is quite dark with dim lighting, but you can open the many windows for more light, and if you feel you need more light they'll be happy to bring some to you. The bed and pillows are hard but comfortable, surrounded by mosquito netting at turndown, and offer great vistas over the valley below even from the bed! No A/C and no ceiling fans was a minus, but when the breeze is present, it blows through the unit and keeps it relatively cool. Not always present though, so we made a lot of use out of the portable floor fan.

BUSINESS - This is not a business hotel. We made do with the desk in the room, but it is dark to work, even with windows open and the extra lighting they willingly provided. You can move the desk onto your spacious front porch during the day, or sit down at one of the dining tables if necessary. The wi-fi was very slow and frustrating, but then they moved a router into our villa and it got way better, at least for the first day, then it slowed way down again - I think it's a Telkomsel hallmark to slow you down after short periods of use, and there is no landline internet available in this remote location yet. In the end it worked fine, but the focus of this hotel is not on business, so don't expect facilities for that, just enough to make do.

THE FOOD - Unlike Aman, where they have an "Indonesian dinner", Villa Borobudur is exclusively authentic Indonesian (Javanese) cuisine. I think we tried more Indonesian food on our first day here than we'd been able to find in the past three weeks put together. It is not luxury food - it's typical 3-star food like you'd get at a restaurant in the village - but it's authentic, you get to taste what Javanese food is, and the amount of different creations the chef can make with sticky rice and palm sugar is amazing. I'm sure they would make something special for you if you ask, it's that kind of place - nothing is too much trouble. We were so happy that they didn't "westernize" the menu here like everywhere else we went in Indonesia did (well, at least not much). I'd been complaining for weeks how hard it was to find anything but Nasi Goreng and Mei Goreng or Western food to eat in Indonesia - that all changed here. It's not all tasty, but mostly, and all interesting to try. There is a pretty big menu to choose from that changes daily, so you don't really get bored with the food, and it's all part of the experience.

THE STAFF - The highlight of Villa Borobudur, besides the view, has to be the staff. They are so genuine, so friendly, so cute and you just feel like an honored guest all the time. Nothing is too much trouble, always a smile, always polite and trying so hard to help you to enjoy your experience in Java and their culture. Owner Noelle is also present and pops in to check on you once in a while and chat which is a nice touch, always interested to hear what you think. Indonesia has got to be the friendliest country we've ever visited, and Villa Borobudur is no different.

THE EXCURSIONS - The highlight of course is Borobudur, the world's largest buddhist temple. It's about 10 minutes away, and well worth the extra to go at sunrise, both for the serenity, the magical scene (birds, orange sunrise, Merapi volcano, 7 mountains, mist-covered valley, jungle-draped hillsides, morning prayer from the village mosque), and to get there before the tour buses from Jogjakarta arrive. I think we had only about 12 people in the whole complex, absolutely worth it.

Prambanan is about 1.5 hours drive from the villa, so make a day out of that and combine with the sunset, dinner in the shadow of the lit-up temple, and the ballet. We did the Merapi biking tour - a nice combination of off-road and road biking through villages, forest, and town - quite an adventure (including standing in the bed of a farm truck on the way to the tour). See the "real Java". We met peanut farmers who posed for pictures with us, and visited a bird market and an antique shop as well as riding through rice fields and actually down riverbeds. We enjoyed the horse cart ride through the village, seeing how palm sugar was processed, watching tobacco being dried, meeting the ladies that make rice snacks for market, and seeing a very impressive (for this village) art gallery in the house of a very nice guy with great English. There is also rafting, other mountain biking trips, and sightseeing trips to the Dieng Valley and beyond.

We enjoyed our stay at Villa Borobudur tremendously, it was just the type of place we were hoping for - comfortable yet authentic, a true culture hotel in Central Java. And the views....ah, the views....I miss it already! Stay a few days here instead of the city...you'll be glad you did.

Room tip: The Siddharta Suite is the way to go, more private, best views, least stairs.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johann-Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Sandra & Johann,

Thank you for your elaborate review, we will certainly pass all your compliments an remarks to our staff. We hope certainly more guest will take your advise to hart and stay longer to enjoy not only the view, but also the wonderful atmosphere of Central Java. As I know there are still some activities and trips in the area here on your wish list, we look forward welcoming you both again!
Best regards and happy travelling, Noëlle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were bowled over by the naturalness of the surroundings, the comfort of Villa Diponegoro, the excellent vegetarian food and the warmth of Noelle and the entire Villa Borobudur family.They made our anniversary memorable.
The view of Borobudur , swathed in mist at dawn was breathtaking.
Would surely like to go back.
Alpana and Vivek Mundra, Kolkata,India.

Room tip: All are nice. If one can , one should stay at the Villa Diponegoro
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivek836
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Alpana & Vivek,
Thank you for writing a review on your experience at Villa Borobudur. It was indeed a great pleasure having you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Also it was an honor for us to organise and celebrate this special wedding anniversary with you.
Looking forward meeting you again!
Warm regards, Noëlle Haitsma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews