We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hidden retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumah Boedi Private Residence Borobudur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rumah Boedi Private Residence Borobudur
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“hidden retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Yep, this is one charming hidden retreat!

Upon arrival, you will enter a pleasing sitting pavilion styled in Javanese joglo house and decorated with antique furniture. The bedrooms (although small) are individual cottages surrounded by a lovely garden with a romantic ambiance. Meanwhile the bathroom can use a little bit of makeover, but overall it is clean.

It might be not too close to the Borobudur temple, but you can still feel something magical in the air.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    60
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
53
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location isn't great as it's a 30 min walk to the Borobudur temple, which most people are there to see. However, there are bikes available to rent - 20k for 6 hours or 35k for full day. It's 10 minutes in a rickshaw to the hotel from the bus terminal and it costs around 15k.

The rooms are clean and spacious with Indonesian-only TV and free wifi. The shower is ok but not that powerful. Eggs or nasi goreng are available for breakfast. The restaurant is pricey but not overpriced as Lonely Planet says. The food is of a high quality and priced accordingly - 75k for local dishes, soups and pasta start from 55k. The grilled snapper is good for 90k. There is a nice lounge area with free afternoon tea as well as a collection of books and board games.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a junior villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I was traveling alone and stayed here in December 2013. I'd booked online and wasn't sure what to expect. It's set in a very nice, treed area, with a charming main sitting pavilion, in a rural spot. You're about 3km from the main temple of Borobudur but being in the countryside makes it worth it. The staff were all very friendly and made me feel like a welcome guest.
The food at the restaurant was also tasty, but a bit overpriced, but it is a hotel restaurant I guess.
Worth keeping in mind that the rooms are very small, but comfortable.
Overall, very good value for money and worth spending an extra day just to relax and soak it all in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steeledavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this charming place at the end of a lane just 20 min. from Borobudur.
The rooms are individual cottages and the layout of the grounds and buildings is very pleasing.
The hotel rents out bicycles which are of an indeterminate age, still, I found it delightful biking through the fields and villages.
Would certainly recommend staying there !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were so happy to spend several nights here while visiting the temple. We were 1 of the only Guests, and they treated us like royalty. the food in the restaurant was quite good and they have scooters for rent and slightly rickety bicycles. they have a fabulous central pavilion with a snack served in afternoons.they have some interesting booksabout the borobudur temple.Fantastic and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nackwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

stayed here for few nights, our first stop in Indonesia, and we couldn't have been more please. Rooms were very clean, airy, and surroundings were beautiful. the gardens are very lush and well kept. they served complimentary afternoon coffee/tea along with a traditional Indonesian desert which we woul look forward to having each day, as it was simply delicious! in close proximity to Borobudur, which was the reason why we stayed there, and hotel staff even helped to arrange a sunrise tour for us. overall very pleased and would recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are looking for the nice small, private, quiet and truly Yogyakarta to explore Borobudur here is the place. Comparing to the price here is very cheap. The room decoration is very good. Each room constructed like a small villa. So you do not book for a room but for a nice small villa with small lawn and pebble area. The room is equipped with big folding doors for both sizes. You can lay down on the bed and open both size of those doors. This is very necessary in midday and afternoon in case you need a nice air of Borobudur. The bed is very comfortable. It is very comfortable until you have to put a lot of effort to push yourself up to start the day. Each villa located in the small courtyard. It is very nice for green area.
There is a main lobby area which is a big open area with nice lawn. Somehow it can give you a glimpse of Javanese-Dutch Colonial. The open lobby is open around the clock. There is a High Tea at 4pm everyday. Hotel Guests are welcome to join without any cost. The sandwich, quiche and other pancake are very decent.

In the evening before the sunset please walk around the resort and walk out to the rice field. There are small huts mid of the field. So you can watch the sunset over Borobudur.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spikydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
0.5 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#4 of 10 in Borobudur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Villa Borobudur
Villa Borobudur
#1 of 10 in Borobudur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Boedi Private Residence Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Boedi Private Residence Borobudur

Property: Rumah Boedi Private Residence Borobudur
Address: Tingal Wetan, Wanurejo, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rumah Boedi Private Residence Borobudur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Wanurejo Village, known to the locals in the ancient times as The Forest of Kings. Rumah Boedi Borobudur is surrounded by natural forest and rich culture of the locals. Positioned next to the meeting point of two rivers The Ello River and The Progo River, Rumah Boedi Borobudur creates an ambience of serenity. In the ancient teachings of our ancestors, a guest is considered as a family. Experience our sincere service from the staffs as you unfold the beauty of traditional Javanese culture. Explore true Indonesian Culture through our activities such as Sunrise in Borobudur to Biking across the padi fields. Feel the comfort of our curated tropical flair rooms, styled to make you feel like home away from home. Sense the ambience of our beautifully landscaped natural garden as you journey to a state of peace. Cultivate your Mind, empower your Body and nurture your Soul with your stay at Rumah Boedi Borobudur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rumah Boedi Private Residence Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing