We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Borobudur and to Nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Close to Borobudur and to Nature”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Pros:
- Low season now! (you can expect a lot of privacy)
- Attentive and polite staff with personalised service (dare I say VERY attentive staff. Much impressed with efforts from DWI, Benny, Mario and team (apologies for forgetting the names of everyone else). Took a few tries to get my Mocha right but when done, it was exceptional.)
- Reasonable and accommodating reception managers (At our insistence, we were allocated a different room to the one we booked due to the ongoing construction. Would have preferred a warning email about this prior to booking. Nevertheless, it was not a bother as we were placed as far from the construction as possible.)
- Proximity to Borobudur Temple (10 minutes by car. Can't complain!)
- King's breakfast (reasonable menu and variety. Chef accommodating to all requests.)
- Beautiful views (you'll be impressed on your first morning at the breakfast area, I guarantee it)
- The Hubble Telescope (sneak a peek through the expensive binoculars at breakfast and you'll be amazed at being able to identify the colour of the soles of a temple visitor a few miles away)
- The Spa (standards exceeding that of a 5star hotel. the girlfriend couldn't get enough of this. Haydee's (male therapist) foot reflexology was amazing)
- Spacious Rooms and Bathrooms. Gorgeous pool. (you get what you pay for)
- Wifi!!! (Given the location, you'd treasure this more than you ever have. Speeds are more than satisfactory.)

Cons:
- Construction going on right now. (Bear this in mind when booking. Do ask for a room far away from it. You shouldn't have a problem if they can accommodate).
- Close to Nature (close enough for a few creepy crawlies to sneak into our room and bathroom overnight. An expected consequence, I suppose, given our location. Bring lots of insect repellent.)
- Restaurant pricing fairly steep (This has been mentioned before, so expect to pay more than you would even in a nice restaurant in most developed countries. No complaints about the taste)
- Lack of 24hour Room service (This should be standard for 5star hotels. Given the lack of ANY local restaurants open nearby past dinner-time, would have been also nice to have Room Service, albeit a selected menu, past the restaurant last-order time of 930pm. Had to taxi off to Amanjiwo for a late night snack on one of the nights.)

Hope this helps!
Thank you Plataran!

Room Tip: AWAY from the construction. Ask for Borobudur view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FriedWanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlataranBorobudur, Director of Sales at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear FriedWanton,
Thank you for your positive and well balanced comments mentioning the pros of excellent service ambiance and care and the current temporary inconvenience of a construction on the far edge of the resort . Yes, indeed the very heavy demand for rooms for the coming high season has put us for a real conundrum, on the one hand we don’t want to disappoint our agents while on the other hand we don’t want to disappoint our guests with a less enjoyable experience. So we decided to build the extra villas during the off season where we have the flexibility to minimize any inconvenience to ensure that our guests have a thorough enjoyable stay as you have experienced yourself. You have seen that we do our utmost to make the stay entirely satisfactory and we look forward to welcome you again to our beloved Plataran Borobudur or in any other exotic Plataran resort during your next visit to Indonesia.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we wish you a pleasant trip back home with best regards from our entire team who thoroughly enjoyed the pleasure of serving you.

With kind regards,
Iwan Sitompul
Corporate Director & Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    90
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
87
227
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was a short three- generation break with something for each of us.The oldies( late 60's) particularly enjoyed the welcome massage ,the pool ,the excellent cuisine and of course sunrise over Borobudur.The only just 3 year old enjoyed the pool, the parrots and the people of the hotel whose attentiveness was exemplary.That left the 30 year olds free to cycle and explore. The rooms were spacious and airy particularly the exotic bathrooms! The comfort of the beds was disturbed only by the early morning call to prayer.The eclectic menu offered an interesting choice of food which was beautifully cooked and presented. Perhaps the best thing about the resort is its location with stunning views , a peaceful oasis after the chaos of Jogjakarta airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlataranBorobudur, General Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Patricia and family,
Thank you for your spirited review. We are delighted that Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa has been able to give you that 3 generations break you have been longing for.

We always discuss the reviews with our staff to find out where we can
improve, especially the guest experience and we are happy that we have been
doing well.

We wish you a pleasant trip back and when you return to this part of the
world we hope to welcome you and your family again in Plataran Borobudur again or
in any of our other exotic resorts .
Warm regards
Budi Anjarwanto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel, taking our time exploring Borobudur and other temples in the vicinity. We loved our stay at Plataran. Our room was quiet, clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. The bath room was large with marbles and high ceilings. We had a pool Villa, and it was very private. The nearby villas were blocked from view by garden plants. Although we did not use the pool, it was nice to watch the water as it provided another level of serenity. We had a large covered patio and from it, we watched the awesome sunrise every day as it revealed the outline of the Borobudur temple and the surrounding mountains. It was an enchanting experience, and the prayer from the mosque in the village definitely added to atmosphere. It was the way of life there and we consider it a feature rather than an inconvenience.
The breakfast area was very nice, with artfully placed garden furniture and overlooking Borobudur temple. You can see that someone gave the space a lot of thought when designing it. We enjoyed the fresh fruit juice and nicely presented fruit plate, and the breakfast was pleasing to the eye as well as the stomach.
We took the cooking class from the hotel and it was a delightful experience that we very highly recommend. The hotel staff customized the dishes based on our feedback. Chef Iqbal and his staff were very enthusiastic and professional in explaining the ingredients and dishes. They were patient and generous with their time and knowledge. We enjoyed the cooking demonstration and the hand-on practice. It was one of the high-lights of our stay at the hotel.
One thing to keep in mind if you plan to get a ride to anywhere from the hotel, it could take up to half an hour to arrange a taxi as the hotel is remote. Overall, for the quality of the amenities and surroundings, the professionalism and friendliness of the staff, and the wonderful location, we would recommend this hotel most highly.

Room Tip: Pool villa has good view of Borobudur
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peilin_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlataranBorobudur, General Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We do appreciate the time you have
taken to write to us such a detailed review describing the ambiance, the
scenery, facilities and the service specially your comments about the
cooking course received enthusiastic comments from our chef Iqbal as a real
encouragement to further improve on it, and he sends you his best regards.
We are aware about the taxi situation and we will do our best to try to ease
the waiting time. With much appreciation, we are looking forward to welcome
you back to Plataran Borobudur some day.
With best regards,

Budi Anjarwanto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

One place I have been dying to see was Borobudur. We had an opportunity to squeeze in a holiday in November. We were looking for some place that was quiet and was close to Borobudur. I found Plataran on the internet. It looked fantastic and the reviews were good. We thought it would be nice but when we got there it was beautiful! The grounds are beautiful with all kinds of flowers and plants. We had a private paddy cabana. If we go again, that is where we want to be. It was very private and really made you feel you were a part of the trees, plants and mountains. The food was very good. We had a table that looked right at Borobudur. The dining building is in the Dutch style and the lighting around the restaurant give the area a wonderful ambiance. The best part was to get up two mornings at 3:45/4:00am! to take photo's of Borobudur and the Volcanoes. Merapi was sending up puffs of smoke one day. We had a lovely spa session. The facilities were beautiful. The staff was very helpful and the food was very good and so were the little snacks they put out from time to time. We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: I loved the paddy cabana. You can have a dutch style/modern style room with a private pool but I lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlataranBorobudur, General Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for sharing your experience of stay which turned such a wonderful serendipity and as it is so much in line with what we try to offer our guest, an experience that is more than a nice room with a view but offers a relaxing ambiance, a taste of the local culture, with graceful service. I will share your comments will the entire staff and again thank you so much for staying with us. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

My best regards

Budi Anjarwanto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I am a frequent visitor to Jogja and I usually stay around the Bantul area for the greenery and proximity to village life. This time however we decided to stay around Borobudur to have a different experience. We arrived via Solo and it took us 2 hours via the Merapi route. I would NOT recommend this as the roads were bad, winding, sharp and potholed and it felt like we were experiencing flight turbulence for most of the drive . Much better to take the main flat roads that would take you 3 hours but allow you to enjoy the scenic view of beautiful idyllic villages around Merapi.

Now for the hotel. It is a gorgeous estate built on a hill. You'll see Borobudur on one side and Menoreh Hill as you go around. The hotel is relatively new but the place has a very lived in atmosphere. They've been mindful to keep the vegetation and generally the resort is very well designed to provide you with a memorable experience of the Borobudur setting. For example, breakfast is set on the Terrace where you can view the sunrise and enjoy the panaromic view of Mt Merabu , Mt Merapi and the Borobudur from your table.

The villas are set on the hillside offering privacy though I do agree with the postings, it is well worth paying for the pool villas rather than the paddy cabanas . It is just set too far down the hill and its a trek ( considering its a holiday) to go up and down the steps to enjoy the facilities. The pool villas facing Borobudur were absolutely divine.You have your own pool which you could enjoy a dip whilst watching sunset /sunrise.

The spa was one of the best that I have been to. The prices are very reasonable for the packages and the rooms were equipped with a lava stone bath. That's an absolute treat! The yoga sessions from 7 am to 8 am were fantastic. Tea was served at 4 pm daily but the spread could be a bit more generous. The excursions were decently priced, we did the Andong village tour though I could say the guide could have been better.

The reason I would give it a four would be that service could be improved for the large part considering this is a 5 star hotel. For example, replenishing the tea, locking the door after turndown and lighting the aromatherapy were little things that required attention. I think generally housekeeping could be improved. We did not have the issues at the restaurant mentioned by some of the earlier postings .The place also had a lovely mini zoo for children which should keep the little ones entertained for a bit. I would also suggest you bring some snacks and water as there are no convenience stores unless you head out.

We had great service and staff was always attentive there. I would like to mention the front reception staff Siska who provided exceptional top class service that should be the standard to follow. She attended to our requests with much tact and professionalism . Keep up the good work!

Overall I would rate this as one of my most memorable short holidays. The accommodation is undoubtedly on the higher side but you do pay for the exceptional view and privacy. I would say this is still value for money considering your next best choices close to this standard would be Amanjiwo and Mesa stila.

The resort is improving but a few things I would like to see:

1. A better menu spread for lunch and dinner. There's not much choice, Breakfast was SUPERB and generous to say the least.

2. Create more experiences within the hotel, Eg.. outdoor movie night, herb garden , book room, a shop selling snacks convenience products, spa products, etc. For the price paid for the rooms I would likely to want to spend more time on the estate than out of it.

3. Better wifi. It was spotty most parts. Especially in the room.

The hotel is undergoing expansion so I do suspect things will change over time. Overall a wonderful stay and would I go back?..... YES.:)

Room Tip: The Borobudur Pool villas. Exceptional and quieter I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlataranBorobudur, General Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful comments which I have shared with my entire team.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and enjoyed staying with us and love the surroundings that what make Plataran Borobudur uniquely different from your regular accommodation in Jogyakarta.

We look forward to welcoming you back someday soon

With kind regards
Budi Anjarwanto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta,
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

After long trip from Magelang with the traffic we arrived at this hotel round 2 pm. The check in was smooth. We booked through online n of course we got better price than the walk in guests. We booked at the pool villa with the hope to see Borobudur Temple in the morning. We had lunch at this restaurant and it was decent. The room was large n nice with the pool. And from our room we could see Borobudur Temple. The afternoon tea was nice n we sat outside to warch Borobudur Temple again. We were pleased with the service n definitely we would come back.

Room Tip: Choose the pool villa. If weather permit, you can see the sunrise and Borobudur Temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DitaSoepono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlataranBorobudur, General Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing Plataran! We loved having you and happy to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to Plataran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

very nice hotel on a green hill with a view over the temple and the greenery; nice staff; good restaurant in a wonderful buiding; nice pool; comfortable transferts to Yogyakarta;
sunset tour is marvellous; being nearly alone on the top of the temple after public visits have closed; gives you a feeling of a private visit outside of the busy visit times;
cabanas are very nice and comfortable although not very big (cabana10);
a few drawbacks: be fit because of the steps if your cabana is a long way down the hill; a little bit overpriced with a breakfast that should be included given the price; although this is not the responsability of the hotel, the village mosque is very close and the prayer call quite loud starting at 4 am and 7 am;

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlataranBorobudur, General Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments on the entire staff. As for your concerns, thank you for bringing them to our attention regarding the price inclusive of breakfast, size of the villa, and the mosque. It is only through insight from our guest we can address these comments to improve our hotel for the future. Thanks once again and we hope to welcome you back to back to Plataran in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
2.7 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#4 of 10 in Borobudur
183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
954 reviews
21.4 mi away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Magelang
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
10.7 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
275 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Property: Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
Address: Tanjungan Village, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical new Borobudur world class tourism facility. Mystical Borobudur.... Magical PLataran ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing