We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical views in a relaxing resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

There is a wonderful magic to this resort, largely due to it's excellent location on a hillside overlooking the Borodubur Temple and nearby volcanoes. In fact by rising early [before 6AM] you can watch the sunrise over the mountains and the temple on the roof of the office/lobby with a cup of java in hand. We opted for the smaller and cheaper cabana for our stay, and found it spacious enough for a 3 night stay. One note - access to many of the units requires traveling up and down several dozens steps. The hotel staff handles your luggage so that's no problem, but if stairs pose a problem you should check with the hotel about your unit before arrival to see if a more accessible one is available.

The view from our cabana was over the valley and jungle covered mountains - which was fine for we were only around early for sun up and sunset. The large swimming pool provided a peaceful and relaxing place for a cool dip. As others have suggested, one good option for visiting the temple is to request an early [8am worked for us] taxi to drop you off and pick you up at the temple's public entrance [it's ~15 minutes from the hotel]. This got us into the temple before the big rush and though a guide may provide added background information - you can get the basics and more by simply bringing a good guide book or app along as you walk around the site.

We found the Plataran food ranged from very good to excellent - French influenced western dishes and a mix of local Indonesian specialties provided delicious and reasonably priced dinners. Breakfast was very tasty as well. You might want to save the wine & hard liquor for special occasions and stick with the local beer given that as in many countries alcoholic beverages are heavily taxed and quite expensive. As in all Islamic countries there are daily/nightly prayer calls, and in this particular area it seems that every very small settlement had a very young aspiring or older near retiring muezzin. This resulted in quite a lengthy series of calls at times, so ear plugs are recommended particularly for the early morning hours.

If you're flying into Yogyakarta airport the Plataran will arrange an airport pickup and return for about USD40 each way. It's nearly a 2 hour drive and the resort is off the beaten path, so it was worth the price to be able to sit back, enjoy the view of the country side, life on the streets and in the fields and get into the Borodubur contemplative spirit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhileasFoggII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 529 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

sorry to say... we were staying at one bed villa pool , guess what.. the room is clean and good airconditioned , but the safe deposit box didnt work , ask the staff to fixed it but went broke again.. so we just hopping no one come to our room as we leave the room....we also smell something like dead animal in our room...when we told the staff about this, it seemed like they couldn't understand it..

first day arrive , was lunch time i ordered "nasi goreng" at the restaurant...it was the most plain taste nasi goreng i ever had....and worse thing was they didn't cook thechicken well..it still has blood and the meat was raw , i ask the staff to change it and they told me the kitchen staff is not there....i thought"..what the bloody hell they have gone...?"
breakfast was just a normal average, still hopping better for the price that we've paid on a villa.

we would not recommend this resort to others...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plataranindonesia, General Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

Dear Michut,

We are very grateful for your fantastic review of Plataran Borobudur Resorts & Spa.

I'm pleased you enjoyed all the little touches during your stay. we are taking note both positives & less positives to motivate us to keep improving both the quality of our product and services in order to satisfy our staying guest, we are apology for its inconvenience cause while you were staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Yogyakarta.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful days and nights at Plataran resort. The view of Borobodur and the surrounding hills was a daily highlight. The rooms are spacious and beautiful mixing traditional design with modernity. Staff are very friendly and professional. Food was excellent and the massage was fantastic - definitely the best one I'd had in a long time. Highly recommend spoiling yourself with a few days at Plataran.

Room Tip: The Grand Borobodur villa is less private than the Grand Menoreh
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sha43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plataranindonesia, General Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

Dear Sha43,

We are very grateful for your fantastic review of Plataran Borobudur Resorts & Spa.

I'm pleased you enjoyed all the little touches during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Yogyakarta.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here end of August 2012. The view of the Borobudur and paddy fields was great. The staff very friendly and helpful. Sometimes things can go wrong in a hotel, but it depends on the staff how they resolve it. In our case they did a good job and provided us an upgrade. Massage was one of the best I had since long time. The Chef was really great. Excellent Western kitchen.
Of course you need to have some luck with staf as many of them are still doing their internship.
Excursions were good, but somewhat on the expensive side perhaps. But for cheap stuff, you should not visit the Plataran.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeendertvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you your good comment,

We will keep and improve our service and product
look forward to welcoming you back to Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Plataran resort to visit the Borobudur. We booked a rice paddy view room and paid for an upgrade to a pool villa for US$250 a night. The villa came with a stunning view of the Borobudur in the distance, a spacious and beautifully designed room and of course the small but pretty pool! Staff is friendly and helpful. We used the spa services and loved the massage. The resort has good quality bikes (to rent) and touring the area makes for a nice afternoon. Despite all of this we decided to leave early.

The resort will have to improve its transparency related to options and costs when touring outside of the hotel. We are willing to spend money on good things, but like to be treated fairly when it comes to quotations. A few times we felt we were taken advantage of. We arranged transport to the Borobudur through the hotel, and were dropped off at another hotel to enter the site. We paid about US$90 for two to enter the temple site at 4:30am (as per advise of the hotel), whereas we found out that the traditional entrance charges are about US$15 pp at 6am that also allows you to see the sunrise. We would have expected better guidance on these options. In agreement with one of the previous reviewers, taxi prices that are quoted by the hotel are severely overpriced. When insisting, they agreed to cut the taxi costs in half to go back to Yogyakarta (from $40 to $20). The restaurant is good but charges prices you would expect to find on a menu in New York or Paris. With limited to no other restaurant options in the area, this is the only place to go. Like many other hotels, wine is quite expensive, but US$20++ for a glass of the 'cheapest' house wine is crazy in my opinion. We like our wine, but this got a little out of hand. Overall, loved the villa and the setting but we were not willing to break the bank on the extras and did not like the the feeling of being asked to overpay for transportation.

Room Tip: The pool villas are worth the extra premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldtravellers777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Guest Relations Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your review to our product and services.
Further to your comment for Sunrise Tour, we did suggest you to have early tour at 04.30 with VIP Entrance at USD 35net/ pax since you will not catch the Sunrise at 06.00 through the public entrance gate at USD 20net/ pax.
Regarding the transportation, our rate is higher than public taxi which is definitely having different service and standard. Such as refreshment (soft drink)
Our cheapest wine is USD 17 net which is include tax and service due to imported product.
Overall, we do thank you for any input and suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Recently went on a trip to Borobudur to see the sunrise that most has been talking about. Plataran is not as close nor as cheap as other hotels that would allow you to go visit the amazing sunrise over Borobudur. But it was definitely the best option.
It is only a 20 minutes bike ride to borobudur (and I'm not much of a biker). And by the time you're done with the sunrise, the breakfast was simply put amazing. Easily one of the best hollandaise sauce on an eggs Benedict that I ever had (and i'm quite the brunch enthusiast). The view that goes along with it was cherry on top.
After breakfast, take an hour break, and make sure to plan a spa, it was also amazing. And if you're a couple go with the shared room, the view overlooks Borobudur along the mountains.
Will definitely make this my first option on a definite return trip to Borobudur or at least until I can afford to try Amanjiwo out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adesputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plataranindonesia, General Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

Dear Ade S Putra,

We are very grateful for your fantastic review of Plataran Borobudur Resorts & Spa.

I'm pleased you enjoyed all the little touches during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Yogyakarta.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The positive aspect of Plataran Borobudur is its setting, on a hill overlooking the famous temple. The rooms have a simple elegance, some with a view of the temple itself and others with a view across the valley that runs alongside and across to the mountains. The clubhouse speaks to Java's Dutch colonial inheritance and with its pool is a very pleasant place to sit of an evening. The negatives are to do with the hotel's attitude towards its guests. Although the staff serving in the hotel restaurant are very helpful and have a friendly attitude, every other aspect of the hotel is cold, aloof and in some cases actually obstructive. For instance, we tried to arrange a driver to take us round Borobudur and a couple of the other local temples. At first, we were told we would have to book driver and guide together at a cost of $150 for 4 hours. When we insisted we wanted only a driver we were told this was not possible. When we said we would in that case find our own driver, suddenly a driver was made available at a cost of $50 for the same 4 hours. We then requested that the driver be made available early in the morning (around 8am) as the guidebooks all recommend seeing the temple either early in the day or at sunset. We were strongly assured by the hotel that nobody goes before 10am so we accepted their advice - but of course by the time we got to the temple there were hundreds of people queuing to see it. Our second major problem was with the spa. We had booked 90 minute massages but received barely 60 minutes, with resulting unpleasantness when we challenged the bill. In addition, room charges are high ( we paid over $400 for B&B). In spite of a number of good points, we felt this hotel was poor value for money and could not be relied on to advise its guests appropriately as to how best to see the major local attractions. At these prices, it would be worth checking out the nearby Aman hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank returnjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plataranindonesia, General Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for your fantastic review of Plataran Borobudur Resorts & Spa.

I'm pleased you enjoyed all the little touches during your stay. we are taking note both positives & less positives to motivate us to keep improving both the quality of our product and services in order to satisfy our staying guest, we are apology for its inconvenience cause while you were staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Yogyakarta.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.1 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 11 in Borobudur
1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
2.7 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#2 of 11 in Borobudur
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#8 of 23 in Magelang
477 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
10.7 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#5 of 11 in Borobudur
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Address: Tanjungan Village, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range: $215 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical new Borobudur world class tourism facility. Mystical Borobudur.... Magical PLataran ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing