We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This new hotel near the Borobudur monument has a beautiful setting, great design, and very personal service. The reception and cafe have a perfect view of the monument. The resort is very lush and the villas are encircled by gardens.

The spa is very, very good, and offers a range of massages.

The villas are spacious and well appointed. The bathrooms are large and modern. Some villas have an outdoor bathroom with lush foliage around.

The food is a highlight. The menu is inventive, the dining spaces are beautiful, and the food is just right. However, it is really gourmet, and if you want more straightforward fare, you have to ask for it.

We had many conversations with the friendly staff about their country and culture, and were really pampered throughout our 4 day stay.

The guide from the hotel was well informed and gave us a detailed tour of the Borobudur monument, which is a short drive from the hotel.

It's worth waking up early and watching the sunrise from the monument - very serene start to the day.

Great place for a family visit. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Been2Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Guest Relation Officer at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

We thank you very much for you stay, we really appreciate your good feedback to us, We hope that you'll be back here again someday, and hopely that will be as pleasant as the previous one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 516 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at the Plataran Borobudur for two nights in May of 2012, and I would go back in a heartbeat. The rooms themselves are quite large and very simply furnished. We had a two room villa and another couple we were with had the upstairs room. I didn't hear them at all through the walls. Our room was downstairs and had a little table outside. Their room was the same footprint but part of it was a outdoor terrance, which was actually nicer. There were some oddities about the physical aspects of the room in that there were not sufficient plugs. For instance, I had to unplug the minibar to plug in the coffeemaker. But to me any complaint was very minor. We had a sunrise tour to Borobudur which was a highlight of the trip. Our guide, Fatah, was excellent. His English was very good and he knew when to let us wander around and when to move us along. I had done some research about Borobudur before our trip and, from what I could tell, what he told us corresponded to the most recent scholarly opinions. The food at the resort wasn't bad, as some others thought, but inconsistent. The menu is very large and you just can't keep so many ingredients fresh with so few customers. I especially loved the Indonesian breakfasts, with the rice porridge, as sort of Indonesian congee. We also had a massage in the spa which was wonderful. I don't remember the guy's name but I like pressure just short of painful and he hit the spot perfectly. And the view was beyond compare! I should also add that the resort opened a few months ago and we paid $390 for the two rooms combined which I thought was a real bargain. At this rate, IMHO it was a steal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwg1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Guest Relation Officer at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you very much for all of your comments here, It's been an honour for us that we can share a bit of beauty around this area. Hope someday you'll be back again and we will looking forward for it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Plataran Borobudur hits the mark on all counts....

Breath-taking view of Borobudur - Check
Great location (within 15mins of temple) - Check
Wonderful, warm, friendly service - Check
Terrific spa - Check
Lovely, LOVELY villas - Check

...bar one: The food.

This is the one and only disappointment of my stay. Main courses were unfortunately, cold (the green duck curry), unappetizing (way too much fat on the rack of lamb) and generally bland (the nasi goreng). More thought went into the presentation of the food (very pretty & very 'haute') and not enough on the taste/flavour.

You probably think I'm making a big deal out of this (after all we're there to see Borobudur, not to eat at a Michelin restaurant), but after you've had a great day out, followed by a dip in the pool, then a luxuriant nap, I am sure you too would be looking forward to a good meal. Especially seeing that you're totally stuck in the middle of nowhere and have nowhere to go!

Still, I would recommend this place quite heartily to anyone. A wonderful little oasis.

Room Tip: The Grand Pool Villa #201 is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shu Min L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Guest Relation Officer at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

We were glad to know and read your comments, thank you very much for you stay, all the best wishes for you & your family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Plataran is located perfectly for Borobudur - just 10 minutes away, it is at a height and the views of Borobudur are truly amazing. We stayed in a pool villa, very nicely furnished and comfortable. The location is what made this special for me - and would definitely stay there again. I just wish that there had been a fan in the rooms - the evenings were very pleasant , perfect weather for a fan - instead we had to use the airconditioner constantly as there was no choice.Apart from that detail ,enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: The pool villas have a view of Borobudur ... which is nice...however, you can get this view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piarampal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Guest Relation Officer at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We would like to thank you for staying with us, we really appreciate your positive comment about us, looking forward to welcome you here again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

There's nothing to complain about our 2 nights stay in Plataran Borobudur in sweet simple wooden but charming wooden paddy cabbana, we loved our room ,close to nature, as it's situated in very magical place, surrounded by the field of rice, facing the greatest Buddhist monastery in the world with the touch of romance.. we will never forget our moments at Plataran. It's realy wonderful getaway to escape from busy city life, the only noise we could hear in this place is animal sounds.. and be prepared with sound of prayers calls from the mosques of the village. The staffs are nice and helpful, i love the food at the restaurant, pricey but you have to enjoy the creation of Chef Iqbal...just so good, the breakfast and the egg benedicts from the kitchen of Plataran Borobudur are just the best and yummy. We will surely recommend this place to our friends

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rika a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Guest Relation Officer at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you very much for spending the time here, and we also glad to read all of your positive comments. We hope that someday you'll be back here again and we'll looking forward to it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

There is so much that is good about Plataran - the extraordinary view (especially at sunrise), the fabulous staff who went out of their way to help, Chef Iqbal's wonderful food, the neighbourhood walks, very comfortable rooms and the spa is divine (just what I needed post-PhD).

Do yourself a favour and ask at reception for a driver named Golem - he's keen to share his culture, as a local he knows a lot and he has a great style. This area is pretty much a mecca for those who like contemporary art - try Sony Santosa's compound, Limanjawi Art House, Magelang Fine Arts Museum (closed Monday's) and many more. Studio Mendut has beautiful batik - when you get the pieces home they don't look like mad holiday purchases. Walk or take a bike ride through the surrounding villages in the cool of the early morning or evening, the people are friendly, their houses are beautiful and you could walk for hours (make sure you have the hotel number or a good map). Borobudur of course is spectacular as long as you realise it is an historical monument (very well kept against the odds of volcanoes and earthquakes) rather than an active temple.

It was so exciting to be in a place that is steeped in rich cultural traditions but that looks to the future, that was my impression particularly from the artists. It was inspirational.

There was one significant downside to the experience. If only the parrot and the eerily quiet sulphur-crested cockatoo could enjoy some of the love - the owner must rethink their role in the resort and someone needs to do some research (1 star re. the accommodation of these birds, they deserve much better).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephineIsabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plataranindonesia, General Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

Dear Josephine Isabelle,

We are very grateful for your fantastic review of Plataran Borobudur Resorts & Spa.

I'm pleased you enjoyed all the little touches during your stay. we are taking note both positives & less positives to motivate us to keep improving both the quality of our product and services in order to satisfy our staying guest, we are apology for its inconvenience cause while you were staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Yogyakarta.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Experience:
My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We had booked the 'Touch of Buddha' package which included a 2night stay at the paddy cabana, village tour, Borobudur temple tour, chanting at a Buddhist Monastery, airport pickup and drop off and breakfast. We payed for an extra night and got the pool villa.
We were picked up at the airport and they had prepared a cooler with drinks for us, which was very thoughtful. It took us about 1hr to get to the hotel from Yogyakarata airport. Checkin was quick and we were escorted to our pool villa. It was amazing. Beautiful view of the rice paddies and mountains covered by clouds. The pool was very small, but worked for us. The paddy cabana is small but lovely. Again lovely views, very woody and natural. Lots of bugs though since its so close to the rice paddies, but they provide mosquito repellent and nets. We upgraded one night to the grand pool villa...now that was awesome! large infinity pool facing the mountains. We got to do yoga on the mountain, outdoors, at 7am... don't miss this experience! The Spa is also really really good. The hotel also provides some classes such as Gamelan, dance, cooking, etc. Be prepared to be woken up by prayers blasting on the village speakers in the morning!

Food: Food at the restaurant is very good. Breakfast is amazing, with amazing views.

Staff: The staff here are lovely. Very friendly and warm. You can tell they love working there...always smiling and so helpful.

The hotel staff took us to Borobudur temple, we were given a tour guide there. The temples is beautiful!!! We were also taken (walking) to the village outside the hotel. That was the highlight of my trip. It was an amazing experience. We got to see how the villagers live and how they make tapioca chips, baskets, straw rugs. The people were so happy and so lovely. Its an eye opening experience. It is great to see how the hotel supports this village. For example, they provide weekly Gamelan instrument classes for the locals. I got to see them play, and was invited to join them too!

Our last day there, I had got in touch with a driver to take us around some sights. I contacted Noer, who arranged a local driver, noer_hermanto@yahoo.com. For about 50USD, we got him for the full day. He took us to Mount Merapi Volcano (Selo village and Ketepass village), a local community center where women do Batik work (they allowed me to try it out!), and another village right next to the hotel where we got to do pottery! The driver was sweet enough to pick up my dried pottery the next day and drop it at the hotel for me to take back home.

Overall, amazing, rejuvenating and unforgettable experience. Lovely people (this is an understatement), lovely hotel, beautiful surroundings!

Room Tip: The Grand Pool villa with the infinity pool is the best! Many mosquitoes and bugs so be prepared!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harnidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Guest Relation Officer at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you so much for staying and choosing our resort, you gave us a really really good feedback to us. A positive comments for our resort improvements, once again thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.1 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 11 in Borobudur
1,024 reviews
2.7 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 11 in Borobudur
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#5 of 23 in Magelang
465 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
10.7 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#5 of 11 in Borobudur
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Address: Tanjungan Village, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range: $253 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical new Borobudur world class tourism facility. Mystical Borobudur.... Magical PLataran ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing