We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place to effortlessly enjoy Indonesian life”
Review of Rumah Dharma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rumah Dharma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I have visited Rumah Dharma twice now, once with friends and once with my boyfriend and I can recommend it to everybody! It is the best place on Java to effortlessly enjoy Indonesian life. Thanks to their great cook, you can taste new amazing local dishes every day. If you want to, they can organize daytrips according to your interests and the people guiding you are the most endearing people you will ever meet. Rumah Dharma makes it possible to experience how life in Borobudur really is, while enjoying western luxury. The warm and kind way in which Wendy and her family welcome you to their (surprisingly inexpensive) little piece of paradise, makes it hard to leave this place and travel on to your next destination. Make sure you book a couple of nights in this place, so you will be able to get a glimpse of all that it has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophie3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 279 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a unique guesthouse in the middle of the ricefields. When you go to Rhuma Dharma you will be able to view the Borobodur Temple, but you will find out there's much more to the region. If you can, try to stay at least 2 or 3 days in this guesthouse.
Reasons to go to Rumah Dharma:
- the food is delicious (and it changes from everything you find in local restaurants)
- the peace (a perfect place to kick your feet up with a book and a cup of tea or a beer)
- the company (Medi and Wendy are a charming couple that will help you with the slightest problem)
- Trekkings (there are beautifull trekkings to do in the area)
- if you're lucky Medi (a human jukebox) will tell you his life's tales on an accoustic guitar late at night...this guy has talent!
- Jamal. You'll see him when you meet him. This guy works for Rumah Dharma. He is a local hero that will take you on a joyous trip around the area in his chopped up vespa / 7 wheeled miracle motor. Jamal is the sweetest / funniest / reallest guy you will meet in Borobodur (and around). Jamal for president!
- The rooms are very clean and comfortable (no separate toilet though).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Thank you Medi, Wendy and Dharma for your hospitality. We had an unforgettable long Eastern week end.

We had yummy traditional Javanese food, the bungalows (traditional joglo style) were spacious and very clean. The location is great: in the middle of the rice fields, surrounded by mountains and very close to the Borobudur temple.

You and your staff were always ready to assist us. My kids loved the company of your son Dharma.

We are a couple with two kids, living in Yogyakarta. Rumah Dharma was the ideal place for us to get away for a couple of days.

Keep up the good work. You will see us again.

Room Tip: All bungalows are the same. I guess equally excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevenvanderveken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We booked our stay via internet in advance.
After a very warm and friendly welcome at our arrival, we loved the place immediately.
So, we booked some additional days. In fact we stayed as long as possible.
Unfortunately the resort was fully booked at a certain day, so we had to leave after nearly 2 weeks.

We felt absolutely safe and comfortable the whole time. From the beginning when Medi picked us up at the airport until the departure, when Medi and Dharma dropped us in Jogya as we had to move on from there.

We loved the rural surroundings. The location near a small village, is perfectly calm and quiet. The resort is directly in the middle of rice fields. You can sit there and relax in the shadow of the gazebos and watch children playing one of their favorite games - kiteflying. Or you can watch people working in the fields. Or you get overwhelmed by the greenish surroundings - the many trees and palm trees a few kms away. Or you walk roughly 100 meters to a near, very small bridge and have a look at the head of the borobodur temple. Sometimes it was illuminated during night hours - a fantastic view!

You really feel like home, being with friends or family - as Wendy and Medi (who run the resort) are so open minded and open hearted. They integrate you into the daily life as much as you want. You can sit with them in the kitchen area drinking tea and gossiping with them, with Jamal or the neighbours, if you like. You really don't feel like a tourist this way.
If you prefer to keep your distance, there is no problem with that at all.
All is up to you.
We loved the very sympatic family and enjoyed the social evenings, when we sat together after dinner, Medi playing guitar and singing songs either by his own choice or according to our wishes.
We also did some trips together with Jamal, Wendi and Dharma, which were a pleasure.
A great pleasure were also the bycicle trips with and without Jamal - the friendly local guide.
Great plus factor are the bikes, you can use free of charge.

This way it is possible to dive deep into the culture and get a feeling for land and people, that would not be possible otherwise.

Another fantastic thing to mention is the great, great food. The mainly indonesian dishes were homemade, delicious and prepared with love.
One of us is vegetarian and we always got great breakfast and dinner, without missing anything. Although we stayed a compareable long time and had dinner there every evening, the food was always delicious. Sometimes we asked to get some of our favorite dishes again - as we all loved the tempeh for example! Besides that there were no repetitions and the food didn't get boring.

Extraordinary was the extremly great service of Wendi, helping us with the arrangements of the next itineraries. She worked as tour guide in the past and could run a travel agency. At least that was the way she supported us.

Meanwhile we run the hamsterwheel again. :-(
We think back many times to that great holidays!
And we hope to be back soon! Sabar (patience) - is one of the many words in bahasa indonesia, we learned there....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Rumah Dharma is the perfect place where you can combine cultural visits with heavenly relaxation among the mountains and ricefields of Borobudur.
The owners Medi and Wendy welcome you with open arms and warm smiles in their modern equipped yoglo's including air-conditioning (nice bed; very clean bath room, and lot of extra space in the rooms itself, bottle of water daily included )
You can either explore the temple and sourroundings of Borobudur on your own ( by foot or use their bikes/moto) or Medi / Wendy will accompany you and bring you to exquisite sites where hardly any tourist can be spotted and where you discover the real indonisian country life;
They also pamper you daily with local sweets and heavly home cooked meals and curries in their open outside dinner area where you can also just relax one afternoon.
This is a place you fall in love with from the second you arrive; not just with the guesthouse and surroundings itself but also with the energy and enthousiasm of the owners Medi and Wendy

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anneke0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Rumah Dharma in our honeymoon and LOVED it!
We were on our way to visit the Borobudur Temple and found this lovely place online. The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds, a nice bathroom, AC. The dinner area was very romantic and beautifully set up. It is located in the middle on rice and tobacco fields and very tastefully decorated.
There is a lady from Borobudur in charge of the food and I must say that everything was delicious.
They have bicycles for the guests to use and a guide who is available for a couple of trips, the guide's name is Jamal, he is from the area and we had a great time with him.
I would highly recommend staying at Rumah Dharma, we thoroughly enjoyed it!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the last room and absolutely loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kamlapalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had booked 1 night at Rumah Dharma to visit the temple of Borobudur and planned to travel on to the Dieng Plateau. The minute we arrived at Rumah Dharma, we fell in love with the place and decided to extend our stay to 3 nights. We did the trip to Dieng as a one-day trip from Borobudur (arranged by our hosts), which is perfectly possible and saves you the trouble of staying overnight in Dieng - which has really no pleasant options.

Situated outside of town (which you can easily reach by the host’s free bike), surrounded by rice fields and only providing 3 guestrooms (we were the only guests), Rumah Dharma is incredibly peaceful, and thus it was the perfect place for us to relax and enjoy this lovely spot of Java.

The spacious rooms are simply but nicely furnished and have their own veranda, were you can sip your complimentary afternoon tea and watch the peasants work on the fields. And then there is the food: Breakfast and dinner are an excellent experience of freshly prepared delicious home cooked Javanese dishes! You just take your seat in the open air dining area and let the daily changing selection of several tasteful dishes surprise you.

For the rest of our trip across Java and Bali (i.e. for another 2 weeks) we kept comparing our accommodation choices with Rumah Dharma and we had to realise that in terms of variety of delicious food and private hospitality almost none managed to live up to the unique experience in Borobudur.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vin3berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
0.5 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 11 in Borobudur
1,034 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Wisata Magelang
Hotel Wisata Magelang
#19 of 23 in Magelang
7 reviews
1.6 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#5 of 11 in Borobudur
308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 11 in Borobudur
237 reviews
4.1 mi away
Borobudurhills
Borobudurhills
#10 of 11 in Borobudur
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Dharma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Dharma

Address: Jowahan, Borobudur, Magelang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Borobudur
Price Range: $54 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rumah Dharma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing