We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
$28
View deal
Booking.com$28
eDreams$28
Tripadvisor$28
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
285
49
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
285
49
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews papaya jam paddy fields fresh juice gunung merapi charming place fried rice ibu jakarta pak
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 346 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

As many reviews mention, it is very quiet, in the middle of nowhere on the edge of a medium-traffic road. A lovely pool which was immacualtely clean and refreshing after a warm walk around some of the local villages.

We had the suite which we felt was a little overprice when compared to other alternatives but a superb breakfast helped take the edge off the inevitable 4am wakeup (Even if you sleep heavily, bring ear plugs, anywhere in Java has a lot of mosques and it isn't just for five minutes, usually 15-20).

Bathroom was okay, shower had good water pressure but the towels were small and thin. At this price you'd expect a proper good quality towel. The bed has mosquito net (no mosquito's anyway) was fine, no aircon but it is cool enough not to need. The duvet was musty and not newly cleaned though (Although bed sheets underneath were clean and again, not acceptable at this level IMHO).

The potential for some great Franco-Indonesian fusion cuisine was there but it's a relatvely simple menu with French and Indonesian classics but imagine it serves them well given their very remote location. There is not really anywhere else to eat. However the steaks were simply superb and we ate them two night in a row they were so good.

Service was consistently first rate, drivers turned up on time and the local sights were amazing.

It's not the kind of hotel you would stay a week, more a pleasant drop-in for the local sights and then away. Improvements to the rooms, a more varied menu, better bedding and towels and they could justify their current pricing levels. As it is, I think it is a little on the expensive side for many nice Indonesian hotels with a better location. I think the standard rooms represent better value but the suite's additional cost is certainly not justified.

Room tip: End suite was nice with a seperate sitting room and dining area for breakfast in the room. All rooms are nice location though and potentially the end suite is a little quieter from the wakeup call perspective
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tch911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Sumbing I, Propriétaire at Villa Sumbing Indah, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

First of all thank you for coming has VILLA SUMBING INDAH to spend about days
We enregister your remarks and to make everything to rectify (although is the first time which we have this remark)
The menu card has more than 40 differents dishes, I am surprised which seems to you not enough variees
the management
Yanti and christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've been there alone, for two days, I must say that I was surprised by the quality and the situation of this little resort. I was looking for a getaway place, somewhere I just can relax. Villa Sumbing Indha is that place.
Great view on the Sumbing volcano, the paddy fields all around and 10mn drive from Magelang city. The room, the swimming-pool, the restaurant, everything was good. I got an one hour javanese massage from a local lady, a little expensive, but a must do ! The swimming-pool is a real pool, very long and with 1,85m high on its deepest. The room is rustic, all in bamboos, with mosquito net around the bed, love the shower, simple but effective. The food, western or indonesian, à la carte !
They are quite easy to find, since the location on Google Map is correct.
I definitely recommend Villa Sumbing Indah.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anliajae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wasn't quite sure what to expect from this place as I chose it purely from the reviews here but was pleasantly surprised. Perfect for a quiet (as in non-city) getaway, the villa is 1.5 hours from Yogyakarta airport to the north, actually going pass Borobudur (which was the main reason for my visit) next to the city of Magelang right between the two major volcanoes.

It is a small boutique hotel just outside of the town in the rural area so there isn't really anywhere to go within walking distance as it mostly surrounding farmland, which also meant most of the meals were in the hotel which was pretty good. The included breakfast was excellent. The standard rooms are more like a 1 bedroom suite with a separate living and bedroom which was very clean. Has free wi-fi. The rooms don't have air-conditioning (there is a standing fan in the room) so it takes awhile for things to cool down and it got chilly around 3am or so. There are no insect screens on the windows but there is a traditional net to cover the bed. I just kept the windows closed. For the really light sleepers, bring earplugs, the night life (aka insects and animals) can make quite the din if you're not used to it and as previous reviewers have mentioned 4am mosque prayer calls (which didn't really bug me that much).
Loved the 25m outdoor pool, spent several afternoons lounging around there. The hosts and owners Yanti and Christophe were super friendly and were helpful in recommending places to visit. English is not their first language so be patient (and clear on requests).

I did the sunrise tour of Borobudur which I highly recommend as the morning light and mist is just fantastic, it also beats the hordes who start showing up by the time you're done seeing the place. Other must see place include Prambanam. I also went on a 3 hour farmland walk around which was nice (bring insect repellant). The staff were very friendly and never failed to bring a cold drink each time I came back from one of their trips. Costs were reasonable although the transportation around to the sights were on the higher end. The driver was great in recommending other places to see around the main destination.

Overall, if you're looking for a place away from the hustle and bustle of cities this would be nice.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very charming hotel with a pleasant staff in a lovely countryside environment. Spacious rooms in local style, nice private terrace outside with comfortable furniture, beautiful garden, XL swimming pool, good food from the restaurant. We loved the back to basic attitude of the owners, although they created a that can meet modern comfort standards. Also the trips they offer, aswell as the transportation to airport or trainstation are very OK. We will recommend the villa to our friends in France and the Netherlands.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirkvermey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a relief to get out of Jogyakarta and be in the tranquil countryside! We chose Villa Sumbing on the recommendation of other travelers and we were really happy! It is a beautiful small boutique hotel with only a few rooms, set in the lush countryside about a half hour from Borobudur, the largest and most impressive Buddhist temple in Indonesia, and maybe the world!
We arranged a driver from the hotel to meet us at the airport and on the way, we stopped for a half day at Prmbanan, the large Hindu comlex of temples. Then about 2 hours drive to the hotel.
We enjoyed relaxing at the pool (it was hot hot hot at the temples!) and had dinner at the hotel.
The rooms are large and spotless, with a perfect view of Mt. Sumbing volcano on one side and the twinking lights of the city in the distance on the other.
The following day, a driver/guide from the hotel took us to Borobadur and we spent most the day there, and then off to Jogjakarta to fly home. The design of the two days was perfect.
If you are interested in seeing these two temples, don't try to do it in one day!! They are large, and very comlex, and especially in the heat, much too much for a day. At Prambanan you can rent a cheap bicycle to see the outlying temples.

The small downside of the experience:
The food in the resaurant is average at best. So, a few mediocer (sp?) meals won't ruin your trip!
Communicating in English by e mail was difficult but possible. French would be prefered. Be sure to have a good understanding of costs, airport pick up etc before you go. They only accept cash including for the drivers you must hire.

Bring earplugs! There is a Muslim call to prayer at 4 am, with competing Mosques all chanting on loudspeakers! With earplugs, no problem but without, you will be up with the faithful!
If you have an extra day to lounge around it would be lovely to do so there. Very pretty and nice staff.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews