We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
$28
View deal
Booking.com$28
eDreams$28
Tripadvisor$28
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
285
49
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
285
49
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews papaya jam paddy fields fresh juice gunung merapi charming place fried rice ibu jakarta pak
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 346 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a relief to get out of Jogyakarta and be in the tranquil countryside! We chose Villa Sumbing on the recommendation of other travelers and we were really happy! It is a beautiful small boutique hotel with only a few rooms, set in the lush countryside about a half hour from Borobudur, the largest and most impressive Buddhist temple in Indonesia, and maybe the world!
We arranged a driver from the hotel to meet us at the airport and on the way, we stopped for a half day at Prmbanan, the large Hindu comlex of temples. Then about 2 hours drive to the hotel.
We enjoyed relaxing at the pool (it was hot hot hot at the temples!) and had dinner at the hotel.
The rooms are large and spotless, with a perfect view of Mt. Sumbing volcano on one side and the twinking lights of the city in the distance on the other.
The following day, a driver/guide from the hotel took us to Borobadur and we spent most the day there, and then off to Jogjakarta to fly home. The design of the two days was perfect.
If you are interested in seeing these two temples, don't try to do it in one day!! They are large, and very comlex, and especially in the heat, much too much for a day. At Prambanan you can rent a cheap bicycle to see the outlying temples.

The small downside of the experience:
The food in the resaurant is average at best. So, a few mediocer (sp?) meals won't ruin your trip!
Communicating in English by e mail was difficult but possible. French would be prefered. Be sure to have a good understanding of costs, airport pick up etc before you go. They only accept cash including for the drivers you must hire.

Bring earplugs! There is a Muslim call to prayer at 4 am, with competing Mosques all chanting on loudspeakers! With earplugs, no problem but without, you will be up with the faithful!
If you have an extra day to lounge around it would be lovely to do so there. Very pretty and nice staff.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I were drawn to this hotel for its country charm, well-rated cuisine, and promise of peace of mind. Only the first of these was fulfilled, as described by others.

The food offerings were far from being French, as the French owner doesn't cook and his local staff know nothing about French cuisine. The meal choices and quality left much to be desired and we were in a captive situation, as there were no other restaurants within miles.

We stayed in the end suite, immediately adjacent to the wet paddy fields. Our peace of mind was shattered on the second day of our four night stay when we saw slithering in the field just outside our window a snake about one metre (3 feet) long. We later described the snake to our guide who confirmed it was Java's most deadly snake.

The construction of the hotel windows, rafters and doors provide openings which can easily let slithering reptiles in. We pointed out the inherent risks to Christopher, the hotel owner, who assured us that he will take further serious steps to keep out these dangerous creatures. It's a year now since we visited the hotel and hopefully, for the safety of other guests he has implemented the proper safeguards. Our "Poor" rating reflects the safety risk during our visit.

The hotel has the potential for greatness but its present owners need to be more professional and concerned about how they run the place.

Room tip: Do not take the end suite adjacent to the paddy fields for safety reasons.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Krishnanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Sumbing I, Propriétaire at Villa Sumbing Indah, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

it is obvious when were comes in indonesia especially in the countryside, which are going to see snakes.
For the rest, you are giving your personal opinion as fact Each one wants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We travelled from Surabaya by train (much better than travelling by road) and were picked up in Yogyakarta by a driver from the villa. We stopped off at Prambanan the Hindu temples on the way to the villa and then relaxed in the pool before dinner that evening. The next day we headed off to see the Borobudur and followed Yanti's recomendation for a restaurant for lunch - which ended up as being one of our best meals in Indonesia. It was wonderfully relaxing, the sort of place you take a book to relax with and even though the restaurant was full on the Saturday night with a live band playing we had our own reserved tables in the courtyard. We were very well looked after and left with the impression that you would have to have spent a lot of money for a better stay in this neck of the woods...

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banqueiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is small and very remote. The staff is very helpful and the owners bent over backwards to make our stay special. We were met at the airport as arranged by the hotel and the driver suggested a detour to see an amazing Hindu site (we went to see Borobudur so this was a bonus) then took us to the hotel -- about 1 and a half hours away. The next day, the same driver took us to Borobudur and to see craft shops as arranged by our host. We had another excellent experience. We left the next day quite early, and the owners got up to give us breakfast before leaving for the airport. Our rooms were large and clean; the site was on a hill with views of the city below us. We didn't get much chance to enjoy the hotel or use the pool, but we found the overall experience more than met out expectations.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights early October at Villa Sumbing, where we had booked a standard room. The driver picked us up at Solo airport, and it took us approx. 3hrs to reach the hotel, that is in the middle of nowhere (but this was our choice). It is a very quiet and very nice place, amidst the rice fields (although, like everywhere in Java, you can be awaken rather early by the call to prayer). The room was large and comfortable, with private bathroom. Very good bedding. No fridge available but a fontein of cold and hot water. Tea & coffee at disposable. A covered terrace with cosy armchairs to relax. All rooms look out on the pool. No airconditioning but since the hotel is a bit in altitude, you don't need it.
We took all our meals at the hotel as there are no other choices in the neighbourhood. But the food is excellent and the menu is varied (Indonesian & French cuisine). Fresh fruit at breakfast but always the same (pineaple, watermelon and papaya). Just like everywhere we went in Java & Bali.
We were the only ones in the hotel (2 couples of friends). The owners were abroad but the staff were very attentive, charming & helpul. They organize tours on request (rice fields trips, Borobudur, Prambanam, Jogya ...), which is most welcome since you need a car to visit all these places, some rather far away; 600,000 Rs one day trip).
And last but not least: free internet access.
I would recommend this hotel both to couples and family.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranCess1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews