We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saraswati Borobudur
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The right choice”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed 3 nights at Saraswati and totally enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is built in the style of an old colonial building and is really lovely throughout, although some of the fabrics may have lost their sheen from the tropical climate. The room was spacious and meticulously cleaned and the bathroom was large and modern. I had requested a room with a view and I could actually see Borobudur temple from the window! Wifi was strong and reliable throughout the hotel. The pool is clean and well set up with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The staff are happy to organise transport and local trips for you at a reasonable cost. You can take a pony drawn cart ride around the area and learn about the lovely village and the activities of the locals. The temple is an easy walk from the hotel. Lots of market stalls to check out on the way in and out. Straight across the road is an excellent laundry (Rumah) and a perfumery too. The village is really interesting with loads of roadside cooks whipping up lovely feasts, but the excellent quality of food at the hotel's restaurant would make it the best place to eat in the whole area. If that restaurant was in Sydney, people would be lining up to get in. If you are trying to decide whether to stay in Yogya and travel out, or stay near the temple, then choosing this hotel would be my recommendation. It really is a fascinating and welcoming area to visit.

Room Tip: Although my room had a view of the temple, it was rather close to the nearby mosque and the call to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    123
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
49
125
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

They charge US$110 Per night and claim to be an International Boutique Hotel.
That's where it ends.
There is no cable TV, no phone directory, don't even tell you what number for reception, no room service, not even a book telling you the hotels services or facilities. No fire evacuation instructions. The wifi did not work, and the food is very average.
Then when I checked out two days early they charged me one nights accommodation as a penalty.
Definitely do not recommend anyone stay here.
Hotel staff say it is hotel policy to charge for the number of nights booked regardless. So don't change your plans.
This policy is not made clear when making a booking. Just another one of those fine print after the fact rip offs.
I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The atmosphere during the celebrations of Vesak Day were magical. If you get a chance to visit Borobudor during Vesak Day, do it. The people here make the place great.

Because we booked last minute, our first choice of hotel was fully booked, so we made do.

It was okay. The sheets were clean. The shower was in disrepair and had seen better days. It certainly didn't have a view. Well, the window overlooked a pile of rubbish and an alley. Not pretty.

The pool rustic and private. No other guest used there area while we were there, so we had it to ourselves.

This hotel was perfect for what we were after. Somewhere to sleep.

Breakfast was not the best, but edible.

If I was to visit again, I would book into the hotel within the temple grounds to enjoy even more of an atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expressiveelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a non chain hotel,so the facilities as expected are below par,what is good is the service. Lack of standardized sop so we should be active to ask for towel,etc that we need because they will forgot to provide us.We stay at Royal suite and the room is good in size with high ceiling,in the bathroom no bathtub and no towel rack. Sheet were a bit torn and smell not fresh.Dust were everywhere.
Yes its cozy,its like we stay at our relatives.
Mr Bambang is an attentive man,very good to guest.
will i reccomend ? maybe if other hotel are full.
nb : there was a scorpion on our room and we ask for the housekeeping to take it out.

Room Tip: Room near the pool is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsa_RyszardMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

As mentioned in many previous reviews, this hotel has a dramatic lobby with its high ceilings, open air seating area, lots of light and an old colonial flavor. We stayed overnight on our way to Denpasar from Jakarta. The taxi ride from the airport we negotiated down to Rp. 250,000 and we enjoyed our driver so much we retained his services for the next day for a short trip to Prambanan temple on the way back to the airport.

The Borobudur temple was a short walk away from the hotel which is the main reason why we booked here. The quiet, peaceful countryside is what you experience - villagers riding horse carriages to and from the local markets. The temple experience was amazing except for two things - I was with my husband who is caucasian and the local kids on field trips could not help but stop him every chance possible to take a few photos which we didn't mind but definitely became a bit annoying and then at the exit is literally a path through what felt like miles and miles of a maze of vendors selling tourist stuff.

Finally, while our experience was still overall very good - the restaurants outside of the hotel nearby close at an early hour and only those brave enough to endure a belly ache should attempt the stalls.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely lobby, rooms and compound. Security is great. Staff are polite & meticulous. 10 min walk to Borobudur - easy. Plenty of street stalls for food, conveniently located outside of the hotel. Will stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JVHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for a night in Feb 2013.
Excellent location, fantastic* room, literally right next to Borobudur - just about 5 mins walk from Manohara Resort where Borobudur lies. Friendly and smiley staff at all times + very secure establishment. Free WiFi and nice breakfast. Supervisor Bambang was rather shy and quiet, but he was exceptionally nice, kind, and helpful.
For a glimpse of local life / taste of street food, turn left at gate of establishment. Make the first right and take a stroll down the street of roadside stalls. You should soon see a full-house stall on your left (across the street) serving up several dishes, including a local speciality of rice cum noodles. The ever-smiley lady and her assistant are stationed well behind the woks (may not be starkly visible due to slightly modest street lighting). You should be able to locate this stall somewhere between the vicinity of the tourist police and the 24-hr minimart.
If departing via public bus, make your way down this same street until you hit the end of the road (T-junction).
At this point, the bus terminal is at your 90-degree right.
Make your way in and wait to catch the bus outbound for Jombor bus terminal.
If you're heading back to Yogya, catch the citybus from Jombor (i took either bus 2A / 2B and alighted at train station which is just 10 ~ 15 short mins from Jombor).

*i usually stay in basic hostels (though single ensuite) so this was truly luxurious for me!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.3 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
14.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
1.7 mi away
Villa Borobudur Resort
Villa Borobudur Resort
#1 of 10 in Borobudur
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saraswati Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saraswati Borobudur

Property: Saraswati Borobudur
Address: Jl. Balaputradewa No.10, Borobudur, Magelang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saraswati Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Saraswati Borobudur International Boutique Hotel, they make sure that guests feel that Saraswati Borobudur Hotel is just more than just a place to stay, but also has a unique culture, fascinating art, and a great wisdom that can guests bring home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saraswati Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saraswati Borobudur Hotel Borobudur
Saraswati Hotel Borobudur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing