We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$65
View deal
Booking.com
$34
View deal
Priceline
$48
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Hotels.com$65
Travelocity$65
Orbitz.com$65
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
109
143
52
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
109
143
52
14
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 327 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A good hotel overall. As others have commented, the rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. On arrival early in the morning, I was able to check in well ahead of the 1:00 pm standard and they were able to arrange a motorcycle rental for me on the same day. Throughout Indonesia, the 4:15 am call to prayer is a fact of life and is for many travellers, a charming reminder that we are 'not at home'. However, the volume from the mosque next door was exponentially higher than anything I had experienced in five weeks of travel.

Room tip: Rooms on the pool side have balconies
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Wingding
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was almost dark and it rained when we arrived but that did not had any influence our view of this hotel.
It looked like a beautifull tiny palace. Our room was spacious, cool with very high ceiling and a huge bathroom.
In the evening, from outside in the dark, there came sounds of religious sort. Recalls for prayer from several Minarets. We loved it.
This is Indonesia, you know, and this is a part of it.
Later we had a great diner in the lobby restaurant of the Hotel. Both service and the quality of food was really good. Not just our opinion, but also from three people from Australia, they were the only other guests during our stay.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

we absolutely loved the high ceiling interiors, even the rooms were designed like this! felt somewhat like royalty in this hotel. we got the standard room and it was spacious for both of us. amenities included basic toiletries, 2 bottles of water, room slippers, towels. shower area is separated from the toilet (some people are iffy about this) and water pressure was good. We were served welcome drinks upon arrival as well as a souvenir each the next day when we checked out.

The swimming pool area was also nice at night, although the pool tiles i think could be better. It was somewhat tacky and not befitting to the ambiance.

We stayed only one night, with the purpose of being near borobodur for the sunrise tour. Location is good, around maybe 10 minutes walk to the temple complex. we arrived at the hotel at around 9pm already (had dinner on the way) so we weren't really able to explore the area for warungs, etc. Breakfast consisted of an egg station, mee goreng (noodles), nasi goreng (fried rice), fruits, cereal, toast, fruit juices, coffee and tea.

We were initially supposed to stay at Manohara but it was full so we opted for Saraswati instead. Manohara's the most convenient since it is the closest to Borobodur and is located within the temple complex. However upon seeing the hotel and surroundings the next day, we thought Saraswati was nicer. Manohara just seemed too busy whereas Saraswati felt more peaceful and without the hordes of tourists passing through Manohara.

Take into consideration though, that you only pay IDR230,000 for the sunrise tour when you stay at Manohara as opposed to paying IDR380,000 if you're not a hotel guest. (also, foreigners pay a bigger amount than locals, who pay only DR250,000)

service was pretty good. Everyone greeted and smiled at you when you pass by. The next morning we asked reception if they can get details for Jomblang caving for us and the guy didn't know what that was. But he spent a good deal of time researching and calling people about it. He was able to give us contact details of this tour company and the latest time we should have arrived at the cave. We still arrived an hour late though, and found we can just get the local guides there to accompany us. Also, we asked for an adaptor and an extra towel for the room and those arrived within 3 minutes.

Since a mosque is nearby, at around 4:15am the prayer calls will have started and let me just tell you that they were pretty loud. Probably enough to wake people up but we had zero problems with that since we were up and about by 4am for the sunrise tour. I can imagine however that it'd be somewhat of a problem if you didn't plan on waking up that early. Keep this in mind and bring earplugs. i think other hotels also have this problem too so it's not limited to this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraL172
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I got a Junior room which cost extra US$20 which I didn't regret my decision. The room is large compare to a standard room. It even has 2 toilets. The location was good as we could just walk out of the hotel into the busy street. Although it is a distance away from Borobudur site, it is still a walkable. Almost all the hotels will be affected by the the prayers from the mosque, so there is no different which hotel you stay in. I was at Amanjiwo and even a hotel that charges US$1000 per night will still able to hear the prayer. The hotel only has 17 rooms, so the room will fill up quite fast. The food in the hotel is quite experience but if you want to have a nice wine with dinner, then it is a nice place. Beware, the dinning hall is not air-con, so it is quite warm. Breakfast is not great, but I only had 1 breakfast in the hotel during my 3 nights stayed in the hotel. I need to check out at 4.30am and the hotel prepared breakfast for us which is great although the food is not so good. Went to a local resturant called "Progosari" which is around 4km away from the hotel for lunchs. The food is cheap and good but they don't understand English, so sometimes you willl not get what you want. That is the fun of it. You can rent bicycle and cycle around the area.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twengche
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We picked this hotel after reading a blog post about a Japanese family with kids who stayed there to visit Borobudur, and were sold because of how convenient it was to stay at a hotel right next to the temple complex if you're going for the sunrise tour. Indeed, when we arrived, the hotel room we booked - a Super Royal Suite - was so big, we were running about in it, getting lost. It was basically 3 rooms together, with a king bed and another double bed for the kids. Decor and facilities were, admittedly, a little old, but the location was really the top draw - you could easily walk to Borobudur, and we even managed to navigate with a pram on the sidewalks (even though the pram obviously had to be left at the Manohara Hotel when we went there for the sunrise tour to the top of the Borobudur complex).

But what really impressed us was the service. Mr Prambang (sorry, I think this is how you spell his name) at the front desk was really nice and went out of his way to make sure we had a comfortable stay. He booked the sunrise tour for us, and walked with us at 4am to Manohara Hotel the starting point. He even got his friend to buy and deliver some bread for the children at 4.30am, while we were waiting for the tour to start, because they were hungry.

The next day, he arranged for an elephant safari for us, and met us to take us to the elephant house in the Borobudur park, even though he was not slated to work at the time. He also helped to arrange for transportation for us to eat lunch at Amanjiwo and back. When my three-year-old started whining for a flashlight in the middle of dinner one night, Mr P again helped to get one for him. As we left for the airport on the last day at 5am for a 7.30am flight, Mr P arranged for breakfast to be packed for us to eat along the way. In other words, he helped to think of every detail which made travelling with two young kids that much easier.

The prayer calls were audible in our room, but we were not bothered at all by it (we had to wake up at that time anyway, so it was our back-up alarm). The pool was also great coz we mostly had it to ourselves. If you are a family with kids, who just need a base to see Borobudur from, this is very very good value for money. And the food is good too - delicious satay and mie goreng.

Room tip: We were in 106, which was big and on the ground floor, corner.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midoricomplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews