We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the temple...”
Review of Hotel Akshaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Akshaya
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chidambaram
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We opted for this hotel because of the lonely planet review.

As promised it was fine, a bit old and worn and painted brown but ok.

In the morning we realised we had HOT water for the price...

We had breakfast across the road (opposite the east temple entrance) at a small thali place (behind green railings next to a gold statue) this was Excellent and cheap!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kookysax_jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 75 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is the only hotel which is centrally located and close by to the temple, and as we are staying only for a night we decided to go ahead. Very run down, and the bathroom is not up to the mark. Unwashed blankets. Quite disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhlondo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I compleatly agree with all the points that (Mr)Pramodpk has given in his review.
Stayed there for a night with my famali
To add few more points.......
Very slow responce of support staf.
Geaser was switched off , called the support staf , took more than 1 hour to respond.By the time they came and said you have to switch on the switch out side the room,there was power cut.No Geaser with backup power.Finally on a rainy day we have to bath using cold water.

Food was very ordinary,complimentary berakfast was horrible. Have to wait for long (for the food to be replaced )and we also have to remove plates ourself to make a table free

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Srisri2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night with family. The bed & bathroom were neat but the room walls were wet and paint had chipped of. The AC was noisy and the entire hotel was not maintained properly with things dumped in the reception area. Complimentary buffet breakfast is provided but it is very limited and the place where it was served was bad. Also, I had to remove a plate myself to make a table free.
Car parking is limited and has space to park 8 cars. It requires some skill to park in the basement.
Also, there is a notice displayed in the reception that power backup is only for lighting and that too is not available between 10:00 AM to 12:00 Noon and from 3:30 PM to 5:30 PM.
The advantage of the hotel is that it is close to the temple. The staff is friendly.

Overall, the hotel is not at all value for money for the facilities provided

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pramodpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

There is a rectangular perimeter around the temple with several hotels and other commercial establishments. Akshaya is the best hotel among them. Since it is on the perimeter, we can just walk to the temple. The rooms and furniture are old, but well maintained. Attached restaurant is also good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vengallur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had been here for a quick weekend trip with my wife and parents in early August 2012. Stayed here for 1 night. The staff were good and polite, rooms were quite clean. We traveled by car and they have enough place for parking. Main advantage is it is very close to the East Entrance of the Nataraja Temple. We visited the temple twice - once in the evening, and then again next day morning before heading out. Ideal if you are visiting Chidambaram for the temple. It is good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harish_infinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went to Chidambaram with my wife and stayed for one night . The hotel was situated at a walkable distance from the nataraja temple. Complementary breakfast was available, which was good, considering the room rent.The room was ok, but hot water was available only in the morning.Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Satyaki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chidambaram
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saradharam
Hotel Saradharam
#4 of 9 in Chidambaram
133 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lakshmi Vilas
Lakshmi Vilas
#1 of 9 in Chidambaram
99 reviews
24.9 mi away
Arcot Woodlands Hotel
Arcot Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cuddalore
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
Hotel Pams Residency
Hotel Pams Residency
#1 of 1 in Mayiladuthurai
16 reviews
11.5 mi away
No photo provided
The Grand White Palace
#1 of 1 in Sirkazhi
8 reviews
0 mi away
Arudhra Residency
Arudhra Residency
#2 of 9 in Chidambaram
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akshaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akshaya

Address: 17,18 East Car Street | Chidambaram, Chidambaram 608001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Cuddalore District > Chidambaram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chidambaram
Price Range: $34 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akshaya 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that understands you in Vizag, having 30 well furnished rooms including 3 executive suites along with other facilities at a cozy compact location. The hotel is located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Akshaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing