We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Pichavaram Mangrove Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Thane, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I visited pichavaram with my family in Nov. 2013 and went for a rowing boating. The boating goes inside the mangroves.The scenery is fantastic and my family enjoyed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JA_S_RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    97
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
DUBAI
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Amazing boating”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I visited pichavaram with my family and went for a boating.It is really amazing and the boating goes inside the mangroves.The scenery is fantastic and my family enjoyed.Really a amazing trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DubaiAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good boat ride”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The boat ride through the mangrove forest is good and the boatman would tell stories about the movies that was shot in this location. During the tsunami, these forests have survived and protected that area as well.

The view from the observation tower is pretty, the sad part is that there is no decent food available. Returning chidambaram is the better option for food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmadhanraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pichavaram - A jungle, A Beach & Few old Friends :)”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A jungle, A Beach , Few Friends , Dangerous snakes, If you have all of these ,your trip will be amazing.Same happened with us. we were a group of 12 & it turned out to be a amazing getaway.
around 11 we reach pichavaram. we took 2 boats for which we have to buy tickets, and remember one thing while coming back you have to pay to the Boatmen 100 rs per head.
The Jungle Look amazing and the moment we entered those narrow water heads which was almost filled with crabs , Scorpios and snakes , it was kind of exciting .i have never felt an atmosphere anywhere in India like this before. Scary but Amazing.After crossing the water jungle we end up reaching a beach. Beautiful but Lonely and with no offering , not even water. we enjoyed our stay at beach for a while and returned from the same way of dense mangrove trees . In all together go with water bottles , eatables and look out for a pleasing weather to enjoy the pichavaram Tour.Only one Advice Go in Groups, otherwise can turn out Boring.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank geniusjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth to visit”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Good place to visit. Take plenty of water with you. Lot of opportunities to watch birds in natural habitat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaduraiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pichavaram Mangrove Forest also viewed

Chidambaram, Cuddalore District
Chidambaram, Cuddalore District
 
Chidambaram, Cuddalore District
Chidambaram, Cuddalore District
 

Been to Pichavaram Mangrove Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing