We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to strongly recommend”
Review of Paradise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Resort
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The resort we have stayed three times in last two years . One can never imagine such a beautiful place to stay with spacious rooms, nice food offering varities, pleasant & beautiful ambience ,good service , smiling faces,. Overall a memorable place to stay in this small town. One can recommend this resort to any who are looking to stay in a nice place with pleasant & peaceful place with greenary coupled with hospitlity. Our guests whom i took in my latest stay in Dec2012 enjoyed & liked this place & would like to visit again. S.Krushnun

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skrushnun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 233 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

i found this hotel a great place to stay in kumbhkonam, value for money and good food, room was quite spacious and ambiance was almost perfect. the staff was also good, i can only suggest that for children some rides or some playing activities can be provided.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpkansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My stay in the Paradise resort was a pleasant one. The staffs were friendly and warm. The food was good, you can savour the exotic meals from north and south India.

The resort has a garden like ambience and they also provide ayurvedic massage. To my surprise the massage service was better than my previous Kerala Ayurvedic massage.

The fees and all other charges was very reasonable. I am looking forward to visit this place again in January 2013.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are situated on top floors since you can really enjoy a good view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasyindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Beautiful place in a small town near Swamimallai. Quiet garden with lot of trees, flowers and birds. Nice swimmingpool, big, airy rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff (partly from the northeast of India) and good restaurant. Like an oasis!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the resort between 10th and 13th of August. We went as a largish group of 35 people. We wanted a place around Trichy (where we had met for a reuion of NIT, Trichy), so we scouted around and the only place that was appealing was Paradise Resort. Enquiry over the telephone yielded all the details and booking and payment online was available.

The resort is accessible by train and the nearest station is the Kumbakonam station. From Trichy or Tanjore, it is about 75 km by road. The roads are quite good except for the last stretch. The Tanjore-Kumbakonam highway houses the resort. It is easy to miss, so be alert.

There are rooms in the main area as well as river side rooms. The latter are a little more expensive. When there is water in the river, I’m sure it is worth the extra! In total there are 42 rooms. We stayed at the main complex. The rooms are large, air conditioned and have huge clean bathrooms with a bathtub. Each room also has a balcony and ours overlooked greenery and the swimming pool. A complementary foot massage on arrival is welcome! A water bottle per day is provided in addition to a mini bar (chargeable), toiletries, clean towels and a TV. The rooms can easily hold two extra beds.

The weather is hot (as in most places in Tamil Nadu) and unwinding in the swimming pool is a pleasure as the water is the right temperature (blessing!). There is a giant chess set in one cottage which the children enjoyed playing. There is practically nothing else in the form of entertainment for children and adults alike. It would be nice if the resort could provide a football, badminton rackets, table tennis, cards and carroms. As we had gone in a large group, there was enough to amuse ourselves, but for a single family, there is nothing to occupy one’s time.

Breakfast is complementary and the spread is reasonable; made to look appealing by being served in earthenware. It is mostly South Indian food with toast, eggs and cereal in addition. The other meals are available at the restaurant, a large well-ventilated space. There is also seating outside. The a la carte menu has variety but the prices are exorbitant (much more than better quality resorts in other places; the reason they cite is that their transportation overheads are high!). The food is good though.

The resort has quite a few dogs, geese, pheasants and turkeys on the premises. There is bird life around and patient watchers will spot quite a few species.

It is a good place to use as base and visit the numerous temples in and around the area. Many foreigners seem to think so too! On the whole we had a quiet and relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for the River view rooms if there has been a good rain. Each room is good, so you can leave the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GitaBhukta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Its different and back to good old days, truly nostalgic stay. The place was fantastic and you can wake up and stroll hearing chirping birds. The heritage style of the buildings resembles the old style like going back to 30 years.
The food was average, and could not live upto the heritage, may be we expected authentic style otherwise the place is fantastic and deserves once in while get away

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sriok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LathaRaman, Owner at Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Sir,

Nothing can make us more happy than the compliment of yours that we have been successful in Recreating the past. Thank you Sir

Glad again that you find it a perfect Getaway far from the sight and sound of city life.

We respect your valuable feedback that the menu could be more Authentic and we would do everything to amend the menu in such a way that You would definetely relish the authentic food offered at our resort in your next stay.

Look forward to seeing you next time

Thank you

Latha Raman
Chair Person

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a charming holidays at Paradise Resort for 3 days. We had done our pilgrimege also
visiting Nabagraha temples. Staying at Paradise Resort is very attractive due to its surrounding
atmosphere. We hope to visit again in future. Debasish Sen from Kolkata

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSEN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbakonam
1.2 mi away
INDeco Swamimalai
INDeco Swamimalai
#1 of 25 in Kumbakonam
286 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sara Regency
Sara Regency
#7 of 25 in Kumbakonam
309 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn VIHA
Quality Inn VIHA
#4 of 25 in Kumbakonam
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sivamurugan Hotels
Sivamurugan Hotels
#3 of 25 in Kumbakonam
198 reviews
17.9 mi away
Ideal River View Resort
Ideal River View Resort
#1 of 25 in Thanjavur
640 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mantra Veppathur Resort
Mantra Veppathur Resort
#2 of 25 in Kumbakonam
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort

Address: 3/1216, Tanjore Main Road, Darasuram, Kumbakonam 612103, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range: $74 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Resort is centrally located for 3 world Heritage UNESCO Monuments and all Navagraha and other important temples. With great ambience built on south Indian rich heritage style, spread in around 12 acres of vast lush and greenery, situated in a Highway and ends at River view is indeed one of its kind to offer you Culture and Pilgrim tour combined with complete relaxation and rejuvenationParadise Resort is a Government of India approved 3 star property on the Tanjore Highway at a five minute distance from Darasuram Iravadeeshwarar temple (World Heritage UNESCO Monument). Situated amidst lush lawns and plenty of greenery the resort is a retreat for the tired traveler. The resort comes from the belief that south Indian tradition culture and heritage which has got a rich legacy has to be promoted and therefore we have made our spacious rooms in traditional ambience. With 150 year old antique doors in each of the rooms the furniture with intricate work of teak wood again transports one to an era of life of the south Indians those days. But again the spacious bathroom in each of the rooms has a bathtub or a cubicle and is very sophisticated. The Restaurant with arches and windows of the yesteryears and tables and chairs with work and craftsmanship of Burmese teak is a feast for the eyes. The resort is known for its food which again depicts a lot of traditional elements in its cuisine. The massive swimming pool is again a highly relaxing place. The very attractive and appealing swimming pool is done up with the latest Italian glass tiles. The view from the 6 pool view rooms is breathtaking.Our new additions are the river view cottages again done in traditional style and having awesome ambience. We are also supported by a village behind the property; guests can be taken for a village walk in which more than getting to see village houses and their lifestyle, there is a village temple with big Iyyanar statues (village security god). Bullock cart rides to temples near by, excursions to Weaving industry, pottery making, and bronze making industry can also be done.Other activities could be fishing in the river, visit to agricultural fields and showing the process of cultivation. Organization of lots of traditional games inside the resort would be an added pleasure.Cultural performances like folk dances which are very special to the localite like thappattam (a traditional Tamil dance) is also done. A lot of work goes into more innovative activities to make the stay more than pleasurable a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing