We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is good but not great.”
Review of Hotel Vinayaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vinayaga
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is close to Railway Station. They do not offer Non-veg. This should be one of the good budget hotels in Kumbakonam. Service of the staff was average. Cleanliness of the room can be improved.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramanathan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 111 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located at stone throw away distance from the Kumbakonam railway station. If you walk to the end of the platform, there is a small exit and hotel is located just across the road from that exit. Hotel offers 24 hours check in / out facility, ie, if you check in at 8 pm, you can check out at 8 pm. Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant food is very good for South Indian cuisine. But refrain from trying North Indian food :-( Had heard a lot about Kumbakonam coffee, but could not find real tasty coffee there or anywhere else actually. There is taxi rental just a short distance from hotel . Be careful to book a taxi in advance specially if you need on a Thursday as the market is closed. All temples are closed betwen 1 to 4 pm so one needs to plan the day accordingly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Vinayaga Hotel is located just opposite to Kumbakonam Railway Station and is a unit of Poppy's Hotel Pvt Ltd. This hotel has 39 furnished AC rooms. Rooms are small in space as the Kingsize beds occupies nearly 60% of the room space. Room service is Terrible. They took one hour to deliver 1 bottle of drinking water after 5 reminder calls. Breakfast is complementary and is limited. Rooms are clean and tidy. Staff members are kind.

One thing I liked was they allowed me 10% corporate discount during bill settlement. Their Tariff in February 2013 was Single Occupancy - 1,200/- Double Occupancy - 1,400/- & Rs.450/- for Extra Person. Rates include Complementary Restaurant Breakfast. They follow 24 hour Check-Out Timing. Taxes are Extra.

Kumbakonam is known for its temples and mathas. Regular train services are available connecting Kumbakonam with Chennai, Madurai, Trichy & Coimbatore. Trichy is 86 Kms away and is the nearest airport. Roads are directly connected to Trichy & Chennai.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Praveen-Timken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hello, the initial pictures on the websites was interesting but the reality was different. Reasons for not recommending this place.

1. The rooms have that smell of being closed for ages. I would have preferred atleast some room fresheners to be used to get rid of the smell.

2. There were no towels in the bathroom when we checked in at 9 PM. When we asked for the towels, they casually responded that they will supply the towels the next morning after 8 AM. This is sad, as Kumbakonnam is a temple town and people would leave early for temples. Also we needed to shower after a long drive. When we gave them a little peace of our mind, they supplied us with 1 towel. Even the quality of the towel was not upto the mark.

3. In the restaurant, they provided the menu card, but then when you order, some of the items go missing. But i guess, that is a something that we all need to adjust everywhere.

4. Breakfast starts only at 7:15, which is not appropriate for a temple town. 6:15 would be a better time, so that people have their breakfast before heading out to visit temples.

Overall, for the money they charge, it is not worth it.

Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajeev_smitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel location is very convenient, just outside the railway station and within half a kilometer distance from the bus stand. The hotel rooms are very clean and well maintained. The bathrooms are very clean and there is 24 hr hot water supply. The complimentary breakfast was average. There were not many options available for lunch and dinner, as well. Most of the items listed in the menu were not available. On the whole a decent place to stay with value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dharini_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very nicely placed... right opposite to Kumbakonam train station... It is one of the good looking costly hotels in the town..

* Highly apperciable location very good connectivity
* Very affordable
* Unquestionably clean and tidy
* Kind staff members and good service (though the service is not good during festiv holidays)
awesome tasty restaurant
* Good arrangement of vehicles for people to visit the nearby temples
* Only a single category of room costing Rs.1400/-

Highly recommendable...!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbeshwaran89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good hotel. Spacious rooms, Small bathrooms, Nice restaurant. Good lunch. Very near to railway station.The front end staff Veeramani and Shanmugha helped me a lot and generally all the staff are good.

Room Tip: Rooms with even number is better, as they are way from the road, therby minimising the noise polutio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skrishnamur5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumbakonam hotels
0 mi away
Sivamurugan Hotels
Sivamurugan Hotels
#4 of 25 in Kumbakonam
200 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel M.I.M. Park
Hotel M.I.M. Park
#22 of 25 in Kumbakonam
11 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#13 of 25 in Kumbakonam
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Quality Inn VIHA
Quality Inn VIHA
#3 of 25 in Kumbakonam
162 reviews
0 mi away
Poppys SET Residency
Poppys SET Residency
#14 of 25 in Kumbakonam
15 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Le Garden
Hotel Le Garden
#15 of 25 in Kumbakonam
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vinayaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vinayaga

Address: 132c Kamaraj Road, Kumbakonam 612001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vinayaga 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vinayaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing