We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!”
Review of Sara Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sara Regency
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent !!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I happen to stay for a couple of days in this hotel lastweek of december 2013 along with my family.Polite & courteous staff, clean and neat rooms, excellent food ( except the thali meals @ noon).very comfortable hotel to stay if you are planning for visiting temples in kumbakonam, thanjavur and mayiladuthurai.Would always recommend to anybody who visits kumabakonam.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Balasubramaian77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    132
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
206
29
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

New Hotel.. Friendly staff. Infact, I booked the room through phone only. Arun, the front office manager, took care of my stay end to end. He was very helpful throughout. The owner also was very humble, cooperative, asking for the feedback.
Food is the only weak point though they are also humble and cooperative.
Rooms are clean and decent.
All national news channels and major channels are not active on TV and I shared this feedback with the owner directly also.
Overall decent experience and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikasDutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I just returned after stay in this Hotel. I booked this hotel after seeing the raving reviews and was thorougly disappointed. Here is my experience:

a) We were driving to Kumbakonam and on reaching it, called the hotel to get directions. The person at the hotel gave me a totally different route.. my instinct told me something was wrong and I relied on Google maps.. I reached it in 10 minutes after following Google maps and if I had gone in the direction given by the Hotel person, I would have lost my way..
b) Reached the hotel and no one was there in the gate to help us with our luggage..Took all our luggage to the Reception and started the check-in process
c) Check-in was OK except that the person was asking the same details at the time of booking.. It could have been avoided.. we had a tiring drive and the person should understand that we need to be at the Room instead of asking same questions over & over again
d) Entered the room, removed our shoes, and the floor was sticky!!!
e) Had lunch, the food was OK..nothing great.. Be watchful members, you will have to fend yourselves for Water..none of the waiters bother you to serve water once you are seated
e) None of the restauraunt or room service staff seem to be properly groomed.. Irritated looks.. angry answers.. you will feel why you asked for help..
f) AC stopped working at around 9 PM.. asked for help.. some one came to repair.. and it worked.. next night same time..it stopped working again!!! Again asked for help.. this time they couldn't set it right and we had to spend the night sweating it out only with the fan..
g) You won't believe this: We took 2 rooms and in the other room where my relatives were staying, one of my family member tried to open the bathroom door and the tile on which the door hinge was set, broke away and fell on my relative, injuring him slightly.. Broken pieces of tiles on the floor.. we asked the hotel to change the room and while they said they will do it.. it never happened..couple of people came to repair the door and no one even bothered to clean the room which had broken tiles all over the place.. We had to clean it fearing injuries..Unbelievable!!!!!!!
h) Complimentary breakfast was not great.. Frozen and rock hard Idlis, Pongal without salt... is all you will get...

I will think again before booking this hotel....Not recommended at all for the price they charge at that place.. there are better options available inside the city while this is a bit away from the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbala50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sararegency, Public Relations Manager at Sara Regency, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to review Sara Regency, Kumbakonam.

We understand that you have had an unpleasant stay at Sara Regency, Kumbakonam. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that had been caused during your stay.

We understand that you have called the hotel to ask for directions and were not advised on the shortest route possible. Most of our customers call us once they reach Kumbakonam to ask for directions and have always reached the hotel in a timely manner. We believe that there might have been a misunderstanding as the personnel handling your call may not have been certain of your location. Thus, would have directed you to a main road and then to Sara Regency, Kumbakonam which could have taken a little longer than the Google maps.

As a service-oriented hotel, Sara Regency, Kumbakonam always puts her customers as her main priority. Thus, we ensure that bell boys are available in the hotel for 24hours to assist the guests. We are apologetic that none of our bell boys were available to assist you upon arrival as they were serving other guests at the same time. We will ensure that such a situation does not occur again and that there are always sufficient bell boys to serve all the guests at all times.

Sara Regency, Kumbakonam adheres strictly to the government’s rules and regulations on the check-in process. All information gathered during the check-in process are mandatory. We understand that our guests may be tired as they make their way to the hotel. We will definitely look into ways to expedite the check-in process in the near future.

We take pride in everything we do and we strive to ensure that our premise is spick and span at all times. We regret that an unpleasant room was presented to you upon arrival. We have informed the relevant department and have also increased the frequency of cleanliness checks to ensure that a clean and pleasant room is presented to our guests at all times.

Once again, we would like to thank you for reviewing Sara Regency and we hope that you would have a better experience with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This has been a good experience and is a good recommend. They take reservations over the phone. Though their confirmation is not the best, atleast the word of mouth seemed good enough. We did not have any issues in securing the room, when we arrived there.

Their front desk is very helpful. The rooms are clean and are very quickly serviced. The towels were a tad wet on account of rain. Room service was quick.

The restaurant could be better. The food differed in taste on different days. One day it was the best, while the rest of the days it was so bad, that we had to look out for alternatives. The bearers were good natured, but the order takers always looked like they were under pressure.

On the whole, a good experience and I would surely take their service on my next visit. The only reason not to give a 5 rating was due to the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravi Shankar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

very friendly and attentive front desk staff

the suite was large - wall to ceiling glass on either end of the room that spanned the entire breadth of the floor

clean bathrooms

fast room service

the food was just OK - was expecting better food in a such an impressive hotel in a small town

Room Tip: get the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

well after reading the reviews in here...I book this hotel on the way from tanjavur to kumbakonam.. the staff obliged my cal and booked the room instantly..worth staying here..near to bypass roads..would visit again to this hotel If I happen to kumbakonam.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeepakGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
460 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is a little ways from town (3 km) so walking around was not very good. The hotel itself is very good and the service is excellent. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The room was very nice with hot shower, good AC and cable tv. The wi-fi was excellent, the best we had in India. We ate dinner and breakfast here and both were very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumbakonam hotels
2.7 mi away
INDeco Swamimalai
INDeco Swamimalai
#1 of 25 in Kumbakonam
264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sivamurugan Hotels
Sivamurugan Hotels
#3 of 25 in Kumbakonam
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn VIHA
Quality Inn VIHA
#4 of 25 in Kumbakonam
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1
0.0 mi away
Poppys SET Residency
Poppys SET Residency
#13 of 25 in Kumbakonam
9 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#5 of 25 in Kumbakonam
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Regency

Property: Sara Regency
Address: 45/1 Chennai Road, Kumbakonam 612002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sara Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new 3-star hotel based in Kumbakonam. Sara Regency was built to crate a new benchmark in hospitality. We have used the finest possible materials and interior designers to create a heaven like atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sara Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing