We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good lodging house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Athityaa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kumbakonam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Athityaa
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Kumbakonam
chennai
Level Contributor
170 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“good lodging house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

we stayed in Adhitya between 14 and 16 July. We have been using this facility for quite some time. The rooms are clean, the front office service is very good, polite and a lot of smiles. the restaurant does not provide for room service and strictly cash. The variety of food served is limited but palatable. As long as we do not look for * rated service this hotel is very good
narayanan

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nana16march
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Thi shotel is centrally located to visit all temples...Its a simple budget hotel... We didnt have food .. just stayed for One day... Rooms were ok... and it was a decently maintained property and they had a good parking area.. thats important in kumbakonam as parking is a big problem here...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skrkme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed in Athityaa, Kumbakonam for a night. The room was good and roomy. When we thought we had a good hotel for the night, we found that the rugs hadnt been washed after the previous occupant had puked in it. The left over was neatly rolled over and we had a terrible time thereafter. Eventhough the hotel replaced the ruf, we werent sure when was that washed etc...etc.... So the hotel looks good but would suggest that the occupants take a bit of care to check out the peripherals.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramakrishnan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kumbakonam hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We chose Hotel Athithya after checking out from another hotel. We did check out the rooms before booking. Rooms are spacious, with a separate dressing corner, neat bathroom and a balcony, which, if facing the temples' side allows a neat view of the Adhi Kumbeswarar, Someswarar, Ramasamy temple Gopurams, etc. Divine sight!!
However, the pleasure ended here.
The bed linen were dirty, pillow cases dirty and mouldy smelling, towels were really bad. Since only blankets were provided, we asked for bedsheets, the reply was all bed linen had been sent to the laundry, and due to bad weather they hadnt been returned, hence no extra bed linen and no neat towels either. Thankfully we had our own towels, so we did not even touch the hotel ones. And of course, we found the ubiquitous roaches lurking aroung the AC.

The room boy promptly asked us in the evening what beverages we wanted in the morning and at what time, and that we can get anything at any hour. Very pleased we asked him to get coffee for us and bournvita for the kids at 6 am. But 6 am came and went. Several phone calls, and even threats later we received our order. Coffee was quite sad.
Went down for breakfast. Restaurant can definitely be better maintained and done up since they get a decent crowd. Floors are dirty, tables and chairs were of "dhaba" standard. They didnt have tea available for breakfast. Really surprised to find a hotel that could not serve tea in the morning !!!
Overall depressing experience. I would really not like to go back.

Room Tip: Would really not recommend for stay - long or short
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laksmi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Simple hotel, which was value for money. Cleanliness especially the chairs, linen was seriously lacking. Better carry your own towels, bathroom accessories, slippers.

Room Tip: Get rooms not facing the car park, as reverse alarms from cars could be big nuisance. Also carry mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramg_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Athityaa is centrally located in Kumbakonam, near the temples. We happened to stay for a day in a double AC room. Stay was comfortable, with helpful staff & adequate parking area.

Room Tip: We needed protection from mosquittos, which was provided on demand. Hot water was not available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Really nice hotel. Good service, neat rooms, value for money. If you are planning a trip to Kumbakonam, this is one hotel you can consider staying. We rented a A/C room so I am not perticularly sure about non A/C rooms but i suppose everything other than the mosquitoes and temprature should be the same irrespective of the type of room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellopax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumbakonam hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#13 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sivamurugan Hotels
Sivamurugan Hotels
#3 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Green Park
Hotel Green Park
#19 of 24 in Kumbakonam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ARK International
Hotel ARK International
#18 of 24 in Kumbakonam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vinayaga
Hotel Vinayaga
#17 of 24 in Kumbakonam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athityaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athityaa

Property: Hotel Athityaa
Address: 48,(11-12), Kumbakonam 612001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing