We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Very Memorable Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Veppathur Resort
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a very memorable and unique experience at Mantra when we visited Kumbakonam for a Navagraha temple visit and stayed there in July 2013.Honestly, it has been our first pilgrimage trip to that area which has been an enjoyable and relaxing experience thanks to Mantra and their warm staff. We enjoyed the great attention to detail that has gone into the design of Mantra and all the unique cultural touches at every point of our stay there. We truly enjoyed everything - right from the ringing of the bell to announce our arrival, the refreshing towels and drinks to welcome us , the delicious food (which was not only traditional but also Pasta for my little son per our request) specially prepared for us, the very warm and always smiling staff, the clean rooms and bathrooms, the spa as well as the drishti puja done as we left back for Chennai. We have been recommending your property to our family and friends.Mr. Nagarajan and his team really went out of their way and made sure our stay at Mantra was memorable and great and we truly appreciate everything they did. Kudos to you all!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suganya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Madam

Thank you very much for posting your feedback to the trip advisor, and of course, this feedback will give certainly a good mileage to any traveler who is looking out for unique destination to stay and experience.

All these feedback will be gone, but for guests who choose to stay like you, not only enjoy their stay but also honestly post their feedback in TA , which gives great energy for all of us who will strive even more to keep all the guest happy and enjoyable!!

Your appreciation on my staff is well taken, and will pass on to them and sure they will be happy to get these words,which will make them to work more!!

Many thanks once again, with folded Hands,

Subbu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 273 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just happened to get a very good feedback from my friend who went and stayed at mantra Veppathur, and thought to go by his suggestion.

Believe it or not, its just a rural heaven and abode to anyone, who are looking out for private stay either alone or with the family or friends. After seeing most of the hotels in the metro and other places, it’s a real fresh air and big kudos to person who made it ,esp when people think of Kumbakonam, temple only comes to every one’s mind, but need to change this from now, after staying in this resort.

Lovely massage during the day, bullock cart ride in the evening ( What a way to start and come !!) amazing vegetarian food,esp the grand maharaja thali ( Too much to eat) and after Bhojan, one feels to have a great nap for hours together and get ready for evening action. Traditional veena concert along violin was great to enjoy, sipping south Indian filter coffee at “Mittham” was unforgettable!!

Suggest for anyone who wanted to travel and experience the real rural facts, must get away with the polluted city and enjoy the peace and tranquility at mantra Veppathur!

Will make visits quiet often for sure, and recommend to my friends and well wishers,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winners2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Sir

Many thanks for your stay and glad that you enjoyed thoroughly. Its more than the words that t need to express to thank you for posting your feedback in TA.

Great "Namaskar" to all my guests, who come all the way to stay and experience, will certainly look out for "Value for what they pay" and it is so beautiful to get such good comments, which gives great energy to all of us at the end of the day!

Hope to see you and your family quiet often, and we assure our best of personal attention always!

Many thanks once again with Folded Hands,

Subbu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were a large group of 8 persons and stayed at Mantra for 4 days. We stayed at the Pannayar Illams which are fantastic mansions built in the old village landlord home style. Each Pannayar Illam is almost 3000 sft in area with its own compound and garden. The entire resort is wonderfully done up in traditional style, with excellent tree canopy and vegetation. The food was a special part of the stay, and the kitchen staff went out of the way to prepare traditional south indian dishes of our choice. All the dishes were flavoured mildly to the right extent, and we were able to taste some dishes back from Grandma's time. And the staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. All told, an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose the Pannayar Illam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramesh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for choosing us and esp. Panniyar Illam for your stay along with your family. The moment i get to see guest feedback posted in Trip Advisor, its great feel with high spirit.

Your eye for detail on our creation is well appreciated.Hope you will all make it again and have the same feel at home.

Will pass your feedback to all my colleagues, and look forward to your yet another trip to mantra veppathur!

Many thanks once again for taking your valuable time to post your feedback in trip adviser.

Subbu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in the Pannaiyar Illam during our stay @ Mantra Veppathur. We stayed for 2 night with 6 adults and 2 small kids. Its a 2 Bedroom Villa and done up in traditional Karaikudi style. The Bathrooms needs to be seen to be believed ..a nice bath rub...traditional yet modern. The food in the resort is great though a bit slow.

Swimming Pool is good, but no life guard and not regularly cleaned as well. We were there the first day and it was neat, but the next day morning it was not cleaned.

The area is surrounded by paddy fields and 2 rivers flow by..a great scenic place where you can spot peacock.

No room service or TV in the rooms..Internet is available though it was not working during our stay.

I loved the stay as it was relaxing but not for my other members of my family as they started feeling bored.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Respected Madam,

Many thanks for taking your time and posting your feedback in Trip Advisor. First let me apologies with regard to Wi Fi not working in my resort, as u had mentioned. It happens due to poor signal some time.With regard to food serve was very slow, will speak to the head and ensure it does not happen. But normally most of the guest who comes to the resort does not want to finish the food in a hurry and also our kitchen prepares everything as fresh and cooked, and not pre prepared.
Your concern on this is well noted. We drive our energy only thru our guest feedback and change if we have gone wrong in any issue or occasion .Look forward to seeing you again and we will serve you better and give your family a busy time by organizing their nature walk/bird watching or a bullock cart ride etc..

Thanks once again for your stay,

Subbu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Peace and serenity, all perfect to Mantra

Mantra Veppathur Resort is an enchanting place.
My husband and me spent here 2 nights and it was a great experience for us.
Situated in a park inhabited by peacocks and many species of singing birds, the resort is composed by independent bungalows, finely furnished. The washroom has 2 shower, one of which is an opensky waterfall shower.
Here you can breathe the real indian tradition and hospitality starting from the little ritual of welcoming and goodbye.
Excellent service. All staff is always ready to help and satisfy every wish.
The SPA is stunning ( we tried an ayurvedic massage of 1 hour!).
Also the restaurant (vegetarian) is very good and not expensive.
The only regret: 2 nights, too short time to spend in this piece of heaven!
Of course we’ll come here again.
Valeria Migliardi – Rome, Italy

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valeria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Madam & Sir

With great respect to my beloved guest, i thank from my heart for sending your good feedback to the leading travel portal . Great to see your feedback on every angle in brief with great admiration and we feel so good for the work that we put in.All credits goes to each and every guest like you who come all the way to stay to find a new experience in Tamil Nadu ( South) and we at mantra veppathur lived up to your expectations hopefully.
Sure you will find a change in future days to come, and might add rural facility or a market within the boundary of us,so as to give extra care to all my guests, who have tremendous trust on us.

Thanks once again for choosing us, and hope to see you again at mantra in near future!!

Look forward to serving you,

Subbu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

An absolutely stunning & silent retreat for a spiritual holiday.

The setting is ethnic and takes you to the heart of Tamil culture and heritage. A temple towns of Kumbakonam and Tribhuvanam are close by to visit both for religious and cultural exposure.

The stay in the spacious cottages was a fabulous experience. The open shower and water flowing from the granite is a unique experience.

The spa and yoga experience is amazing as they take you on wellness journey impeccable quality. Ramesh is superb with his astrological expertise and yoga chats.

The only vegetarian food could be a concern for some, but it was very tastefully prepared with fresh vegetables from the nearby farms. Over a great stay with friends, and truly recommend to those who travel to Kumbakonam.

Room Tip: The panniar illam is really royale!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SisalHos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback posted in Trip Advisor. Its great feel to get guest feedback in a right track, which is certainly a great motivation to all of us .

Your detailed look in every corner is well appreciated, and we will certainly live up to everyone's expectations by keeping the upkeep of the resort, as well as our services will ensure every guests to come back.

Just wanted to put across my thoughts with regard to the vegetarian concept of mine.As every traveler am sure, would have tasted the Non Veg part of it all over the globe,and thought not to give the same flavor, instead wanted to give them the best of the destination choice,where they not only enjoy but will get to know more on our Indian traditional platter.

Please do come and stay again to enjoy the best of our spices,and many thanks once again for being with us,and look forward to your visit again.

Subbu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I do not have any words to appreciate the hospitality extended by the staff at Mantra. Everything there has been meticulously planned. It is clean and the ambience was superb. Infact we were apprehensive whether we will be able to pass our time with the family as TV was not available but at the end, we felt a lot refreshed. I would like to take the opportunity to thank Mr. Maruthupandian (Chef) for the best veg dishes which I had ever tasted. Mr. Muthu was the person who had taken all efforts to ensure our comfort. Finally the man leading the show Mr. Nagaraj who was handled his team to master perfection in hospitality
Looking forward to see more Mantra's in other places so that we can blindly book without even reading other reviews
Thanks Team

Sunil Rao

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil_Rao_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Mr. Sunil Rao

First, let me thank you for choosing mantra veppathur, and we are happy to see your feedback posted in Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation is certainly a boost to all of us, esp the staff's who works to get these kind of recognition from our esteemed guests, will be their ultimate goal on every day.Good feedback on them will motivate further to improve on their service front, and sure my staffs will do exemplary in coming days.

Will pass on your appreciation to Nagaraj/Muthu/chef and all,and many thanks once again for the trust that you have with us, and sure we will expand in future days to come.

Subbu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumbakonam hotels
7 mi away
INDeco Swamimalai
INDeco Swamimalai
#1 of 25 in Kumbakonam
308 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#6 of 25 in Kumbakonam
239 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn VIHA
Quality Inn VIHA
#3 of 25 in Kumbakonam
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sara Regency
Sara Regency
#8 of 25 in Kumbakonam
309 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sivamurugan Hotels
Sivamurugan Hotels
#4 of 25 in Kumbakonam
199 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Veppathur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Veppathur Resort

Address: 536/537A,No.1, Bagavathapuram Main Road Extension, | Srii Sailapathipuram Village, Veppathur,, Kumbakonam 612103, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range: $171 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mantra Veppathur Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Friendly Resort with rural, traditional for all travellers who would enjoy every bit of their stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Veppathur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing