We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centre of nine planets!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Chennai
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Centre of nine planets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have stayed here several times with my husband. Whenever we go on pilgrimage to all the Navagraha ( nine planets) temples, all situated in and around. The hotel is situated in the centre of Kumbakonam, Raya's Annexe is slightly more expensive than Raya's, but it is very classy. The rooms are so convenient, large and spacious, air conditioner is very very good, there is a small dresser too, and here only I first saw ceiling fans in bathrooms!! After seeing this, after coming back home, the same thing was implemented at our residence too!
They send car for pick up to railway station. The restaurant is also very good. The decor is very aesthetic and antique.
Excellent place to stay in Kumbakonam. Would love to stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thiagamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    113
    42
    13
    10
See reviews for
154
36
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Rayas Grand is excellent hotel & new in kumbakonam & service is very very good.i had nice experience in staying , room service is tooooo good & the view from hotel is very good .As i stayed in many star hotels, I never had this kind of good experience. People who visit kumbakonam I suggest u to stay & feel the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brahmendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel Rayas seems to be one of the few decent hotels in Kumbakonam and hence they have good business.

Positive

Room was neat with Geyser, LCD TV and split AC
Value for money

Negatives

The restaurant ambience (especially for lunch) not suited for family
The reception staff is not keen to help you with directions to the hotel or other places
Nobody picks up the room service numbers. Call to the reception was answered after multiple calls.
Ordered Tea in the morning and it was brought in a flask that was used to put coffee. Hence tea smelled like Coffee. Charged rs 32 for a Tea. Had to personally go and tell the person to bring tea as calls to room service was never answered
Only tamil channels were availabe in TV

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pramodpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Value for money hospitality was good by the staff. Food is good but the rooms have to be cleaned especially the bathroom with spider webs at all the place in which i stayed. Note, check the bills while checking out because i got charged extra on food which i did not order.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeshnikkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the Rayas Grand hotel and this is probably one of the best hotels in the Town, even equals the quality of most hotels in top cities. This is a brand new hotel, with awesome rooms and one of the best bathrooms in a hotel. The Rainshower and the shower cubicle is a good choice with nice premium door knobs and tap types. The AC is centralized(Samsung) and very effective.

This hotel has a very warm reception. These guys are extremely helpful and the room service is top notch. I stayed in the room number 210, for the record. And if there is one thing you shoudl not miss - its the food. Definitely the best food in the town and the best in the hotels I have stayed till now. You will actually be surprised when you order a food to your room. I dont want to break the surprise - try for your self!!!

Overall its a 5 out of 5 score for this hotel. Courteous staff, good rooms and excellent food - you dont want anything else!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arunshariharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a gem in Kumbakonam which offers a lot for the price. If you are visiting Kumbakonam for temple tour, this is the go to place. We were a group of 6 and just got 1 room and decided to make to with that. The room was spacious enough for 6. Very comfortable stay , good bathrooms and service quality is superior. Some of the bigger chains can learn from these people. Overall very happy with what we got and would recommend this to anyone traveling to kumbakonam and neighboring areas like thiruvarur.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kanch2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited Kumbakonam in June 2013 as part of a group of friends who intended to use it as a base and visit the Navagraha temples and Chidambaram.

In this context, this hotel is a fairly good value for money budget place. We found the rooms to be decent, but, there were inconsistent on the cleanliness front. The towels would never get changed and the bath soaps were not replenished unless asked for specifically.

The issue we found was having to walk through a dingy passage and then walk next to a room used for washing area for utensils and then across a parking zone to reach a restaurant. Never could figure out why they had this in this manner. However, no compliants on the taste of the food there.

Would recommend this place (actually the sister hotel of Raya's Grand and not the one we stayed) which we understand are far better as it is centrally located to visit the mentioned temples

Room Tip: -Check the specific room you are provided before you agree - Do not take the rooms facing the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indsrja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumbakonam hotels
0.3 mi away
Sivamurugan Hotels
Sivamurugan Hotels
#3 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sara Regency
Sara Regency
#6 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#13 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Poppys SET Residency
Poppys SET Residency
#12 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn VIHA
Quality Inn VIHA
#5 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mantra Veppathur Resort
Mantra Veppathur Resort
#2 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1

Property: Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1
Address: 18,19 Head Post Office Rd | nr Holy Mahamaham Tank (City Centre), Kumbakonam 612 001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of Kumbakonam Thanjavur District, Hotel Raya’s stands out Majestically to offer Mahamaham tank view for the guests. This is known to be the “Best value for money” in Kumbakonam with the atmosphere and facilities of a star hotel. Hotel Raya’s combines efficiency with the Traditional culture of Kumbakonam to provide a pleasant stay for all its guests.3 star facilities only in Raya's Group of Hotels for the nominal tariff.Real Hospitality service is our motto.... Since 24 Years of Hospitality Experiences... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayas Hotel Kumbakonam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing