We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn VIHA(Kumbakonam)
$51
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
INDeco Swamimalai(Kumbakonam)
$44
$34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Kumbakonam)
$155
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sara Regency(Kumbakonam)
$38
$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sivamurugan Hotels(Kumbakonam)(Great Value!)
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jeyam Residency(Kumbakonam)(Great Value!)
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Metro(Kumbakonam)(Great Value!)
$15
$12
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Athityaa(Kumbakonam)
$12
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
OVM Resort(Kumbakonam)
$44
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
60
118
50
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
118
50
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspost officemahamaham tankvalue for moneyroom serviceveg restauranttemple towndecent hotelrailway stationstandard roomclean roomscentral locationvisiting kumbakonamnon vegcomfortable staywi fihot waterhouse keeping
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 253 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

True value for Money. Myself & My family enjoy staying here in Room No. 104 and 105.
Spacious, tastefull Room and Toilet. Designed as per expectation of a Customer.
Staffs are friendly, helpful. Room & Toilet is very Clean. Service is Excellent.
All Credit Goes to the General Manage.I strongly recommend this Hotel. Any time, When I am in Kumabakonam, I will be staying in Raya's only. Thank you so much for made us a wonderful and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tnjaianand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayas G, General Manager at Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Sir,

It is with immense pleasure, we inform you that we have been awarded, “Certificate of Excellence for 2013” for the consecutive second year by World’s leading Portal, “Trip Advisor.com”, who are the reporters of unbiased hotel reviews and travel advisors. This award has become possible because of valuable feedbacks and reviews from our valuable guests like you.

We are the leading handloom silk saree manufacturers since 1925 and we are in hospitality industry for the past 23 years. With commitment to serve our customers with excellence, we are marching towards 89th year in Silk Saree industry and into 25th year in hospitality industry.

Please accept our sincere thanks for sparing your valuable time in writing your reviews and suggestions regarding your stay at our properties. All of your reviews, advices and suggestions are really helpful to us as they motivate us to raise our standards consistenly to ensure impeccable service to YOU.

We also wish to thank “Tripadvisor.com” who hosted all these reviews in their website and for allowing us to respond to all of our guests who put in their reviews in their portal.

If you have suggestions still, you may also mail to suggestion@hotelrayas.com

We always treasure our relationship with our guests and hence, we wish to dedicate the award of Certificate of Excellence, 2012 and Certificate of Excellence 2013, both from TripAdvisor.com and Holiday IQ Best Performer Award for 2012, to YOU.

Thanks and regards
Raya’s Group of Hotels
Management +91-98429-23170 / 73730-23170 / 73730-23171

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Rayas in 2010 June, and Hotel Rayas Annex in March 2013. Very spacious rooms, excellent food, friendly staff, flexible check-in and check-out times - at a very reasonable price. Both the occasions, I stayed with my family (including kid). Overall a very pleasant experience.

What I liked
---------------------
- Spacious, clean rooms
- Excellent food (including room service), reasonably priced
- Good, fast service by the room boys

What I didn't like
-------------------
- Even if we stay in the Rayas Annex, we have to cross the road and go to the Rayas hotel to have food (else go for room service, which is also good)
- The hotel lobby is a bit small, which gives a feeling that it is crowded

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VIVEK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayas G, Manager at Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Raya's Group of Hotels. We really happy about your review on tripadvisor. Its more boost to our hospitality services. You are our regular guest too since 2010. Please to welcome again to our group and stay in our new property Raya's Grand also with latest star range of services in normal tariff.

Thanks with Regards
N.S.Ravi
Raya's Group of Hotels
Kumbakonam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hi Friends,

we had a pleasant stay in rayas and the room and room service is really good.
we visited Nvagragha temple from there ...they have very good plans for visiting the temples ...and we arranged cab through Rayas..its really nice experience..i will recommend Rayas for peaceful stay in kumbakonam.

Jeya...

Room Tip: the check in and checkout time is the problamatic one (24 hrs) so plan it befor bokking
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vvjeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayas G, Manager at Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Rayas Group of Hotels!!!

We thank you for your review on tripadvisor, Our motto is to fulfill real hospitality needs to our valuable regular and new guests. so that it would be a memorable stay in our Rayas Group of Hotels.

Thanks once again for spending your valuable time for complimenting us. Heart felt happy from our management team.

Thanks With regards,
Manager
Raya’s Group of Hotels,
Kumbakonam.
+91-98429-23170

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked a room at the Hotel Rayas in Kumbakonam. There was some confusion whether the booking was in the main hotel or the annexe. Finally, we realized that we checked into the annexe but this was not the room we had booked.

Never the less, we checked in and found the interiors of the room very mediocre. The hotel staff were polite and helped us.

For some reason, the "vegetarian" restaurant of the hotel was located at the rear or the hotel down a long corridor which made us uncomfortable, so we ate the the multi-cuisine restaurant called Sathar which was near the reception but also served non-vegetarian food. Our request to serve non-spicy food for our kids was confirmed but when the food was served it was very spicy which caused great discomfort to the kids.

All the food had a typical "smell" which seemed strange. Their fridge was not working in the restaurant which meant soft drinks and water were all at room temperature. A big problem in the summer heat and with spicy food.

I have been told by friends that the main hotel Rayas is much better than the annexe so I am assuming the place we stayed was mediocre for this reason.

We checked out the next morning (without breakfast as it wasn't included) and again we did not want to walk down to the rear end of the hotel. Instead there are other options to eat in Kumbakonam and we used one of these.

On checking out, we used our own driver to help with luggage but 4 hotel helpers stood there at check out with the expectation of a tip, which I thought was uncalled for, since they did nothing for us. I still tipped them - I don't know why.

There are other hotels like Hotel Vinayaga which are in the vicinity and appear much better than Rayas - which might be worth trying next time.

Room Tip: Avoid booking the annexe. Better to stay at the main Rayas I would imagine.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumbaiIndiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayas G, Manager at Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Raya's Group of Hotels.

We get apology for your arrival time check-in confessions by our reception help desk.. Normally busy and week end days some time like this issue arriving rarely. Already rectified all those problems sir. Our confirmations by SMS, Email and Phone call to our guests before arrival would solve like this problems should not arise anymore. Raya's assuring always would give proper and best hospitality services in kumbakonam.

Because, most of our guests are coming for Navagraha Temple Pariharam and Dharshan.
Raya's keen on to peacefully pray gods with stay in our hotels as pleasant stay always.

Please visit again stay with us in Raya's Grand +91-73730-23170 would feel more comfort.
Once again thanks for your review. We assure you of your next stay with us would give more comfort stay in Raya's Group of Hotels.

Thanks with Regards
Manager
Raya's Group of Hotels
+91-98429-23170 Raya's
+91-73730-23171 Annexe-I
+91-73730-23170 Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I got my bookings for two A.C rooms done over a single phone call prior to my stay on 16th April.

First impression is the best impression.
i was not disappointed ...The staff members were very humble and well mannered in receiving us..
I have stayed for a night on 16th April 2013 .
The rooms were clean and well maintained.
The room service were prompt.
I could not find say anything negative since the service they provide for a budgetary room is really good.
I wish the service would continue and I thank my sister who had referred me such nice Hotel for a pleasant stay during a pilgrimage tour...

Room Tip: You will have a pleasant stay here
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srsmanianBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayas G, Manager at Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for the mail with warm greetings from our Raya’s Group of Hotels. It was a wonderful real review comment specifying the ambiance and our hotel options to our guest to enjoy more than star quality of hospitality services in nominal tariff. Such comments for sure would motivate us to proceed further and to make our guests stay more enjoyable in their temple dharshan or navagraha tour in kumbakonam.

In regards to our all hotels located in holy mahamaham tank very nearer heart of the city.

We are looking forward and welcome for your next stay in our other properties. Thanks once again for spending your valuable time for complimenting us. Real Heart felt happy from our Raya's Group of Hotels Management.

General Manager
Raya’s Group of Hotels
+91-98429-23170 Hotel Raya's
+91-73730-23171 Raya's Annexe-I
+91-73730-23170 Raya's Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews