We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surely they can do better...”
Review of Hotel Ararat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dogubeyazit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ararat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dogubeyazit
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Dogubeyazit is hardly a tourist hot spot like Istanbul or Antalya, but it does get enough foreign visitors to surely merit a better provision of hotels than what is currently on offer.

With Ararat, you are not parting with a huge amount of money - 70TL for a double - but it's the same old story... the tired, worn carpets which have filthy edges which haven't been cleaned in God only knows how long, the luminous paint, the 20 year old TV (unnecessary in any case) and blindingly filthy tiles in the wet room bathroom where water from your shower flies all over the place. do you feel cleaner when you leave? I'm not sure...

the breakfast spread is a tiny selection of standard Turkish fare, cheeses abound. great news if you're a mouse, I suppose. I was about to take a small pot of honey, which were covered in cling film, until I noticed a wasp wriggling around in it. I spent breakfast wondering how it breached the cling film barrier.

but look, it's bearable for one night. plus points are friendly staff, decent wifi and easy access to the main drag of the town.

don't expect much and you'll be fine. though if this is one of the better hotels in town, I shudder to think what the "budget" places must be like...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quick_draw_mcgraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

i appreciated that it was near the city center but the hotel was a disaster.dirty and old hotel.painting the room in violet is not suffisant...breakfast poor and you have to fight with the wasps in order to eat. staff not polite,it looks that customer satisfaction was not their priority.i did not appreciate that when i booked some months ago their booking system showed me a fare of 55 tl,some days later they sent me an email that they increased it to 60 tl.not serious..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mibe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Having read past reviews, I was looking forward to my stay at this establishment. I was very disappointed. The rooms are old and dirty, the staff is not very welcoming, the breakfast is frugal, and the promised views of the majestic Mount Ararat from the rooms non-existent. On the whole, this hotel has been resting on it laurels as the only decent establishment in the city. After leaving, I was told of newer hotels that are yet to be reviewed on TripAdvisor that should offer viable alternatives.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed there two times. Excellent location, helpful staff, chep price. The terrace (backyard garden) is very nice, you can relax, drink tea, smoke sisha, and enjoy Ararat view, . Rooms are clen with fridge, big bathroom. Pal

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qwertz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay of five nights in Dogubeyazit at Ararat Hotel. The staff was outstanding and the rooms were clean. Great view of Mt. Ararat from my balcony outside my room as wel as from the hotel restaurant. Mustafa (the owner) also arages trips to the palace, Noah's Ark, and the Meteor crater at the border with Iran. Also treks on Mt. Ararat. A friendl, happy experience in all ways that I would highly recommed to any visitor to Dogubeyazit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koteek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

While backpacking through the east of Turkey, staying at this hotel really was a good experience. Especially when you consider the price, rooms are clean and comfortable with clean sheets, a fridge and a balcony. Behind the hotel is a large area were you can relax, drink some tea and smoke a nargile. Breakfast (included in the price) was also served here. The hotel is run by a family who can help you climb the Ararat or offer either multiple day hiking tours or single day hiking tours. We took a single day tour (ending at the supposed finding site of the ark of Noah), our guide was Erkan, one of the sons of the family. He told us alot about the surrounding countryside and the history of the region. All in all a very good and affordable backpacking accomodation option!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wimdijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is easy to find but it is hard to park the car when the town is busy. Reception is one floor up from the street, the lift starts at this level. The room was clean but a little shabby/lack-lustre and the bathroom is a small "wet-room" arrangement - again clean. There is a second-floor terrace area which is comfortable -furnished in "Ottoman" style and from here the view of Ararat and Little ararat are suberb. Breakfast was adequate served near the reception area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dogubeyazit hotels
0.2 mi away
Tehran Boutique Hotel
Tehran Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dogubeyazit
81 reviews
1.4 mi away
Butic Ertur Hotel
Butic Ertur Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dogubeyazit
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Star Apart Hotel
Star Apart Hotel
#1 of 7 in Dogubeyazit
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ararat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ararat

Address: Belediye Cad. No:24, Dogubeyazit, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Agri Province > Dogubeyazit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dogubeyazit
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ararat 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, comfortable and safe, Hotel Ararat has accommodated many visitors. Our roof terrace welcomes guests in the summer months. You can enjoy your breakfast while adoring the snow-capped peak of Mt Ararat or relax with a water-pipe after a day’s sightseeing.Every room has satellite system, wardrobe, refrigerator, hairdryer and wireless internet system. Beds are ergonomic and comfortable. All rooms have a balcony with views of Mt Ararat or Ishak Pasha palace. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing