We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as all the reviews”
Review of Restaurante Sarita

Restaurante Sarita
Ranked #6 of 138 Restaurants in El Albir
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are an English family run Indian Restaurant, we have been established for 13 years we have 3 Punjabi Chefs Joginder, Kris & Love and our aims are to provide our customers with Quality Authentic Indian cuisine served in a comfortable chilled out atmosphere with great service. We hope to see you soon.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as good as all the reviews”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Visited Sarita Jan 2014 as everyone seems to be saying how great the food is, unfortunately this is not the case. The atmosphere well there is none, it just looks average no music playing the tables are really too close and if I am honest does not feel like an Indian Restaurant. The starter seemed ok and was well portioned along with the dips. The main courses were a let down the Chicken Tikka Koria and the Chicken Jalfrazi saucess (gravy) looked and tasted the same, how disappointed we were they should be at least different colours and tasted differently, both tasted similar the rice was ok but have seen and tasted much better, unfortunately I suffered with a bad stomach after eating the meal all night long and was not well this usually happens when the spices are not fried and cooked correctly and usually when Indian Restaurants use the same base gravy (sauce) for all their gravies with added spices for different dishes. When the bill arrived I thought it was rather expensive for what we had, had. All in all a disappointing evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marteen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHughes, Owner at Restaurante Sarita, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Im sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience here at Saritas. We are aware that trip advisor can build your expectations up before you even walk through the door. January is always a quiet month and the atmosphere in most restaurants is lacking due to the decrease in customers. However your right the music should of been playing, which it normally is. Saritas is unique as we are not your typical Indian restaurant as we offer authentic indian food cooked by Punjabi chefs in modern surroundings with european waiting staff. We understand it won't be to everyones liking. The two dishes that you referred to are very similar to look at however the taste and spices used are different .The waiting staff i employ are very friendly and are always on hand to change anything if any customer is not happy, its a shame you felt you couldn't mention that you were disappointed. Its important to mention that all the ingredients we use here are fresh and my chefs do make their own sauces from scratch. We have not increased our prices for 10 years.
Kind regards.
Danny & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    164
    69
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calpe, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“This used to be my favourite costa blanca indian”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This restaurant is not bad, it is good. But if you were ever here before the changes you will be disappointed, as indeed I was. It used to excellent, service a1, food a1, good value.
It has slipped which is always a shame, it is now a good restaurant with ok service and good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Junior_Montague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHughes, Owner at Restaurante Sarita, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are always striving to improve and offer the best service possible. However when reading your review i was not sure which changes you were referring to. We have had the same Chefs now for 9 years and our Main menu prices have not been increased. I would presume you were referring to our decor which we changed last year, we have also put a new roof on our pergola and modernized our outside area and the mens services have been totally refurbished. The waiting staff will come and go this is normal for Spain, however my staff i currently employ are very experienced and offer great service. Any Restaurant owner will tell you that to succeed in this business you need to invest and make changes and this is our aim and we totally understand that the changes we make won't be to everyones liking. We do hope you visit us again Kind Regards.
Danny & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

A belated review as my partner and visited Saritas in October of last year. It was only when planning our next visit to Benidorm/Albir that we realised that we had neglected to post a review of this wonderful restaurant.

The food and drink was excellent and more than reasonably priced but what stood out for us was the kindness of all of the staff as nothing was to much trouble. All were so very kind and attentive but still were able to make you feel that you had that space, quite a trick to get that balance so thank you one and all.

See you in July.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHughes, Owner at Restaurante Sarita, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, its really appreciated by us all here at Saritas. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the food and thought our prices are reasonable. Im very proud of all my team here, they do a great job and your right its quite a trick to get that balance with the service and they all do it so well, i know they will appreciate that you not only recognized that but you took time to write about it.
We look forward to seeing you in July…
Kind Regards.
Danny & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Years Eve celebration meal”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food, plenty for everyone and a great price, entertainment was fantastic. The atmosphere and staff were amazing and attentive, amazing place to see in the New Year!! Thank you so much for a brilliant night!

Helpful?
Thank Nickyfreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHughes, Owner at Restaurante Sarita, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Firstly Happy New year !! Thank you for choosing Saritas to celebrate and see in the new year we really appreciate it. It was a great night and a great atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience via Trip advisor.

Kind Regards.
Danny & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Take Away by air to the Netherlands”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Since our children enjoyed the meal so much during their summer holidays they asked us to bring some dinner to the Netherlands at one of our visits. It was very properly wrapped by the friendly staff and within 24 hours 2200 kilometers from Sarita Albir, they felt like being in Spain again and really really enjoyed the hot and spicy Madras food. Probably this will become an returning event........

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHughes, Owner at Restaurante Sarita, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was great to hear that your children enjoyed the food so much that they requested a takeaway. Thats probably the furthest takeaway delivery in the history of Saritas.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards.
Danny & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Sarita also viewed

El Albir, L'Alfas del Pi
El Albir, L'Alfas del Pi
 
El Albir, L'Alfas del Pi
El Albir, L'Alfas del Pi
 
El Albir, L'Alfas del Pi
El Albir, L'Alfas del Pi
 

Been to Restaurante Sarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing