We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this a coffee plantation or heaven?”
Review of Gibb's Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gibb's Farm
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Is this a coffee plantation or heaven?”
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at Gibbs Farm in cottage J which is close to the restaurant and overlooks the coffee plantation with great views when the sun sets.
This is paradise on a farm and highly recommended. After a rough ride from the main road (as in kidneys are at ear level), one arrives at the reception. In terms of accomodations there are simple facilities and upscale private cottages.
Gibbs is a self sufficient coffee plantation which grows it's own vegetables and fruit and has it's own herd of animals. Vegetables and fruits and picked and served on the same day. Animals have the same fate. The cook takes advantages of freshness and puts together superb but simple dishes. Local corn with a cheese accent, leeks in a tomato broth, the freshest greenbeans in a butter sauce etc. There is a nice winelist with mainly South African wines.
The cottages are spotless, the staff is friendly and eager to please. A good tip is appreciated and is obviously communicated to fellow staff as more and more people started to show up.
This is a "must" stop before of after a safari to freshen up, rest and eat well.

  • Liked — location, views, service, walks and delicious food
  • Disliked — I would have to lie
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchtreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    65
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
190
292
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Everything was absolutely wonderful - from the beautiful grounds, to the gracious staff to the very comfortable, well-appointed rooms. We only wish we had booked more than two nights!

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NikMoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We have recently returned from Safari and our first stay was 2 nights at Gibbs Farm. The location and whole experience exceeded our expectations which were high to start with. We stayed in one of the new cottages which was exactly as described on the website, very spacious with wonderful views across the coffee plantation.

The food was excellent and the service superb. Our only regret is that we did not stay 3 nights so we could enjoy a massage and the walks etc offered, this was because our game drive in the crater was so interesting that we ended up staying a whole day rather than the half day as planned. I would strongly recomend that anyone visiting Gibbs leaves enough time to do this - it is not just a base for game viewing but an experience not to be missed.

At least I have an excuse to go back and would not hesitate to do so in the near future. Oh yes I nearly forgot, the coffee is out of this world, leave room in your luggage to bring some home.....

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DebsBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed at Gibbs farm in early August. Had expected to be staying elsewhere, but due to a mistake by Virgin, we were taken to Gibbs Farm and it was the best mistake ever as we had a brilliant 2 night stay. We stayed in 2 standard rooms which were very comfortable and clean. The most superb coffee was delivered to our room every morning. The evening meal was excellent made from the organic vegetables grown on the farm. All the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, nothing too much trouble. We loved every minute we were there and would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mags50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Gibb's is a good place to break a safari - nice bath, comfy bed and great food.
Only downside was slip- ups in management.
Tea ordered - not delivered,
Guide booked - turned up 40 mins late (after a couple of phone calls)
Talking to others about these slip-ups we were not the only ones.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Room service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

we were there on our safari and realy enjoyed.
Staff very good especially Herman.

we stayed in Margarets house with a great view....had a pleasant
walk in the plantation.
we had a delicious dinner and breakfast but ordinary picnic lunch
we definetly want to stay again....

  • Liked — scenery,food,service
  • Disliked — road to the plantation
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelybulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We had two nights at Gibbs Farm as part of a safari in the Sernegeti, Ngorongoro and Tarangire with Expert Africa. On our way there from the Serengeti we visited Olduvai Gorge which is worth the detour, if only for the spectacular views.

At Gibbs we found we had been upgraded to a garden cottage room which was beautiful. It had a huge bedroom with two double beds, a balcony overlooking the garden, a fireplace, a huge bathroom with huge bath, indoor shower, double sink and separate toilet. There was also an outdoor shower.

The dining room was a short walk from the room through the lovely gardens. The food was good, but not fantastic. there was a buffet breakfast, but with hot food that could be ordered (bacon, eggs, chicken sausage etc). I ordered scrambled eggs which had obviously been made ahead in bulk and was rather dry. Lunch was a good buffet - the quiches in particular were very good. Dinner was a four course, served, meal. The night we had dinner there was a large party of americans in the dining room and the rest of the guests including us were asked to dine in an annex dining room, which was OK.

Overall we felt that Gibbs was good but just missed out on being great through little details. For example the water jugs in our room were not filled up during our stay. Also we had to go and ask about laundry and it seemed impossible to get items ironed.

One of the problems of staying at Gibbs when going into Ngorongoro is that is is quite a distance from Gibbs to Ngorongoro. We had been to Ngorongoro before and were surprised at how many vehicles were there. Our guide/driver told us that it is now very expensive to get into the crater - over £300 for us, the vehicle and the driver.

One other problem we had at Gibbs was that we left one of our two pairs of binoculars in the vehicle. The driver took the vehicle into the local town to be washed and the next day the binoculars were missing. We told the driver and he managed to get them back for us from the guy who washed the car, but I guess its not a good idea to leave things in the vehicle overnight at places like Gibbs that are close to local towns/villages.

  • Liked — The cottage room
  • Disliked — The scrambled eggs
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfanaticsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
5.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
402 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,513 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
306 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#6 of 48 in Karatu
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibb's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibb's Farm

Property: Gibb's Farm
Address: Rift Valley | P.O. Box 280, Karatu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gibb's Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury lodge in Northern Tanzania, Gibb’s Farm offers a welcome respite for the East Africa safari traveller. Immerse yourself in a sanctuary for the senses, where the farm’s gentle rhythms impart a sense of peace and well-being. Experience a sense of place as you recline on your verandah, walk in the Ngorongoro Forest or explore the back roads of Karatu. Replenish with inspired organic cuisine, fresh from the farm’s gardens, bakery and dairy. Surround yourself with the rich traditions of East African life, exclusive to Gibb’s Farm, and share an eternal sense of history and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gibb's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibb`s Farm Hotel Karatu
Gibb's Farm Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing