We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and enchanting”
Review of Gibb's Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gibb's Farm
Ranked #2 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I recently returned from a 10 day Safari in Tanzania. Our first night of the trip was at Gibbs Farm, where we stayed in the Anniversary Room. OMG - it was absolutely beautiful and was an indulgence worth every penny. Our room was huge with a sitting area with desk, a separate bedroom setting with two queen size beds, private veranda, a bathroom with an indoor and outdoor shower. Need I say more. The farm-to-table cuisine was scrumptious and even the public restrooms are worth visiting (you have to see for yourself). The service from everyone was very attentive but not overbearing. My only disappointment was that we did not stay more than one night. What a way to start the safari.

Room Tip: My sister and I shared the anniversary room so I can highly recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horuslights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear horuslights,

Thank you for staying with us and for your honest comments. The team and I were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us recently.

Your disappointment of only staying one night is shared by every other guests who only stayed one night - it is our number one comment.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to being able to welcome you back to our beautiful part of the world some time soon.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 677 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

Wow, what a lovely resort. We had a room with a gorgeous view, our own small pond in front of our private veranda. The room was spacious with a comfortable sitting area, a small desk that only lacked a light, and an enormous bedroom area with two queen sized beds. Each evening the staff sprayed for mosquitos and pulled a huge mosquito net across the room dividing the sitting area from the sleeping area. The bathroom came complete with an outdoor shower, as well as indoor shower and very large tub. And they had a hair dryer! The water closet was in a separate room.
The staff were very devoted to making us feel both at home and comfortable.
We enjoyed very good food with all the produce grown in their own organic gardens. We toured the gardens learning that the elephants in the Ngorogoro Reserve on the other side of the wall also liked the garden produce. Every night men patrol the gardens to discourage the elephants. They combine hot peppers with hot fire embers to create a pungent peppery smoke to drive off the elephants. We didn't see any elephants rampaging the gardens, so I guess it worked.
When we turned off the main road to reach Gibbs Farm, the road was terrible, bumpy, pot holed, and rutted, so I was a bit concerned. No reason to be however. Once here, we both relaxed, enjoyed great hot showers, comfortable beds, a gorgeous view across the valley, and delicious food.
I definitely recommend staying here - after a safari, not before. If you stop before, you won't leave and that would be a shame.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear travelerewl,

Greetings from Gibb's Farm, thank you for your kind words. The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I was especially pleased to hear that the staff were devoted to making you feel at home and comfortable - after all, that is what we are all here for.

Thank you for staying with us, we do appreciate it and are looking forward to being able to welcome you back to Gibb's Farm one day in the not too distant future.

Until then, stay well and best wishes.

Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Halfway through our safari, we spent three days here. It was like being put in the Garden of Eden after being out on the plains. It was absolutely beautiful and we loved it. The gardens and landscaping are gorgeous. Our room was a small cottage with a sitting area inside, a fireplace and a private verandah - all overlooking the hills and coffee fields. Showers both inside and outside and every need catered to. The food was all farm to table, delicious and they have wonderful vegetable gardens you can walk around - a working farm. There was an artist in residence. One night a local choir came and sang. The service was excellent and we just cannot say enough good things about Gibbs Farm. Probably one of the best places we have ever stayed and we have stayed many places during our world travels. It was nice to be pampered and rejuvenated. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Nancy,

Greetings from Gibb's Farm and thank you for your kind feedback. The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

You might be interested to know that we are currently working on extending our "artist in resident" program - very soon we will have three artists who represent very different kinds of art in various locations throughout the farm. This will also include regular workshops and art classes for our guests to participate in and enjoy.

The choir you enjoyed consists of member of the our local church community and many of our team members are also proud members of the Thloma Church Choir.

Thank you again for staying with us, it was our pleasure to be a small part of making your holiday enjoyable and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and best wishes,
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here as part of our safari. The grounds were beautiful, though the rooms were a bit far apart. The management and staff were very kind and made our comfort the highest priority.

We took the elephant cave tour and ran into a lone buffalo and saw a lot of monkeys. It was a very nice tour.

The farm has tons of activities for people staying here including cow milking, harvesting their plentiful produce, nature talks, etc; i can see it being a great place for families to stay.

The rooms were very comfortable, and a lot of thought was obviously put into decor and details.

The only (very minor) complaints I had were that the mosquito netting in our room didn't reach the ground and had gaps (I did end up with a couple of bites, but they could have happened on the hike), and the road to the farm is very uncomfortably bumpy (5k from the main road) and pretty far from the nearby parks (about 40 minutes)

Room Tip: The Library room seemed to have a best view, but was very far from the main part of the farm. My pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Linteater,

Greetings from Gibb's Farm and thank you for your feedback, much appreciated. We have since checked the mosquito netting in the room you stayed in and lowered it to make sure there are no gaps - just in case.
Also, we are currently in the process of grading the road to improve the conditions. As it is a dirt road, it will never be perfect, however, together with our neighbors we undertake road repairs periodically to maintain it as best as we can.

Thank you for staying with us. We really appreciated having you with us and are looking forward to welcoming back one day in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes and kind regards
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We loved loved loved this place! This hotel is set at the end of a rather long and bumpy road but it is worth the jostle! The landscaping is amazingly beautiful with lush tropical gardens, herb gardens and coffee plantation. Our room was very spacious with a private verndah (off of which we had baboons who would visit to eat the mangos and bananas that grew just outside), a fireplace that faced both the sitting area and bathroom, and huge bath facility with both indoor and outdoor shower as well as a soaking tub.

The food here was simply amazing. The chef had a real farm to table approach - in fact you could help milk the cows, make the bread or pick the herbs and lettuces for dinner if you wanted. The cuiisine she created from thes fresh ingredients was as good as any I've had in 5 star restaurants around the country.

The staff was very service oriented and made an effort to get to know us and provide information about the farm and surrounding area. They also woudl get a fire going for us while we were at dinner so we could come back to a warm and cozy room.

The only drawbacks we had were that there was a disconcerting number of bees that would swarm the bath windows whenever we turned the lights on at night. None ever got in, but it was a bit eerie. There was also a "mystery switch" near the beds that we discovered by accident turned off all the power - is if your lights won't come on, flip the switch by the beds!

Other than these few minor things, everything else was just about perfiect. I wish I could have spent more time there and would definately recommend this property to anyone traveling in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatnJenCaveCreek_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear PatnJen,

Greetings from Gibb's Farm and thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will make sure to pass on your feedback to both our kitchen team and all the service staff who take great pride in delivering attentive customer service.

We will look at installing some kind of signage at the master switch near the bed as this does cause some confusion from time to time - some signage might assist in solving this.

Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to Gibb's Farm at some stage in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and best wishes.

Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Located on the road between Arusha and Ngorogoro Crater, this is one of the most incredible places I've ever been. Leaving the main road, you travel for three miles (20 minutes) along a dirt road through the Tanzanian countryside before arriving at an oasis. A 12 room lodge, artist colony, coffee plantation, organic farm and gourmet restaurant. All adjoining Ngorongro Crater Conservation Area and sporting stunning views.

It is still a long way from the crater (at least two hours), so really not an option for an extended stay, but if you can plan on a night to break up the travel, or just stop for lunch as we did, you will not be sorry. Just an incredible treat. Six stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a tour by Christina, a very impressive young lady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santhony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your feedback, great to hear that you enjoyed your lunch. This morning I met with Christina - she was over the moon! I have printed your comments as well as the photo you have taken of her, I can't tell you how happy she was - Thank you for recognizing her.

Thank you again for visiting and we are looking forward to welcome you one again to Gibb's Farm in the not too distant future.

Best wishes
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Gibbs Farm is a delight. My daughter and I had the chance to stay there for two nights. The food was fabulous and the rooms were super comfortable. Customer service is top notch. Definitely a place you want to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Gay,
Nice to hear from you and thank you for your feedback, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will make sure I share your feedback with our chef Rachel and the rest of the team, they will be thrilled to hear your comments.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back one day in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes and kind regards
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
5.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
1.6 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 51 in Karatu
187 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,206 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibb's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibb's Farm

Address: Rift Valley | P.O. Box 280, Karatu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $607 - $1,875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gibb's Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury lodge in Northern Tanzania, Gibb’s Farm offers a welcome respite for the East Africa safari traveller. Immerse yourself in a sanctuary for the senses, where the farm’s gentle rhythms impart a sense of peace and well-being. Experience a sense of place as you recline on your verandah, walk in the Ngorongoro Forest or explore the back roads of Karatu. Replenish with inspired organic cuisine, fresh from the farm’s gardens, bakery and dairy. Surround yourself with the rich traditions of East African life, exclusive to Gibb’s Farm, and share an eternal sense of history and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gibb's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibb`s Farm Hotel Karatu
Gibb's Farm Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing