We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds and room”
Review of Gibb's Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gibb's Farm
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here as part of our safari. The grounds were beautiful, though the rooms were a bit far apart. The management and staff were very kind and made our comfort the highest priority.

We took the elephant cave tour and ran into a lone buffalo and saw a lot of monkeys. It was a very nice tour.

The farm has tons of activities for people staying here including cow milking, harvesting their plentiful produce, nature talks, etc; i can see it being a great place for families to stay.

The rooms were very comfortable, and a lot of thought was obviously put into decor and details.

The only (very minor) complaints I had were that the mosquito netting in our room didn't reach the ground and had gaps (I did end up with a couple of bites, but they could have happened on the hike), and the road to the farm is very uncomfortably bumpy (5k from the main road) and pretty far from the nearby parks (about 40 minutes)

Room Tip: The Library room seemed to have a best view, but was very far from the main part of the farm. My pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Linteater,

Greetings from Gibb's Farm and thank you for your feedback, much appreciated. We have since checked the mosquito netting in the room you stayed in and lowered it to make sure there are no gaps - just in case.
Also, we are currently in the process of grading the road to improve the conditions. As it is a dirt road, it will never be perfect, however, together with our neighbors we undertake road repairs periodically to maintain it as best as we can.

Thank you for staying with us. We really appreciated having you with us and are looking forward to welcoming back one day in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes and kind regards
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 706 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We loved loved loved this place! This hotel is set at the end of a rather long and bumpy road but it is worth the jostle! The landscaping is amazingly beautiful with lush tropical gardens, herb gardens and coffee plantation. Our room was very spacious with a private verndah (off of which we had baboons who would visit to eat the mangos and bananas that grew just outside), a fireplace that faced both the sitting area and bathroom, and huge bath facility with both indoor and outdoor shower as well as a soaking tub.

The food here was simply amazing. The chef had a real farm to table approach - in fact you could help milk the cows, make the bread or pick the herbs and lettuces for dinner if you wanted. The cuiisine she created from thes fresh ingredients was as good as any I've had in 5 star restaurants around the country.

The staff was very service oriented and made an effort to get to know us and provide information about the farm and surrounding area. They also woudl get a fire going for us while we were at dinner so we could come back to a warm and cozy room.

The only drawbacks we had were that there was a disconcerting number of bees that would swarm the bath windows whenever we turned the lights on at night. None ever got in, but it was a bit eerie. There was also a "mystery switch" near the beds that we discovered by accident turned off all the power - is if your lights won't come on, flip the switch by the beds!

Other than these few minor things, everything else was just about perfiect. I wish I could have spent more time there and would definately recommend this property to anyone traveling in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatnJenCaveCreek_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear PatnJen,

Greetings from Gibb's Farm and thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will make sure to pass on your feedback to both our kitchen team and all the service staff who take great pride in delivering attentive customer service.

We will look at installing some kind of signage at the master switch near the bed as this does cause some confusion from time to time - some signage might assist in solving this.

Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to Gibb's Farm at some stage in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and best wishes.

Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Located on the road between Arusha and Ngorogoro Crater, this is one of the most incredible places I've ever been. Leaving the main road, you travel for three miles (20 minutes) along a dirt road through the Tanzanian countryside before arriving at an oasis. A 12 room lodge, artist colony, coffee plantation, organic farm and gourmet restaurant. All adjoining Ngorongro Crater Conservation Area and sporting stunning views.

It is still a long way from the crater (at least two hours), so really not an option for an extended stay, but if you can plan on a night to break up the travel, or just stop for lunch as we did, you will not be sorry. Just an incredible treat. Six stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a tour by Christina, a very impressive young lady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santhony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your feedback, great to hear that you enjoyed your lunch. This morning I met with Christina - she was over the moon! I have printed your comments as well as the photo you have taken of her, I can't tell you how happy she was - Thank you for recognizing her.

Thank you again for visiting and we are looking forward to welcome you one again to Gibb's Farm in the not too distant future.

Best wishes
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Gibbs Farm is a delight. My daughter and I had the chance to stay there for two nights. The food was fabulous and the rooms were super comfortable. Customer service is top notch. Definitely a place you want to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Gay,
Nice to hear from you and thank you for your feedback, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will make sure I share your feedback with our chef Rachel and the rest of the team, they will be thrilled to hear your comments.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back one day in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes and kind regards
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

amazing place- only there one night and could have stayed longer. beautiful views. down a long bumpy lane wondered where we were getting to - but once there it is amazing. Coffee plantation and farm. I live on a farm in the UK so lovely to watch the animals. We had the library rooms - wonderful. gardens are so beautiful. staff helpful and we did the talk on the history of the farm which was really interesting. food excellent

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Catherine,
Thank you very much for your feedback, great to hear that you enjoyed your all too short a stay. In fact, our most frequent feedback is that guests wished they could have stayed longer.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to being able to welcome you back to our beautiful part of Tanzania in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and best wishes
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Writer's Cottage and did not want to leave. It is A Garden if Eden. Beautiful grounds, beautiful staff, Christina tops in a body therapist. All food grown and raised there. The best food I have ever eaten. Will go back to spend a week

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebelMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear RebelMuse,

Greeting's from Gibb's Farm and thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will make sure that both Rachel, our Chef, and Christina, our Massage therapist, get to hear your praises.

Please let us know in advance when you are planning your return visit and we will try and allocate you the Writer's Cottage again.

Until then, thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Gibb's Farm and "Heaven on Earth" in the not too distant future.

Thank you and kind regards
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A lot has been said already about this very unique and special place. We spent three nights here at the end of a two week safari, coming from the North and Ngorogoro. We traveled as a large family (13 of us) and stayed in several of their cottages. We were in #12 STAR and it was something else - must have been at least 1300 square feet - huge bedroom area with two queens and a lovely outdoor patio overlooking the incredibly lush gardens and vegetable gardens below. Bathroom was enormous soaking tub, shower and outdoor shower, his/her sinks and separate toilet. We both slept like logs every night although we wish there were more screens on windows so we could have more windows open during the evening for better ventilation and to keep bugs out!

Food was excellent and all from their organic farms which one can tour and it is highly impressive. One can really taste the freshness in all their food, from the just-picked lettuces to the fresh eggs to fresh milk milked from the cows that morning to the fresh yoghurt to their fresh coffee (they are a coffee plantation where they roast the coffee right there on the restaurant terrace - the list goes on - YUM! The talents of Rachel, the executive chef from South Africa, are Michelin-worthy and I would embarrass her with praise every time I saw her moving quickly about on the job.

What makes Gibb's a real gem however, in my opinion, is the staff, the service, and the variety of activities the farm has to offer. Our original plan was to return to the crater for a day whilst at the farm but our family was all so enamored by the atmosphere and list of activities that we decided to forego another day at the crater! Our safari outfitter was shocked! (okay, perhaps the dusty 4 hour round trip to/from the rim also had something to do with it!)

There were bike rides across the local countryside on EXCELLENTLY maintained mountain bikes to bird walks from a guide who rivaled the best safari guides and was able to pick out many birds we hadn't seen in the last two weeks of travel! The kids loved the farm tour and got to pick vegetables and milk the cows. The artist in residence taught the three younger cousins ( 3 girls 8-10 yrs) how to make paper from recycled old paper, then paint and create art from natural materials like banana leaves and believe it or not - elephant dung! He was an incredible teacher who was so patient and the girls were absolutely enraptured by the class which lasted almost 2-1/2 hours!

The staff all quickly learned to remember us by name as well as our choice of cocktails (!), all under the eye of Gerd, the hotel manager, who was a real superstar. Gibbs, you are lucky to have him. Every request taken without a blink of an eye.

So in summary, when planning a safari to this part of the world, be sure to include Gibb's in your plans. My advice is to plan your safari to run from the North to the South so you can end here, then drive back to Arusha (about 2.5 hours) and catch your flight back home. That way, Gibbs can bathe you in luxury, which for us was a so-welcomed and fitting ending from the previous two weeks of tented "glamping."

Well done Gibb's!

Room Tip: Having toured many rooms because our large family was so spread out, I can honestly say that every r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatinicusRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear MatinicusRock,

Greetings from Gibb's Farm and thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you and your family group enjoyed your stay with us.

Our team members are proud to come to work every day and are looking forward to be of service to our many guests and, judging by our guest's feedback, it shows.

We are planning to significantly expand our activity program this year with the inclusion of additional art, cooking, woodworking and physical activities. Get all the latest information and updates by "liking" our Facebook page.

Thank you again for staying with us, we were honored to be your hosts and are looking forward to being able to welcome you back to Gibb's Farm in the not too distant future.

Best wishes and kind regards
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
12.2 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
698 reviews
5.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,241 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
113 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibb's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibb's Farm

Address: Rift Valley | P.O. Box 280, Karatu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $715 - $1,879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gibb's Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury lodge in Northern Tanzania, Gibb’s Farm offers a welcome respite for the East Africa safari traveller. Immerse yourself in a sanctuary for the senses, where the farm’s gentle rhythms impart a sense of peace and well-being. Experience a sense of place as you recline on your verandah, walk in the Ngorongoro Forest or explore the back roads of Karatu. Replenish with inspired organic cuisine, fresh from the farm’s gardens, bakery and dairy. Surround yourself with the rich traditions of East African life, exclusive to Gibb’s Farm, and share an eternal sense of history and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gibb's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibb`s Farm Hotel Karatu
Gibb's Farm Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing