We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel about an hour from Ngorongoro Crater entrance.”
Review of Gibb's Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gibb's Farm
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

At first we were a little upset that this hotel was a significant distance from the crater park but our two nights there were definitely worth the long drives back and forth. In fact, we would have stayed longer if we had the option. It is a beautiful oasis with coffee plants, organic vegetable garden and fruit trees set among gorgeous gardens with flowers galore. The room we had was probably the largest hotel room we have stayed in, almost like a one bedroom bungalow without the kitchen. We made use of the great outdoor shower (there is an indoor one and a tub as well) and had the fireplace lit each night. The porch was great for sunsets and we enjoyed the dinners very much. Although the restaurant service was not quite up to the standard of the rest of the hotel, the food was very good and it did not detract from our excellent experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank world_citizen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear world_citizen61,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Gibb's Farm. More and more guests are now starting to use Gibb's Farm as a base from where to explore the many natural wonders the region has to offer whilst at the same time returning each evening to the sanctuary of gorgeous gardens, fresh organic produce and comfortable spacious rooms.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant service, this is something we need to work on to make sure the service delivery in the restaurant matches the excellent quality of our food.

You might be interested that we have just received another delivery of fire wood for our cottages. We use local coffee wood which we purchase from the sourrounding coffee farms. Apart from being a sustainable resource it provides a lovely fragrance when it burns.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and the team and I do hope to be able to welcome you back to Gibb's Farm in the not too distant future.

Best wishes and kind regards
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 697 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our friends are planning a trip toTanzania and we've been telling them about Gibbs Farm and remembering the few hours we spent there in May 2012 (The "When did you travel?" drop-down doesn't go beyond Dec 2012).

Our schedule and budget were so tight, we could only manage a brief scheduled stop for lunch on our way to Ngorongoro Crater. Just the two of us plus our driver but lunch was fresh, delicious, and beautifully presented. Our wander through the grounds and gardens was far too brief but everything we saw was impeccably well kept and a feast for our travel-weary eyes.

If we should ever have the chance to return, we'll splurge and spend at least a night in one of the cottages.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonanKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear ArizonanKiwi,

Greetings from Gibb's Farm and thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit with us back in May last year.

Our kitchen and restaurant team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch as will the garden team who work tirelessly to keep the gardens looking impeccable and supplying us with top notch 100% fresh organic veges.

I do hope that one day you will have the opportunity to return and stay overnight, better still, spend at least two or three days as there is so much to see and do.

Many guests are now making Gibb's Farm their base from which to explore the many natural wonders the region has to offer.

Thank you again and the team and I do hope to be able to welcome you again to Gibb's Farm in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Gerd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My dear wife and I spent three days visiting Lake Manyara Park and the Ngorongoro Crater and after spending full days wildlife viewing, it was a priceless gift to spend relaxing down time at Gibbs Farm. The Managers actively seek out your feedback, the long serving staff are polite, friendly and welcoming, the food is gourmet, organic and plentiful, the accommodation is comfortable, and the hillside coffee plantation setting is colourful and calming. Gibbs Farm offers real value for money and will turn a wonderful African Safari into an extraordinary one.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Tim,

Greetings from Gibb's Farm and thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had time to enjoy the peaceful surrounds.

One of the most frequent comments we receive from our guests is that they wished they had stayed longer to have time to enjoy the many facilities, the beautiful and tranquil gardens and the coffee plantation. In view of this I am very happy that you found the time to stay three nights and had time to relax and enjoy.

The team and I are delighted to have had the opportunity to have been part of your wonderful African Safari experience and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to Gibb's Farm one day in the not too distant future.

Thank you again and best wishes.


Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Maybe I was expecting too much, but in the end this place is average and very expensive. We spent only a night here and the reception did not seem very welcoming. The rooms are very nice, but the value is missing. The food was fine, but not nearly what we had expected after reading all of these great reviews on TripAdvisor. I guess I should have listened to the tour company and headed straight to Zanzibar as this was more or less a day lost from our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Simon,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at Gibb's Farm. I am very disappointed to hear that we did not manage to fullfill your expectations.

We constantly strive to improve on our standards and services and to hear that your arrival at reception was less than welcoming highlights the need for more attention and training in this area.

I would be very interested in getting some more detailed feedback from you regarding what extra items or amenities we could consider additing to our rooms.

Just last week our new Executive Chef arrived and she is also is very interested in receiving some more feedback on your expections regarding your meals.

We are always looking at ways to make our guests stay special and I would really appreciate some further feedback on what we could improve upon. You can contact me directly on gm@gibbsfarm.com

Simon, my apologies for not being able to meet your expections during your stay. Your feedback will help us and I do hope to being able to welcome you once again to Gibb's Farm in the not too distant future.

Thank you again and kind regards
Gerd Beurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A very interesting place. We wandered into the vegetable garden and suddenly had a private tour of farming techniques, coffee production and more. Baked bread at 6:30 am, milked cows at 7:30 am, watched many birds on the patio, helped feed the bushbabies at 7 pm, etc. Not your typical hotel. Had a crackling fire each night in our room. Masai massage was great. If you are there on last Friday of the month, the local market just outside Karatu village is awesome. All in all, a splendid venue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckatbigsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear chuckatbigsky,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Gibb's Farm. You have certainly been busy during your time with us and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

One of the unique aspects of Gibb's Farm is that you can be as active and involved or as layed back and relaxed as you desire, the choice is yours.
All our doors including the "back of house" areas are open, allowing guests to explore the in-depth workings of the lodge and the farm operations.

We are working on concepts now for the future which include many more activities for our guests to enjoy such as a specialised childrens and family program, cooking and art classes and much more.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing our unique hospitality with you. We enjoyed being part of your African experience and are looking forward to welcoming you once again to Gibb's Farm in the not too distant future.

If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@gibbsfarm.com.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Gerd Beurich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We traveled for 3 weeks through Tanzania and Rwanda and Gibbs Farm had the BEST food.
We stayed for 2 nights on October 7th and 8th, 2013.
We are vegetarian and the options were plentiful and all great !
5-star meals made with fresh (organic) fruits and vegetables, regional dishes, and fresh-baked breads and desserts.
We really enjoyed our farm and elephant cave walk with a very friendly staff member called "Honest". He also took us to the local primary school which was very interesting.
We stayed in a room called the library which was comfortable.
The living room was huge but the bedroom and bathroom very small.
The new managers were very friendly and keen to make sure all guests were well looked after.
We suggested they make the accommodation for the animals much bigger and offer them more free range space which would be more inline with their organic/caring themes.
They agreed with us and mentioned this was part of their plans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where u dont have to walk past the animals to get to your room. Ask for "Honest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidCarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear David,
Greetings from Gibb's Farm and thank you for you kind review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am especially happy to learn that we managed to provide nice and plentiful vegetarian options for both of you. We pride ourselves of using only the finest and freshes ingredients from our gardens which certainly makes it easier to cater for a variety of dietary requirements such as yours and many others.

I will make sure I let "Honest" know that you enjoyed your time with him - he will be thrilled to learn that you remember him.

We are already working on plans to relocate the actual farm yard to another area on the property. Most likely this will be a staged plan and we would like to start during the low season next year by relocating the pigs in the first instance as well as the free range chicken.

Thank you very much for staying with us and allowing us to share our experience with you. The team and I enjoyed having your company and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Gibb's Farm in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards
Gerd Beurich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a great property - the rooms are extremely large - as are the bathrooms. There is a wonderful fireplace in the bedrooms as well - make sure you have the wood stocked up for you at night - it gets very chilly and of course a fire in the room is so wonderful! We had lovely Masai massages with the fire going - really fantastic. Additionally each room has a wonderful sitting area and outside deck looking over some beautiful aspect of the farm. Enjoy walking through the farm and seeing all the gardens and agriculture. The lobby/bar area is charming - you can sit inside or out and watch the scene. The food is extremely fresh and very tasty. Don't overlook the gift shop here - the prices are incredibly competitive - I kicked myself for not buying more there - however it was only our 3rd stop...little did I know. Service is top notch throughout the property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remembertoenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Barbi L,

Greetings from Gibb's Farm and many thanks for your kind feedback. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I will make sure to share your comments with the team at our upcoming staff get-together.

The two-sided fireplace is one of the highlights in our rooms and sure is a taking point and great feature. The firewood we use is coffee wood which of course is grown locally and gives off a nice smell when it burns.

All the artwork we sell in our gift shop is produced locally and purchases by our guests are directly suppoting local artists.

Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to be able to welcome you once again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards

Gerd Beurich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
12.2 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
691 reviews
5.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,227 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#4 of 51 in Karatu
196 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibb's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibb's Farm

Address: Rift Valley | P.O. Box 280, Karatu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $639 - $961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gibb's Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury lodge in Northern Tanzania, Gibb’s Farm offers a welcome respite for the East Africa safari traveller. Immerse yourself in a sanctuary for the senses, where the farm’s gentle rhythms impart a sense of peace and well-being. Experience a sense of place as you recline on your verandah, walk in the Ngorongoro Forest or explore the back roads of Karatu. Replenish with inspired organic cuisine, fresh from the farm’s gardens, bakery and dairy. Surround yourself with the rich traditions of East African life, exclusive to Gibb’s Farm, and share an eternal sense of history and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gibb's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibb`s Farm Hotel Karatu
Gibb's Farm Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing