We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay: Organic Farm and Gardens”
Review of Gibb's Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gibb's Farm
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay: Organic Farm and Gardens”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Room was huge and elegant. A nice view of the farms from our verandah. Loved the outdoor shower, and the indoor shower. The gardens were amazingly beautiful. The coffee operation provided delicious coffee, all grown and roasted on the premises. The bakery produced terrific breads and desserts. It was impressive that Gibbs Farm is almost completely self-sustaining.

We enjoyed a hike to the elephant caves with Pasquale. We recommend very highly!
.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenabetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Tenabetsy,
Greetings from Gibb's Farm and thank you very much for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially our homegrown organic coffee, your room and last but not least the bread and pastry selection.
Gladness and Selina, our lovely ladies who work in the pastry section will be thrilled to hear your comments as will Pedro and his team who manage the vegetable gardens and the coffee plantation.

Thank you again for choosing Gibb's Farm. It has been a delight to welcome you and we are looking forward to being able to welcome you once again in the future.

Kind Regards and best wishes
Gerd Beurich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    65
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
190
292
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Gibb's Farm is an oasis. The rooms are set in and among the foliage of the hillside of the crater. Post and beam construction of hardwoods, with an indoor shower and soaking tub, as well as an outside shower. Much of the food at Gibb's is grown on the premises and the chef cooks as well or better than any restaurant here in the US.

The new management couple are lovely and were quite helpful in working out some issues we experienced with activities. If they can improve upon what they have working in their favor, this place will only grow in it's appeal. Don't miss taking the tour of the coffee plantation and the gardens. It's amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisisiT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear ThisisiT74,

Thank you very much for your kind words and the lovely feedback. Chef Lisa and her team will be delighted to hear of your review and your appreciation of our "Farm to Table" concept.

Our apologies once again for the issues you experienced with the activities, we were glad to be of assistance at the time and have shared your experience with the team members concerned so we may approved and avoid this from happening in the future.

We have many exciting plans to further refine and improve on what is already a beautiful "oasis" and will be introducing those over the coming months.

Thank you again for visiting Gibb's Farm, it has been a delight to welcome you and we are looking forward to being able to welcome you once again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes
Gerd Beurich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Gibb's Farm our first night on Safari. It was absolutely beautiful. Our room was very large and had windows everywhere. We had a private balcony, huge bathroom, comfortable seating area and very nice shower... there was even a fireplace that spanned the seating area and bathroom. The food was fabulous and the views were beautiful. My only complaint is that we didn't stay here longer!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoriJBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear LoriJBA,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Gibb's Farm. The team and I were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience and we were able to delight you with our large, spacious and comfortable rooms and culinary delights.

We have many exciting plans for Gibb's Farm, make sure you "like us" on Facebook to stay up to date with the latest happenings in our beautiful part of the world.

Thank you for choosing Gibb's Farm and the team and I are looking forward to being able to welcome you once again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes

Gerd Beurich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay.....especially after such a long flight from the US. We decided to stay for a few nights before embarking on our four day safari. We enjoyed everything about Gibbs farm from the beautiful cottages with indoor and outside showers, to the gourmet food.
The staff was top notch and the tour of the grounds was wonderful.
We did a "pack for a purpose" for the local school and clinic which really enriched our trip as well.
A+

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear JMbeach,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Gibb's Farm.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay; I have shared your feedback with the entire team who were delighted with the recognition of their hard work and dedication.

We have many exciting plans for the future of Gibb's Farm, make sure you "like us" on Facebook to stay up to date with the latest happenings.

Thank you again for choosing Gibb's Farm and we are looking forward to being able to welcome you once again to "a little slice of heaven" in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes

Gerd Beurich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Sure the Ngorongoro crater is interesting, but we wanted more time in this enchanting place. The food was spectacular as was the setting and room. We were in #13, and the decor somehow perfectly mixed traditional colonial with contemporary design. Shower was wonderful and we even had a fire in the fireplace. We definitely want to return and learn more about the farm and community.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear R L,
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay at Gibb's Farm. The team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your two nights with us.

One of our plans is to further develop Gibb's into more of a destination in its own right, creating a base from where guests can explore the many natural wonders of the region whilst at the same time return each day to the sanctuary of the farm to rejuvenate, relax and enjoy our traditional and personalised service and hospitality.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to being able to welcome you back to Gibb's Farm in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Gerd Beurich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, from Jacob, to Pedro, to George Forman jr...aka Peter and many others. We only stayed one day and would have liked a few more days in Cottage #9. The coffee/eucalyptus logs in the fireplace were so romantic for both a shower or bath or just enjoying the surroundings. The outside shower in the morning sun was so special
If you are a gardener, you will be delighted. It is an operational farm and coffee plantation and the coffee was roasted fresh by hand each morning. The chef, Lisa from Scotland has to be thrilled with the acres of fresh vegetables and herbs available to her. If you get up early enough you can assist to make the bread and pastries for that day.
Dining was a true test for the senses as everything was served in an upscale manner.
Gibbs Farm is a must stop and stay if you are in Tanzania. One couple came for lunch from the UK and wondered what the cabins were like, so I took the liberty to show #9 and they want to return to stay.
Peter and Traci Kerr are great hosts and this is evident everywhere you look.
We truly thank all who made this experience so exceptional for Margaret and Ian K.

Room Tip: #9 and 7 have connecting doors, if this is needed. Both are very close to everything. Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47woodenshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
28 September 2013

Dear Margaret & Ian K.

Thank you for taking the time to post your highly positive review. Your feedback is very much appreciated by Management and the wonderful team members whom you have recognised as being one of our properties best assets.

Our team members are the friendliest and most obliging in the region and really do “go out of their way” to ensure the “fantastic experience” you enjoyed at Gibb's Farm.

Your comments regarding our farm to table cuisine will be passed along to our Executive Chef and hard-working Food & Beverage team.

Very pleased to learn that you were impressed with the surrounds of our farmhouse cottages especially the fire and inside outside shower and bath facilities. Our Rhythm of the Farm daily activities are varied and allow you to experience the routine of daily life on a working farm and coffee plantation..

Finally, all the team members that you have named have asked me to pass along their personal thanks for your very kind acknowledgement of his services. Asante sana.

We hope to have an opportunity to Welcome you back to " our sanctuary for the senses" in the future.

Warm regards from all of us.

Peter Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

visited here on day 2 of our safari with Kuoni and Ranger Safaris. This was a stop off on the way to the start of our safari at Ngorongoro Crater so I can’t comment on what it’s like to stay here.
We also had a guided tour of the grounds which was very good , even saw some elephant footprints amongst the vegetables which was a surprise.
Embarrassingly enough despite drinking coffee and normally grinding the beans myself I’d never seen a coffee plant up close before. It was really interesting to hear how the coffee is farmed and produced here.I also purchased some Gibb’s Farm coffee beans from the shop which I believe are only sold at the farm. I’ve since had some of the coffee since returning home and it is very good.

The flowers and garden and the views are really lovely here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanLDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
28 September 2013

Dear Mr Driver,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review.

Gibb's Farm offers a welcome respite from the rigors of safari, and like yourselves, we have been welcoming guests to stop by and enjoy our farm to table luncheon for many years.

We were pleased to read that the tour of our grounds, vegetable farm and coffee plantation provided you with lasting memories.

Should you plan to visit East Africa again, we do look forward to being able to welcome you as guests, at which time you will be able to fully experience "our sanctuary for the senses".

Asante sana

Peter Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
5.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
402 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,513 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
306 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#6 of 48 in Karatu
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibb's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibb's Farm

Property: Gibb's Farm
Address: Rift Valley | P.O. Box 280, Karatu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gibb's Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury lodge in Northern Tanzania, Gibb’s Farm offers a welcome respite for the East Africa safari traveller. Immerse yourself in a sanctuary for the senses, where the farm’s gentle rhythms impart a sense of peace and well-being. Experience a sense of place as you recline on your verandah, walk in the Ngorongoro Forest or explore the back roads of Karatu. Replenish with inspired organic cuisine, fresh from the farm’s gardens, bakery and dairy. Surround yourself with the rich traditions of East African life, exclusive to Gibb’s Farm, and share an eternal sense of history and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gibb's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibb`s Farm Hotel Karatu
Gibb's Farm Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing