We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Gibb's Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gibb's Farm
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst we visited Lake Manyara NP and Ngorogoro crater CA. It is a truly stunning setting and nicely away from the crowds at the Crater. We stayed in one of the larger cottages which was beautifully designed and kept. The food was excellent and much of it is produced on the farm. The staff were all delightful. Wifi connection was a bit hit and miss but no big deal. Having a beer on the veranda is perfect. The walk to the elephant caves was interesting and fun, even in the rain.

Room Tip: It really is worth it to stretch to one of the two larger cottages. They are something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

17 September 2013

Dear Tom M ,

Your feedback is invaluable in assessing our performance and needless to say, well-deserved compliments provide great staff motivation.

Countless reviews commend our natural attribute – Gibb's Farm ideal location, as being an important feature in choosing "our sanctuary for the senses". You are correct in saying our proximity to the Ngorongoro Crater and Lake Manyara National Park are important considerations for guests seeking to make the most of their East African safari experience.

Our dedicated Culinary team will be delighted with your enthusiastic recommendation on the quality of our farm to table cuisine.

We also thank you for your comments in relation to our “beautifully designed and maintained luxury cottages”. As guests to our estate, you are in a position to appreciate the work, Lazaro our Head Gardener and his hard-working team have undertaken in maintaining our landscape.

You also have added insights into our rather erratic wifi connection and I am pleased to advise that the system was recently upgraded and as such connectivity is available in all our cottages and public areas.

We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to post your review and look forward to welcoming you back once again to Gibb's Farm in the not too distant future.

Warm regards from all of us at Gibb's Farm.

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 696 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Gibbs Farm is a highlight of any visit to Northern Tanzania.
We had the great good luck to spend 3 nights there as part of a 12 day Thomson Family Safari in August, 2013. None of us wanted to leave.
The hotel is beautifully and thoughtfully designed, the huge peaceful, private rooms are separate buildings - many with wonderful views of the coffee plantation or the huge food gardens and the valleys below them. The atmosphere is lovely, high class yet low key. The amenities are well conceived with a nice personal touch. The management is ever present in the best sense. The staff is well trained and lovely - courteous and thoughtful. The services and activities are diverse, well conceived and well executed. From my personal experience they provide great massages, fun farm activities, and good mountain biking tours (the best - or should I say least beat up - mountain bikes we found during our whole month in East Africa).
The food is very good - at times really excellent. It is all carefully thought out, varied, fresh and flavorful - and you know where it comes from. The chef is on hand at every meal checking on everything. You will not want to leave.

Of course, this is still East Africa - and there are sometimes little things wrong. When we were there it was a bit rainy so the water didn't get very hot (it's solar) - something they didn't seem to be able to fix even over several days. All in all, this was my favorite place in East Africa.

Room Tip: Each room has it's charm - some are far from the kitchen. We had room one, which has a lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gringacriolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbsGM, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

07 September, 2013.

Dear Gringacriolla,

Thank you for taking the time to post you review. All guest feedback is invaluable in helping to improve upon our performance and we thank you for your contribution in this instance.

You have been very generous with your praise in relation to both the standard of our farmhouse cottages, amenities, diversity of activities, farm to table cuisine and our services.

During the period of your stay, we did not field any reports that our solar hot water system was not working to maximum efficiency. Please accept our assurances that any hot water deficiencies have since been corrected.

We are encouraged to learn that you benefited from a traditional healing treatment and that your three night stay in our sanctuary for the senses was the highlight of your month long safari in East Africa.

Asante sana

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just did the Tanzanian Northern Circuit safari which so many of our friends have done and highly recommended to us. We've booked through TrueAfrica before and we sourced a quote from them this time also. We did look at a few other operators, some who were admittedly cheaper, however, since we have traveled with TrueAfrica before and found them to be on the ball and reliable, we decided we'd book through them again (they actually offered us a discount as we have booked with them before!)

In the end we visited Tarangire NP and stayed at Oliver's Camp which was spectacular, and then traveled to the Crater and stayed at Gibb's Farm. To be honest, the Crater was disappointing, but Gibb's certainly wasn't! The African massages were amazing and the grounds of the farm are lovely - we did the coffee plantation tour which was really lovely too.

The food at Gibb's was surprisingly delicious - who would have thought a Scottish chef (we're from the UK) would have found her way to the middle of nowhere in Tanzania and is now cooking up a storm!

The rooms are gorgeous and the fireplace which goes between the lounge area and bathroom (super cosy on chilly evenings while you're taking a bath) are beautiful and certainly not what we were expecting... The outdoor showers were also blissful with the lush gardens surrounding you.

Gibb's isn't the cheapest property, but I think it is definitely worth the splurge!

Room Tip: We'd highly recommend one of the cottages - they're so nice and private, you wouldn't ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicDuo2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

September 5, 2013

Dear Nomadic Duo 2034,

Needless to say we were delighted with your refreshingly heartfelt review.

The entire team at Gibb's Farm all work hard to deliver the authentic experience you have so accurately described.

Grateful thanks on behalf of Lisa Campbell our Executive Chef whom you have nominated for personal recognition and we were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our farm to table varied cuisine.

We trust that the rejuvenating hands of our traditional healer bought relief to the aches and pains of long hours on safari.

It was our very great pleasure to have you as guests and we look forward to you "splurging" out again at our "sanctuary for the senses".

Asante sana

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed three nights in June 2013 on recommendation of friends who had been. Highlights are the location, the great food and friendly service ( they have a new Scottish lady chef from Stirling I believe) and the well designed cottages. There are log fires in each cottage which can be lit for your return after dinner-very welcome as you are altitude here and in a cloud forrest effectively. Much has been written about The Crater but there are two other great things to do from Gibb's- one is take the guided walk from the estate up into the forrest. It is wonderful to get out and walk here and theres lots to see on the way to the elephant caves- antelope and troops of baboons. Our guide jumped in the air at one point and I thought he was joking, but he had spotted the very large rock python at our feet on the path and I hadn't. It remained utterly still and we got some great pics of it. The elephant caves and lip of the waterfall, with views across the valley make great places to sit and listen and watch for wildlife. Highly recommended and something it would be easy to skip, yet it was one of the highlights of our whole trip.
Another was a trip into Karatu, the local town on the road up to the Crater. We got our driver to drop us off and he passed us over to a local lad called Jackson (jpaul18@yahoo.com) who along with his young apprentice ( who spoke fluent French incidentally) gave us an absolutely fascinating, informal tour of their home town. Jackson's ambition is to become a tour guide and he has the makings of a great one. We saw all the local trades, food market and even had a drink of the local brew inside a shebine. Its the cheapest round I ever bought in a pub-$1 for everyone! The whole visit felt completely safe, we were never hassled and Im sure would just not have been possible with a commecial tourist guide. Again another highlight of Tanzania and one we didnt expect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDecameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

September 5, 2013

Dear The Decameron,

Great review, and especially appreciated your comments in relation to our Scottich Chef, Lisa Campbell. Since reading your posting Lisa is still "dancing the highland fling".

Our ideal location bordering the Ngorongoro Conservation area, not to mention the multitude of on and off property activities and walks provides an ideal ideal base from where to explore our local community.

We actively promote an authentic rural Anglo East African working farm ambience from our cottage accommodation, through to a genuine pride and warmth in hospitality synonymous with the country’s culture and traditions.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Gibb's Farm at some future date.

With kind regards

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

How unexpected to have a true 5 star experience in such a remote, exotic location. Our room was large, with indoor and outdoor shower as well as a huge tub with a view of both the gardens outside and the fireplace in the room. The farm-to-table restaurant was unbelievably good, and it is rare that I say that about any restaurant. I now consider Gibbs Farm a 'must do' for any trip to Tanzania.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 219MaryG219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

06 September 2013

Dear 219MaryG219,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your highly positive review.

Many contributors to this forum have commented upon Gibb's Farm remote and exotic location in terms of both the properties close proximity to the Ngorongoro Crater and Manyara National Park.

As you have also pointed out, the properties spacious well appointed luxury farm house cottages and surrounds provide an ideal respite from the rigors of safari.

We also thank you for adding your own seal of approval to our universally acclaimed farm to table cuisine a worthy recipient of Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, 2013 and amongst the top 20 lodges and resorts in Africa and The Middle East.

We are delighted to learn that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

In June, we were on an A&K safari and had the wonderful opportunity to stop for lunch at Gibb's Farm. It could not have been a better experience. The lovely setting, the warm and welcoming staff and the lunch buffet itself made were exceptional. Then, after lunch a member of the staff took us on a walkabout through the coffee plantation to a nearby waterfall. This walking tour ended with seeing the garden where they grow 80% of the food used in their restaurant. Yes, we would go back given the chance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara49391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

05 September 2013

Lovely review Barbara, and we thank you most sincerely for sharing it with our Trip Advisor audience.

You will not be surprised to learn that Gibb's farm has developed a very strong following, for precisely the reasons you have reiterated. Our focus remains firmly on personalised service and farm to table cuisine.

We’re delighted that you enjoyed your tour of our estate and the walk to the Elephant Cave walk, a great choice!

You obviously made the most of your lunch stopover in our sanctuary for the senses and as always, our wonderful staff greeted you with their natural warmth, friendship and attentive services.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you to stay with us at some time in the future.

Very best wishes from all of us.

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from Tanzania and will address in another review later. Stayed 2 nights at Gibbs Farm. One of the finest experiences in all my years of travel. Beautiful organic coffe plantation and working farm with wonderful artists in residence. The room were breath taking with wonderful views. The gardens exquisite and lush. The staff as friendly and capable as could be. Hats off to Peter and Tracy for a wonderful experiencer. We had 7 meals there and each one better that the other. I am not a big bread eater but easily had more than necessary. Varied farm to table menu. Coffee roatsed fresh each morning on the outside patio. The table service was excellent and the trail lunch was amazing. A well stocked bar. Definitely worth a stay. Rooms were large and beautifully appointed with a bath tub the size of Rhode island and indoor and outdoor showers. A worrking fire place that was started at your request. The noly bad part was we had to leave. Make a stop when in Tanzania you will not be dissappointed. Hats off to Thompsons Safari for continuing the tradition.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEDSPARTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Gibb's Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

September 05, 2013

Dear TedsParty,

It is our commitment to create magical moments and memories and thank you for sharing these with other travelers.

Whilst here you were able to discover our organic oasis, replete with natural beauty, healthful food and sustainable living.Generations of local families have helped us to create a truly special and authentic experience, based upon East African traditions and hospitality.

We have a saying here; "you have to go back home, so that you can return" and on behalf of the entire team, we look forward to extending karibu sana to you again in the not to distant future.

With kind regards

Peter & Tracy Kerr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
12.2 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
691 reviews
5.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,227 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#4 of 51 in Karatu
196 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibb's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibb's Farm

Address: Rift Valley | P.O. Box 280, Karatu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $634 - $959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gibb's Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury lodge in Northern Tanzania, Gibb’s Farm offers a welcome respite for the East Africa safari traveller. Immerse yourself in a sanctuary for the senses, where the farm’s gentle rhythms impart a sense of peace and well-being. Experience a sense of place as you recline on your verandah, walk in the Ngorongoro Forest or explore the back roads of Karatu. Replenish with inspired organic cuisine, fresh from the farm’s gardens, bakery and dairy. Surround yourself with the rich traditions of East African life, exclusive to Gibb’s Farm, and share an eternal sense of history and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gibb's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibb`s Farm Hotel Karatu
Gibb's Farm Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing