We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Cozy so Organic!”
Review of Gibb's Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gibb's Farm
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Perfect retreat to end an adventure across the Serengeti.

Surrounded by lush gardens, we were greeted in a very cordial manner and were offered wet towels. Our rooms were designed like cottages with a beautiful seating area in the balcony that overlooked Karatu's green bliss. It's tough not to fall in love with the way the cottages are designed. Each one is uniquely designed in warm colors, wodden floors, painted bathrooms, outdoor/indoor shower, bathtub, fire place...

Considerable attention to details. It is evident all over such as the way the toilet paper was packed in cloth sack, locally made slippers in the hotel room, the utensils in the dining room, table cloth, kitchen ware, jug full of boiled water placed in the bathroom, art work, blankets, chandeliers, exotic flowers in the garden and fruit trees....even avocado!

The best part of my stay was the sound of the rain. It was all so natural!

Overall it was a pleasant stay and wish we stayed an extra nights to fully enjoy the facilities. I would have loved to try out their spa, but unfortunately there was no time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 696 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

We spent two nights here as part of Thomson Safari trip. After nights in the safari tents, this was a welcome bit of luxury. Facilities are top notch. Food is great and scenery is beautiful. Options exist on various events to see, we visited a local school.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXtraveler67_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We were pitched a stay at Gibbs farm is a great way to relax for a couple of days before the early starts for game drives on the rest of our trip, or, as a couple of days R & R at the very end. We could have definately stayed there for more than the 2 nights we had! It was great!

After about a 2 hour drive from Arusha we arrived at the farm (set on a coffee plantation) and met with a chorus of 'Jambos'! (hello!) We were then escorted to our room which was called the Library and was the furthermost room from the main lodge where dining and reception was.

Immediately we fell in love. The library is a fully self contained house with double room and toilet downstairs with kitchen and dining table, then upstairs another bedroom with 2 single beds. Top that off with an amazing panoramic view of the plantation and the surrounding hills from the verandha and we were in awe!

There is so much to do at this camp....90% of what they put on a plate for you during your stay is grown on the farm. The food is awesome! As a result you can help in the picking of vegetables for the evening meal, assist with the coffee roasting in the morning or amble around the last gardens taking a guide to describe all the flora and fauna along the way.

Being fitness enthusiasts we were keen to get out and stretch the legs. We did what the camp calls 'The Elephant cave walk'. You pay $20 US and enter the ngorongoro conservation area with a guide from the farm and also a ranger. Here you amble along a very good path, through the forest (the walk is not difficult) and come to what we describe as an Elephants quarry! They quarry into the hillside to get nutrients from the soil and as a result these cave like structure appear. Sadly we didnt see any elephants on our visit, but thats luck of the draw. We saw a few buffalo and several monkeys as well as learning alot from the guides about the plants, land etc.

The next day we did a mountain bike ride from the farm to the local village called Tloma again with a guide from the farm. Pascal actually grew up in the village and gave us a real insight into how people live there. It is very humbling. The children chase after you on the bikes shouting 'Muzungu' meaning 'white man'!!! Be sure to take something to hand out if you go to the shool or visit a local household ie crayons, lollipops, fruit from the farm. Visiting local villages like this one were among some of the memories that will stay with us and is well worth doing if you want to absorb a bit more of the local culture. The bikes needed a bit to TLC and in some parts the climbs are a little steep, but having said that you can go on more flat roads around the farm, although you may not get the same experience we had.

In the evening, the local Masai do a talk on different topics around the Tembo (elephant) fire its a nice way to interact with them and others in the camp.

We could have stayed for several more days as we really wound down in this environment. thank you to the general manager Peter, who was very friendly and hospitable and all the staff who made our stay so memorable.

At the time of our stay they were doing some rennovations to the farm and im sure will be even more special when they complete them.

Room Tip: The Library was excellent, especially if you are travelling in a group of 4 with one double and two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossmcneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Take a turn off the safari super highway near Karatu and you will find a gem of hospitality, delicious food and top-quality five star accommodation. We stayed in a farm cottage, hand crafted from local woods, with a bathtub, outdoor shower, fireplace--exquisitely furnished! Our view was over the gardens where the very food that we enjoyed for breakfast lunch and dinner were served. Though it was a short visit, I can easily imagine a weeks stay for a writing retreat or a rejuvenating escape from it all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulakukuinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We spent 2 nights here in the middle of a safari that was all tented camps. While it was a welcome break in a beautiful location, it felt like we were being sold everything in the place. We were charged for water and laundry. They kept giving us the wrong bills. We were asked to attend a Masai healer talk, asked if we wanted something to drink and then were charged. It just felt wrong. But the property is a delight. We did not like the food, the meat was really tough.

Room Tip: Stay in a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had 1 night here at the start of our safari and wish we had had more. The lodge is lovely with a really homely feel. The rooms (we stayed in a basic room) are very comfortable (much better than i was expecting) and the long hot shower was fantastic. The farm itself is beautiful set on a coffee plantation you could sit and enjoy the view forever. The food in the evening was top quality with most of the ingredients coming from the farm itself.

We also did the walk to the Elephant caves and saw a large bull elephant duing the walk (slightly scaring our guide as I now realise they can be quite dangerous). There were also many daytime activities we could have done on the farm (vegetable collection, coffee roasting) which we would have loved to have done if we had had more time. If you can spend 2 nights here it really is worth it, as this is so much more than a place to stop off.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed in the library, a two bedroom "cottage" that was perfect for our four person family. We found the covered porch and living room so comfortable, that we all enjoyed spending must of the afternoon and evening reading our books and admiring the views. The fantastic view of the valley was only slightly scarred by the construction of a new hotel in the distance. Hopefully the new hotel treats it plantings and landscaping as well as Gibbs Farm. Our August evening was cool, and we took advantage of their fire starting service in our library stove. It kept the cottage warm throughout the evening. The only challenge with the library is that is a decent walk from the main buildings, and may not be suitable for those less mobile.

Dinner was amazing. The best meal we had in Tanzania. Served family style, the amount served was way beyond the appetite of the four of us, and we felt guilty sending some back. Most everything served was fresh from the farm. The dining room decor lacks the charm of the rest of the lodge, but it was functional and the quality of the food more than made up for this short coming.

Location was good launching point into the crater.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
12.2 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
691 reviews
5.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,227 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#4 of 51 in Karatu
196 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibb's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibb's Farm

Address: Rift Valley | P.O. Box 280, Karatu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $638 - $959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gibb's Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury lodge in Northern Tanzania, Gibb’s Farm offers a welcome respite for the East Africa safari traveller. Immerse yourself in a sanctuary for the senses, where the farm’s gentle rhythms impart a sense of peace and well-being. Experience a sense of place as you recline on your verandah, walk in the Ngorongoro Forest or explore the back roads of Karatu. Replenish with inspired organic cuisine, fresh from the farm’s gardens, bakery and dairy. Surround yourself with the rich traditions of East African life, exclusive to Gibb’s Farm, and share an eternal sense of history and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gibb's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibb`s Farm Hotel Karatu
Gibb's Farm Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing