We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome break from the tents but not up to snuff”
Review of Gibb's Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gibb's Farm
Ranked #2 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We spent 2 nights here in the middle of a safari that was all tented camps. While it was a welcome break in a beautiful location, it felt like we were being sold everything in the place. We were charged for water and laundry. They kept giving us the wrong bills. We were asked to attend a Masai healer talk, asked if we wanted something to drink and then were charged. It just felt wrong. But the property is a delight. We did not like the food, the meat was really tough.

Room Tip: Stay in a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 673 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had 1 night here at the start of our safari and wish we had had more. The lodge is lovely with a really homely feel. The rooms (we stayed in a basic room) are very comfortable (much better than i was expecting) and the long hot shower was fantastic. The farm itself is beautiful set on a coffee plantation you could sit and enjoy the view forever. The food in the evening was top quality with most of the ingredients coming from the farm itself.

We also did the walk to the Elephant caves and saw a large bull elephant duing the walk (slightly scaring our guide as I now realise they can be quite dangerous). There were also many daytime activities we could have done on the farm (vegetable collection, coffee roasting) which we would have loved to have done if we had had more time. If you can spend 2 nights here it really is worth it, as this is so much more than a place to stop off.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed in the library, a two bedroom "cottage" that was perfect for our four person family. We found the covered porch and living room so comfortable, that we all enjoyed spending must of the afternoon and evening reading our books and admiring the views. The fantastic view of the valley was only slightly scarred by the construction of a new hotel in the distance. Hopefully the new hotel treats it plantings and landscaping as well as Gibbs Farm. Our August evening was cool, and we took advantage of their fire starting service in our library stove. It kept the cottage warm throughout the evening. The only challenge with the library is that is a decent walk from the main buildings, and may not be suitable for those less mobile.

Dinner was amazing. The best meal we had in Tanzania. Served family style, the amount served was way beyond the appetite of the four of us, and we felt guilty sending some back. Most everything served was fresh from the farm. The dining room decor lacks the charm of the rest of the lodge, but it was functional and the quality of the food more than made up for this short coming.

Location was good launching point into the crater.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

If you can, schedule a stay at Gibbs Farm at least a few days into your safari. The rooms are clean and large and well lit, the shower has lots of hot water, the food is incredible and it is an altogether relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimSL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Everything was superb. Food, rooms, atmosphere, service, fresh air, nature. Everything.

Go! And stay there for more than just an overnight during safari. You will get energy from the time you step over the threshold.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agpOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

A lovely first stop on our recent tour of Tanzania. We were immediatly made to feel incredibly welcome; and the accomodation, food and service were all excellent. It was a great base for our magnificant safari tours of Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank JamesGoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Gibb's Farm, but had one or two reservations.
Food
There is no menu for the evening meal, one just eats what is being served. I don't really have a problem with this but the menu is designed for adults and not for children. Meal times became fraught because the children often found the food too fancy or 'grown-up'. Now I don't feed my children chicken nuggets and pizza etc and I wouldn't expect the hotel too, but some simpler more child friendly items would have been appreciated. The children were often left the table hungry or we gave them our portions of whatever they would eat.
Accomodation
We felt we had been banished to Kullander House. It is away from the main buildings and very much in the working farm part of the estate. Rests in the afternoon were disturbed by tractors racing up and down the small hill to the yard. We had to negotiate our way through a lot of droppings to get to Kullander House (interesting in the dark) and felt that if the hotel want to keep guests in Kullander House they should clean the path - it wasn't cleaned the 4 day we were there and of course the children all stepped in stuff.

Otherwise the hotel is lovely and an oasis of charm and calm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ger0nimo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
5.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
1.6 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,201 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 51 in Karatu
185 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibb's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibb's Farm

Address: Rift Valley | P.O. Box 280, Karatu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $601 - $1,870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gibb's Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury lodge in Northern Tanzania, Gibb’s Farm offers a welcome respite for the East Africa safari traveller. Immerse yourself in a sanctuary for the senses, where the farm’s gentle rhythms impart a sense of peace and well-being. Experience a sense of place as you recline on your verandah, walk in the Ngorongoro Forest or explore the back roads of Karatu. Replenish with inspired organic cuisine, fresh from the farm’s gardens, bakery and dairy. Surround yourself with the rich traditions of East African life, exclusive to Gibb’s Farm, and share an eternal sense of history and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gibb's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibb`s Farm Hotel Karatu
Gibb's Farm Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing