We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty near the crater”
Review of Kitela Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kitela Lodge
Ranked #2 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beauty near the crater”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Gorgeous property! The staff, in particular, Josiah, were very friendly and warm. The rooms are very large, comfortable. The bathroom is huge and luxurious. You can walk on your own through the gardens or have a guide walk with you to explain what all the plants are. Breakfast is buffet with plenty of options. The main dinner meal is served family style and there is plenty of each item. Everything was delicious. Beer and wine are included. The happy hour was timed right for us to enjoy snacks and a few cocktails overlooking the beautiful grounds and pool. We are so glad to have had the chance to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    26
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
83
88
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingaroy, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Once you drive through the gates you are in paradise. The assortment of different trees, flowers, fruits, vegies and of course coffee hits all your senses at once. The staff couldn't have been more helpful at any given time. We didn't get to use the pool but the large playing field was inviting. The view from our room was breathtaking. The suite itself is massive.Separate room for your suitcases, claw-foot bath to totally relax in and very spacious shower. I got lost in the king size bed. Been able to "create" your own lunch was fantastic as you knew exactly what you were going to eat. You were spoiled for choice at Breakfast and even though Dinner was set you still had plenty to eat. Pre-dinner drinks and nibblies was a great way to relax after a busy day safariing. This is THE place to chill out and do absolutely nothing!!

Room Tip: All the cabins have a view of the gardens and mountains so any would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms with great views and amazing service. We are disappointed by the happy hour which was supposed to include complimentary beverages. The sunset and affordable wine list made up for it tho - this is a worthy upgrade if it's part of your package

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Grounds
Gorgeous grounds are a highlight of this newer and modern property. Swimming pool was large and refreshing and offered a great view. There is an onsite field which is perfect for kicking around the soccer balls they keep onsite. One of the property dogs joined us for our soccer drills, which was entertaining.

Main lodge/gardens and farm
Lots of places to relax, enjoy a beverage or stroll the gardens and onsite farm. The onsite shop and spa weren't more than a small offering. Restaurant area was nice. We enjoyed some meals outside. The food was generous in portions, grown onsite, with a good variety. Vegetarian choices were offered, although not terribly creative in options. Staff was very accommodating and pleasant. The breakfast buffet was good. You could get a box lunch. When we were there you had to queue to get your lunch once the one "chef" arrived, which could take a bit of patience as the line could get long.

Room
Modern with generous space. (We were in unit 6.) Big walk-in closet, that needed a bit more light. Large bathroom with a claw-foot tub. Enormous and comfy bed. Nice patio. Room was big enough for us both to do yoga.

Takeaway
An ideal spot for a few days.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnFran20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

As part of our OAT safari, we were to stay elsewhere but because of water problems, we were housed here for two nights. It was wonderful! There are gardens filled with organic vegetables, their own coffee plantation, flowers everywhere, a pool, cold but refreshing. The rooms were huge and my bed was very big. The bathroom had a huge shower and clawfoot tub. The staff was very helpful, especially Joseph. The food was outstanding and there was a great bar. Highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavonnemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Kitela Lodge is OUTSTANDING!! Stayed here because the lodges in the crater were full - Thank goodness they were and we were able to experience the beautiful ( but too short!!) stay here. For anyone who is happy to drive the short distance out of Ngorongoro to Karatu, ('real' Tanzania) it is so worth it!!
Joseph and all the staff were just lovely, so helpful. Everything about this place is just wonderful. The food, the rooms, the views and of course, the coffee!! Lunch packs - a dream to be able to choose. Used the laundry service - excellent - and had a massage!! Three generations in our group and we all want to come back and experience the whole stay again. Don't forget to buy their coffee. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: All enormous, with perfect views. We had three, all the same, so no problem choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We really enjoyed this lodge. Very well kept, beautiful rooms and excellent service. We had an all inclusive package, so our wine and food was all included. This lodge had an organic farm and uses their own fruits and vegetables. Quite impressed.

Room Tip: We didn't have kids and didn't check if they had a fitness center. Our daughters are adults...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monapatel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
0.5 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 50 in Karatu
649 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
5.3 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
316 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,164 reviews
2.7 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 50 in Karatu
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitela Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitela Lodge

Property: Kitela Lodge
Address: Tloma Road, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kitela Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KaratuNestle in the foothills of the famous Ngorongoro Highlands. Framed by majestic mountain scenery, this luxury lodge is set amounts beautiful gardens and working coffee farm. 20 rooms all with views over the farm plantation and dramatic back drop of the Ngorongoro Crater forests.Guest can combine luxurious country living with activities offered by Ngorongoro Conservation Area or simply relaxing by the pool and enjoying the hospitality of our friendly and welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kitela Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing