We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“House wine=Boxed wine @ $500 per night!”
Review of Kitela Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kitela Lodge
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“House wine=Boxed wine @ $500 per night!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We noted that our package included meals and drinks (including wine) but were very disappointed when the wine included with our package was boxed. (Boxed wine???) “Premium wines” (wine in a bottle) were an additional cost.

Staff was friendly but seemed very inexperienced. Doesn't seem like they went through any formal training. Upon arrival, we had the choice of champagne or a mimosa. We chose the mimosa. Upon combining, there was a chemical reaction (too citrusy) which caused the drinks to fizz-up all over the lobby. The dinner service was awkward as it seemed servers didn't know what to say or when to approach/back-away.

The female bellhop made both my wife and I uncomfortable as we didn't want her to carry one of our bags. One of our bags contained $/passports/etc. and we didn't want her to carry this specific bag. We basically engaged in a tug-of-war, which we eventually let her win.

It is also important to note that we had to ask our sheets to be removed and cleaned as there was hair and small bugs in the sheets upon our arrival. The fluorescent lighting in the dining room was awful!

We enjoyed the fireplace which helped keep our room warm when lit, however once the fire went out, rooms were very, very cold. Grounds were very beautiful. Enjoyed the coffee and tea station. Appreciated the computers for guests in the lounge area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEBSTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    26
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
69
81
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This lodge was the fourth place we stayed during our safari to Kenya and Tanzania, and it was by far the best. The individual chalets are charming and spacious; the staff, especially the manager Joseph, is eager to please. I couldn't believe the bounty in the box lunches they packed for us. Since the place is still less than a year old, apparently not many people know about it. We saw only a handful of other guests. Unlike two of the other places we stayed, this property is completely walled with a security gate so we felt completely safe to walk the lavishly landscaped grounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Wonderful place. We stayed in a little house (as did all of our friends). It had an enormous bed, a claw toot tub, walk-in shower, deck with view, thatched roof and more. The only negative was that the food was good, but not great (but the wine was free). The public areas of the lodge were spectacular, with great views, lovely roaring fireplaces (great place to sip the free wine) and wifi (which didn't work in the rooms, only in public areas...which was okay with me!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleCrazyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

When we drove up we could tell this was someplace special. As noted in other reviews.....coffee plantation, luxurious, excellent staff.

We were surprised at the size of the rooms, walk on closet area, old style claw tub, views outside the individual villas, size of the pool.

We liked the food

Sorry we only stayed there one night...everyone in our group wanted more time there

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TshoesNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place is beautiful. Recently opened, very well fitted out and set within its own coffee plantation so bean to cup travels no more than a few metres. Every need catered for by friendly but discrete staff. Would highly recommend this place. Has bar area, swimming pool, football area, massages and garden walks. Also has wifi. A luxurious oasis for a safari base.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

When we pulled up at this resort we were surprised by how luxurious it looked and thought this would be one of the highlights of our stay in Africa. Unfortunately it didn't quite make it for us. The rooms and surrounds were sensational but we found the food disappointing, we thought the dinner at least would be a-la-carte for a resort of this calibre but it was a fairly average buffet and not conducive to sitting around chatting with friends as it was quite cold and uninviting.

Whilst the rooms were lovely there were many things we would have expected such as body lotion, shower caps, bathrobes, insect repellent, tea and coffee.

We also found the staff a little untrained. Having said that, we did find out that the resort has only been operating for 6 months so would hope in time these minor things will be attended to and this will become the fantastic resort that it trying to be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worktotravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Came with a Swedish group in February 2013, just few days ago. Everyone in the group was impressed over the excellent place and friendly and serviceminded staff.
Food was among the best during our two weeks visit in Tanzania and Kenya,
Enjoyed time at the nice pool with nice view.
We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms I could see where of high standard, no a/c but rooms were not hot so we didn´t miss any a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernharddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
11.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
5.3 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
2.7 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 48 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitela Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitela Lodge

Property: Kitela Lodge
Address: Tloma Road, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kitela Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KaratuNestle in the foothills of the famous Ngorongoro Highlands. Framed by majestic mountain scenery, this luxury lodge is set amounts beautiful gardens and working coffee farm. 20 rooms all with views over the farm plantation and dramatic back drop of the Ngorongoro Crater forests.Guest can combine luxurious country living with activities offered by Ngorongoro Conservation Area or simply relaxing by the pool and enjoying the hospitality of our friendly and welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kitela Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing