We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if not not best stay in Karatu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great if not not best stay in Karatu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were on Safari and stayed in several lodges during our now week, this one was by far the best, not even it had a swimming pool but also nice rooms, restaurant and reception area while the others were very simple and just to sleep. If anybody has to stay over in Karatu then this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plantgreenlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    81
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
96
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for four nights, which I think was an oddity. Most people were with tour groups and only stayed one or two nights. I am so happy we stayed longer. The staff was so wonderful. The receptionist, waiters, bartenders, and even the chef/owner would talk to us everyday and knew us by name. They really made us feel welcome and made all the difference between a very good stay and an excellent stay.
The food was wonderful. It is a set menu, but with soup, appetizer, main meal, salad, and then dessert, there is definitely something anyone would enjoy. The soup may very well be the best soup I have ever had. The last two days, the chef even made us a special menu and served us traditional food from their culture, which was quite an experience and delicious.
The excursions were great. Country Lodge set up a tour guide for us that we used the whole time we were there. He was very knowledgable and friendly. He took us to Ngorongoro Crater and to Lake Manyara and could answer any question that we could think of. We also went to the coffee plantation that is in the village behind Country Lodge. We had to walk through the village with a 'tour guide' which was actually one of the workers at Country Lodge. Which was even better because he knew the area better than anyone else would. The village was pretty destitute, but it was interesting to see how they people lived. The people in the village were incredibly friendly. Never once did I feel unsafe. The children in the village would run after us and greet us and would give us high fives before running off to play again. Africans have to be the friendliest people I have ever come encounter with.
The room was very nice. It was comfortable and clean. Our water was cold, but apparently all we had to do was tell the staff and they could fix it, but we forgot they mentioned that on the first day until the last day we were there.
Electricity usually went out a few hours out of the day, but all that meant was that we couldn't have a pina colada because it needed the blender. Everything was perfect with our stay.
We even ran into trouble when our bank back home put a hold on our card because they thought the charge was a fraud. Management helped us take care of it and let us use their phone to call our bank to release the hold.
This place is great and I would definitely go back, if only for the staff and great food!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skruege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I live in Tanzania and have been through Karatu many times for both, visits to the parks and work. Karatu was always a dusty shanty type place that I just drove through and glad to get past

This time it was different, we wanted to visit both Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro Crater we decided that we would book in at the Country Lodge which we found on Google and which was about in the middle of both the places we wanted to visit.

With a lot of reservation in my mind about what sort of place this was going to be and that there was no reservation fee.. We could look for another place if this was really bad...right?? We arrived at the lodge...

From the time we arrived it was one surprise after another...

The place is set in a really nice surrounding, the rooms are in bungalows (mostly 2 rooms to a bungalow), all around, but not to close, a very clean swimming pool. Rooms are big and clean as with the bathrooms that also are really big and made of Tanga stone. Very nice vegetation and a manicured lawn all around.

Food is good and staff are excellent.

Prices we got were full board and very reasonable for what we got. I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John777077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at this Lodge for three nights during our trip to Ngorongoro Crater and Lake Manyara and it was an absolute pleasure. The rooms are big and clean and beautifully decorated. Staff is well trained, friendly and efficient. The food was always excellent with a lot of local produce and every little request was followed. We could have stayed on and enjoyed the peace and tranquility for a few more days. We highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

After many hours on dusty roads it was refreshing to arrive at Country Lodge....we were given hot towels upon our arrival to freshen up and the dust was swept off of our backpacks. The gardens are beautiful, the rooms very comfortable, the food delicious (served family style) and the staff very friendly. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed this lodge right after it opened. We were the only guests and had a blast. The food was amazing. We were treated royally. Each night our guide would join us for dinner and teach us some swahilie words for the animals or food. THis was such an amazing trip. We went in Aug of 2010.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyawaygirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent here one night on our Tanzania highlight tour. Being mainly in tented camps, this hotel with nice, beautiful and very clean houses was a welcome difference. Beautiful gardens, swimmingpool and furthermore all facilities you need. Good food for dinner, local cuisine. Breakfast was a bit thin in choise and availability, but that did not matter. Rooms are complete, nice shower, good beds.
You could spent here a few days as well to relax or as a base camp for safaries,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
0.0 mi away
Crater Rim View
Crater Rim View
#2 of 2 in Karatu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#4 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
12.8 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
13.2 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Property: Country Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Road, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bit of country in Karatu! Country Lodge offers the safari traveller a modest accommodation, great food and wonderful service. Sister lodge to Bougainvillea Safari Lodge, Reggie's famous hospitality is waiting for you here along with spacious rooms complete with unique stone showers, quiet location and signature lush, beautiful gardens. Welcome to the new and lovely Country Lodge in Karatu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing