We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures lie”
Review of Endoro Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Endoro Lodge
Ranked #9 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Greifswald, Hansestadt
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pictures lie”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were in Endoro Lodge for 2 nights in march. The Pictures in the Internet show nice rooms- a little bit of luxury. But we were very disappointed! Dirty and run down rooms, withered flowers for welcome, we had to ask for mosquito protection for the bed, the dinner was bad! Only the breakfast and the lunch packages were good and the staff in the restaurant were very kindly! The garden was also beautiful! We can't recommend that lodge!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heikemaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    76
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
119
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenai, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

After reading the other reviews and the comments of other guests while we were there, I think the lodge must have two types of rooms. Ours was very basic--almost like a hostel. It seemed like it would be something for the help to stay in, while the rest of the lodge was very beautiful. The room's only redeeming feature was the fact we heard a bush baby right outside our window. The food and service, however, were OK. Of all our safari nights, we liked this lodge the least. Oh--and you need good legs and breath as everything is steep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollyshyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Breathtaking, beautiful place which I stayed for two nights whilst on safari. Spotless clean, wonderful, friendly & helpful staff. Excellent restaurant & food was fantastic! Peaceful and ideal for adults.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineg1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at Endoro Lodge for 2 nights in Feburary while visiting the Crater and Tarangire. Service was fast, rooms were very nice, good views of beautiful gardens and grounds. This was a great place to stay for the price, I would definately stay here again.

Food was good(Buffet style), you pay for drinks and your water, but breakfast and a packed lunch is included. Laundry service was easy and less expensive then other places. They treat your drivers well here, with a nice place for them to stay.

The fitness options were limited to a short hike to a waterfall, the prices was $25 per person, but we chose not to go on the hike.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomallenrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in January 2013, whilst visiting Ngorongoro Crater. Of the 4 properties we stayed at this was by far and away a let down. All the other places were a delight but this was a disappointment.

The lodge is quite a long way off the main road and a lengthy journey from the crater. I think there are much better properties within the crater (or if you can't afford them then around Karatu and still nearer).

The lodge is on a hillside and each room is up a steep path so not suitable for the physically challenged or disabled.

Our lodge was large and on first impression well appointed with a comfortable bed and bathroom with separate shower, toilet, double sinks and corner bath. The room had french doors leading to a patio overlooking the very green and lush valley. However, if you left doors or windows open you were quickly visited by insects.

Further inspection led to the discovery that the lodge was NOT clean. The water glasses and bottle were filthy and were not any cleaner on the second day after our cleaner had visited. The bath was full of dust and there were dead insects on the floor, windows and stuck to the curtains. Again these remained on day two AFTER the cleaner had visited. The duvet on the bed had no cover and only an under-sized sheet to protect you from contact with the germs of every other incumbent of the bed!

Toiletries in the bathroom were generous however and there was a hairdryer (definitely not a given in most tented camps). There was a fireplace that could be lit for $3 if you felt the cold at night. They also offered laundry service but my shirt was returned with a stain and not pressed as had been promised for $2.

As in every other camp Maasai tribesmen offered protection once night fell as you travelled between your lodge and public rooms.

On our first night we discovered (the next morning) that they had denied a room to our driver (pre-paid with our package) and so he had to negotiate a room in the village, paying from his own money,, going without a meal and a shower. Totally unacceptable.

The bar and restaurant were in a separate building with an outside patio overlooking the valley. Whilst eating here we noticed a number of insects and spiders both alive and dead, which was rather off putting.

The beer was reasonably priced and there was an extensive wine list with reasonably priced choices. However, on check out we found we had been charged $53 for our $16 bottle and had to argue to get this resolved.

Food was buffet style and the choice for dinner was fine. Wouldn't say it was the best food of the trip but it was perfectly adequate.

However, on one morning we arrived for breakfast at 6.30am (advertised start time was 6am) to find other guest waiting and no food laid out. We and others requested breakfast but nothing was forthcoming. Waiting staff wandered around with no sense of urgency bringing out random breakfast elements as they fancied (e.g. butter but no bread!). They pretended a lack of English when complaints were received. The hotel manager wandered in and out without making any effort to resolve matters or chvvy service along. In the end we had to leave for our safari at 7am with no sign of breakfast and no apology (an houyr after it should have started). When we later complained to the manager she said that "somebody probably overslept" ad that was that! When we challnged for a refund of the breakfast we had already paid for she offered a $6 refund! We argued this up to $16 but I still think she profited on our non delivered breakfast.

This place isn't clean and service is poor. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I think your experience will depend on the room assigned. Ours was fabulous. Large with nice amenities. Had indoor and outdoor showers. Large bed with plenty of room for luggage to spread out.

Food in lodge good, not great. We arrived late and left early, so could not fully appreciate the grounds which, in the dimness of dusk, looked very nice. Was a bumpy road to get here, but worth the bouncing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great lodge to spend a night (or two) when on safari! It is beautiful, rooms are enormous with a great view. Staff and atmoshere is relaxed. Some other lodges are 'over the top'. Everything is a bit more normal here. I really enjoy that! Food is good as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeri_van_Ormondt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
14.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,167 reviews
5.7 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
2.5 mi away
Olea Africana Lodge
Olea Africana Lodge
#12 of 50 in Karatu
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,566 reviews
3.3 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 50 in Karatu
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 50 in Karatu
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Endoro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Endoro Lodge

Property: Endoro Lodge
Address: Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Endoro Hotel Karatu
Endoro Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing