We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot in the Ngorongo Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Endoro Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Endoro Lodge
Ranked #9 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot in the Ngorongo Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This was a good place to spend a couple of nights at the end of a seven day safari. The highlight was the walk up to the elephant caves and waterfall with Charles, a most intelligent nature guide. He speaks perfect English and describes the birds and flora with great wisdom. I highly recommend a walk with Charles.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jclarkebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    72
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
54
113
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We booked our rooms 2 months before going to the Lodge. Once there we were downgraded to the worst room because they had a big group coming. No mosquito net and we were eaten by mosquitos all night. We requested mosquito nets 4 times. The management were not helpfull at all.
They advertise no mosquitos due to altitude but yes there are lots of mosquitos and the area is full of malaria. Back home I was taken to hospital with malaria. I am so angry, not even a refund! They just ignored my requests completely! I do not recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Don't go there at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ale088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

It was a beautiful place, with prettily-manicured grounds and plenty of different plants to look at. Here, it felt a bit less uppity compared to the The Manor at Ngorongoro.

The room itself was as charmingly rustic as the rest of the grounds. A four-poster bed complete with mosquito net dominated the hardwood floor of the spacious room. And there was a roomy bathtub with a window overlooking a valley. There was also an outdoor shower but it was rather cold and we weren’t totally sure about our privacy – there was the occasional farmer walking along a path on the other side of the valley. We weren’t sure whether showering outside would make us very conspicuous!

What we really liked were the little touches by the staff. As you may have seen from the first picture of the bed, the room was decorated with flowers every day. They changed the arrangement each day and even put flowers on the bathmat!

Donna kindly arranged a massage for us, compliments of Maasai Wanderings. Too bad the room wasn’t heated and it was far too cold to be enjoyable. What a pity as a simple heater in the room or even electric blanket to lie on would be great.

They also arranged for a special candlelight dinner at our patio. At first Betty, the lovely hotel manager, wanted to make us something familiar (we're Asian). She suggested a menu of Vegetable Soup followed by Manchurian Fried Rice with Oriental Vegetables. Thankfully, I managed to persuade her that we really much prefer trying the local cuisine. Instead of MFR with Oriental Veg, we had an amazingly tasty beef stew with some kind of local spinach, accompanied by rice and plantains. The beef was super flavourful – tasting deeply and meatily like how beef should – though slightly tough as all local beef tended to be. Stewing it was the way to go, and we enjoyed it together with the plantain, which looked a lot like sausage but tasted like a cross between tapioca and potato. Excellent stuff.

Aside from Betty, service was only decent. Staff were occasionally slightly sullen and not quick to help with things like letting us start dinner first even though the buffet dishes were all ready. (My husband was sick and wanted to eat quickly and go back to bed.) Otherwise, things were generally excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wswong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

This lodge certainly has the wow factor albeita distance away from the crater and via a dirt track road but it is a trip to a charming place in an amazing setting. Loved the big rooms which were beautifully furnished with amazing views, open fire and a corner jacuzzi bath overlooking the valley. I also liked the initial greeting and introduction by the customer relations manager. Also security was very good within the hotel and we were escorted by friendly Masai to and from our rooms every night. The food was great and the selection of wines. I agree with some of the reviewers saying that it was not cheap esp not the wine but given where we were I thought it was amazing....

Room Tip: any of the rooms we saw overlooked the beautiful valley and had outdoor terraces but not sure whethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wasserloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We payed in avanced for two suite rooms and where given the poorest room at the very end of the lodge. Had to sleep in the same room with husband and father in law to later discover that the manager of the hotel had all suites reserved for a excursion arriving the following day.On top of this,we asked for a mosquitoes nets around three times,nobody gave us any notice and later came up with the excuse there where no mosquitoes in the area-result:we where all eaten by mosquitoes in a country that faces great rates of malaria.Woke up around 1am as we both couldn't sleep to find out there was no reception service and nobody could response for us.We ended up waiting 1 hour for the lodge manager to appear,a completely incompetent women who didn't took any responsibility of the uncomfort she made us face-we had to go back to that same bed to be more bitten by mosquitoes ,while she probably slept in great conditions,none of us catch any sleep all night long

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pipi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We happened to stay at Endoro on Valentine's day and were extremely pleasantly surprised to find a card from the hotel manager wishing us a Happy V-day, as well as petals on the bed and in the bathtub shaped as hearts. Each hotel "room" is more like its own mini-villa with a patio that overlooks trees, birds and vineyards. Not only is the shower inside the room huge but there's also a fantastic outdoor shower (individual one for each room) that allows you to shower while watching the stars and enjoying the outdoors in complete privacy, as it is very efficiently enclosed between trees. The bed is a canopy bed with netting so that you can close that and open the doors to the sounds of Africa at night.

Perhaps the best part of the experience though was that upon our arrival we were greeted with juice drinks and by the Maasai Warriors that work there. They will not let you carry your own bags and at night they are security. They walk guests from their rooms to the restaurant/bar area with a flashlight.

Amazing experience overall! Could not believe our eyes when we got there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aisp264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Unfortunately we only spent one wonderful night at Endoro Lodge- if we could have, we would have loved to stay longer. Our room was stunningly beautiful with a huge outdoor balcony/patio with an outdoor shower overlooking the lush forests of the Ngorongoro Crater. Our room was furnished with a fireplace, huge bath, lounge chairs, desk, and huge canopy bed in our room. We stayed there with our safari company in place of our previous arrangements with Rhino Lodge. Honestly, at first I was worried about the distance from the crater and where exactly this long backwoods road was taking us. But after being greeted with fresh squeezed juice & warm, steamy face towels by a few lovely Maasai, we quickly decided it was worth the drive.
The grounds are a lush as it gets, full of flowers, vines and trees laced with pretty stone paths. The restaurant is beauiful with two story windows facing the forests and a gorgeous bar area with board games, record player, fur rugs, and a fireplace.
We didn't have too much interaction with the staff, but the food was good and when we did, we had smiles from everyone. Endoro Lodge was an all around pleasant experience and I can't honestly say we would be lucky to spend more time in the paradise they have created.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
11.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
3.3 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#6 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Endoro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Endoro Lodge

Property: Endoro Lodge
Address: Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Endoro Hotel Karatu
Endoro Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing