We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best new addition to Karatu options in a long time!!!!”
Review of Endoro Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Endoro Lodge
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Prince Albert, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best new addition to Karatu options in a long time!!!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Endoro Lodge is perched on a mountainside looking out over the ancient Ngorongoro forests.

Tanzanian owned, managed and run this new Lodge breaks the mould and has a distinctive look and feel that competes with the best on offer.

The Chalets are beautifully conceived and appointed, the meals are great and the service impeccable.

We were only able to stay one night, but will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All the Chalets are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumsare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    74
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
54
116
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Endoro has the capacity to be a great place but the unprofessional management misses the mark time and time again. The staff tries hard but are not trained properly to provide good customer service. The grounds are lovely but reception is dark and depressing. They were unable to accommodate our guide as is custom and he had to sleep in the car until the next day when a neighboring hotel put him up-the woman at reception was rude/sullen to him and was unable to contact her manager to remedy situation. The food served buffet style has just a few offerings, some okay and some quite unappealing They ran out of some items and it took a very long time to replenish. We were seated for dinner at a card table with metal chairs and a dirty white tablecloth. There was a leak in our room that was mopped and not repaired, until they switched our room. The sheets are cheap cotton, the blanket thin and old(we were cold!). All is made worse by extremely dim lighting in the rooms. The hotel is located about 6km down a dirt road from the main road - our stay was highlighted by walking to the main road and back and experiencing a little bit of a real African neighborhood. Hotel stay was otherwise disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGDNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

After a long drive from Trangire N.P. we came to this lodge in the dark. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Had a meal, but kids were actually too tired to eat. Staff had been very friendly and prepared them food that was not included in the buffet. Buffet was okay, but nothing special. On our last day the staff forgot to wake us at the required time (that had been filled in on a sheet the night before) that made us rush out of the hotel, just to be able to catch a flight in time. Very unfortunate, but also a lesson learned for us. Never rely on others if you have to get somewhere on time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desertfamily07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed here with our 2-year old, who loved the place, as did we. Great location overlooking the Ngorongoro Conservation Area (NCA - good view of dense forest), excellent rooms well-designed to provide privacy but also nice patio space, very friendly and helpful staff, and the food was pretty good. There are a few minor things to be worked out - we got a wake-up call in the morning that we didn't ask for! - but these minor niggles were outweighed by the willingness of the staff to respond to our requests. The walk to the nearby waterfall and elephant caves in the NCA was worth it - not spectacular but a very atmospheric walk through the dense bush, during which we saw some monkeys and a couple of buffalo right by the path, who were (luckily) sleeping. We had some great massages, too

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandedImmigrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

The lodge is located about 15 mins drive from the mainroad.

We enjoyed staying at Endoro very much! The chalet was very spacious. It had a fireplace, inside and outside shower, bathtub and toilet. A terrasse in front with a great view of the valley.

We had a 4-course-dinner every evening, which was excellent .Staff was very friendly.

Would absolutely recommend this lodge to everybody!
See more on www.endorolodge.com.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sogning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
14.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,151 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,550 reviews
5.7 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Olea Africana Lodge
Olea Africana Lodge
#12 of 48 in Karatu
55 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
0.6 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Endoro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Endoro Lodge

Property: Endoro Lodge
Address: Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Endoro Hotel Karatu
Endoro Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing