We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”
Review of Eileen's Trees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eileen's Trees Inn
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Spacious rooms with a little private terrace in front of the room.
Really impressive garden, with a pool and terrace, also very nice to sit outside and relax.
Amazing staff that really tries to make you feel at home.
The diner area is also very comfortable and enjoyable.
It was really nice to arrive here after a day of safari...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel S, Reservations Manager at Eileen's Trees Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write the review.We are glad you found everything so enjoyable and that our staff made you feel so welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 235 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

It definitely exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed our time spent at the lodge taking in the warm service, delicious meals, and relaxing atmosphere. Our pleasant stay along with the incredible safari trip we had with our guide Allen makes me want to recommend Eileen’s to anyone seeking an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asia1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel S, Reservations Manager at Eileen's Trees Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed everything about your visit and thank you for recommending us so highly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Eileen's tree is a cosy place, with delicious organic food prepared by a great cook, good service and friendly staff. We were warmly welcomed by the owner Allan, who was also our safari guide. Allan made our stay there unforgettable! He is very experienced and professional.
Eileen tree is situated in Karatu, which is very close to Ngorogoro Crater and other safari destinations. This made it the perfect starting point for our 2-day safari trip. Everything is very personalised and makes you feel home.
I would recommend it to everyone who is looking for personalised service, cosy atmosphere, delicious food and good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 550Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in Eileen's Tree Inn for three nights and used it as a base for going on Safari with our guide Allan (who is also the owner of Eileen's).

Eileen's is located in Karatu, just a short drive to the entrance to the Ngorogoro Crater, which made it a perfect location for exploring the are and going for a short Safari trip of two days. Even though it is in a city you wouldn't be able to tell as the whole property is surrounded by nicely landscaped vegetation.

But it is the personnel in Eileen's that really set it apart. All of the staff are very friendly and well trained. After Safari we were always greeted at the car with wet towels and complimentary fruit juices. During dinner our dietary needs were always met and the chef always came around to enquire if all is well. Our wish to have Nyama Choma (local dish of grilled goat with garlic and ginger) was also accommodated effortlessly.

The cherry of the whole experience however is to take a Safari tour with the owner, Allan. It is a one in a lifetime experience. The man is extremely knowledgeable about both the flora and fauna of East Africa. Additionally, he provided us with great cultural insight in regards to the Masai. We only spend 2 days on Safari, but Allen managed to show us all the main animals up close (including having lunch with two lion brothers who were resting 2 metres from our Safari vehicle.)
Allan is also very flexible and will try to accommodate any wishes you might have. He is a very honest person and genuinely work hard to makes sure you have a great experience both on Safari and in his lodge. He was even kind enough to offer us breakfast at his home with his family in Arusha before our early shuttle bus departed from Arusha. At breakfast we met his daughter Eileen who the Inn is named after. A very lovely family whom we look forward to seeing again in the future.

We couldn't be happier with our experience in Eileen's tree and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a top experience without the ridiculous price tag of some other services.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_and_Anton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The people, food, and accomodation here are all wonderful. Everything is tastefully done from the table settings to the landscaped grounds to the room decor. The chef prepares delightful dishes every meal (does he ever sleep?!) and you almost look forward to being able to enter the dining hall and taste his latest creations. The location is very near to the crater which makes it a convenient base. The staff is very cheerful and kind. The room and board rates are an excellent value. We will definitely like to stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammy321321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. We were very glad that we had made the right choice. This was the first time we went to Tanzania and we had done quite a bit of research about travelling in this country before we started booking hotels and tours etc. We found out that it was quite difficult to book everything just through the Internet. We were luckily to find Eileen's which did not only provide lodging but the owner, Allen Mnyenye, also owns a safaris tours company and he himself is a seasoned tour guide with over 23 years experience.

During our stay at Eileen's, we used it as a base for our safaris tours to the surrounding national parks such as Tarangire National Park, Lake Manyara National Park, Ngorongoro Crater and even the southern part of the Serengeti National Park. We had 4 consecutive day tour for safaris without changing lodges which was definitely a plus that we just did not like to do all those packing and unpacking our luggage after a full day safaris. So the location of Eileen's was perfect for our purpose. Eileen's was located in Karatu on a highland as compared with Arusha, so it was nice and cool after sunset even at summer time.

The setting of this lodge was very nice with lots of trees, shrubs and gardens among the bungalows. It even had a swimming pool and many other fun activities for kids. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. It certainly provided a relaxing and comfortable environment for their guests.

The restaurant was spacious and provide marvelous breakfasts and meals. Even their picnic lunch boxes for day tours were delicious and healthy. They had even made a big birthday cake and performed a very special native dance and song at the end of dinner on my wife's birthday. Many thanks to their super Chef, Godbless, and staff. The staff here were all well trained and very friendly.

As a whole, it was very good value for money. Our stay at Eileen's together with our safaris tours had been very pleasant and it was a marvelous experience much better than we expected.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel S, Reservations manager at Eileen's Trees Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for having taken the time for your review. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us ,your room, our views and the location of the hotel. Eileen`s Trees Inn staff truly care about all of our visitors, we are are here for you at any time. We are looking forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My son and I spend 2 nights in january 2014 in Ellens Trees In. It is a' very excellent place to stay. Clean nice rooms with good beds and toilett with hot water and very clean. Very nice surroundings with trees, pool and a' very nice restaurant and bar. The staff is very freindly, effektive and good english speeking. The cooks make very good breakfast and a' very good bufffet to evening.
My best regards to you and our safari and Kilimanjaro compagni Peter Tours from Moshi. Excellent tour operator and we were very sattisfeid .

Jon Martin, Denmark

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
0 mi away
Crater Rim View
Crater Rim View
#2 of 3 in Karatu
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Octagon Lodge
Octagon Lodge
#13 of 51 in Karatu
108 reviews
18.4 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
287 reviews
16.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,227 reviews
13.7 mi away
Twiga Campsite and Lodge
Twiga Campsite and Lodge
#43 of 190 in Arusha
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eileen's Trees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eileen's Trees Inn

Address: Mbulu Road, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $158 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eileen's Trees Inn is a small owner-operated lodge on the northern Tanzanian safari circuit, located just on the edge of Karatu town. Simplicity and service is the hallmark for our country lodge set in beautiful treed gardens surrounding the lovely pool. We serve farm fresh food along with Tanzanian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eileen's Trees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eileen's Trees Inn Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing