We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of Eileen's Trees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eileen's Trees Inn
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent two nights at Eileen's Trees Inn and loved it! It was pretty, comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The owner Allen, is a really nice guy and so helpful in every way. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome. I would recommend this inn to anyone staying in the Karatu area. We also ate several dinners there and enjoyed the variety of food. If we ever find ourselves in the area again we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 237 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a delightful place to stay in karatu. We just returned from a great tour with the owner, Allen Tanzania Safaris, and stayed there two nights. The lodging was pleasant with nice linens, towels and even flowers on the beds. The grounds are a little haven of flowers and trees with a nice pool. The staff was friendly and very capable. We enjoyed delcious meals there with homemade bread daily.

Room Tip: We only saw two rooms but they all were pleasant and we sat outside the room on the patio for evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cshortz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here one night while on safari. The room was large and clean and drinking water was provided. The bathroom was quite large with an enclosed shower with actual water pressure and plenty of hot water. (none of these qualities are a given for hotels under $100 in Tanzania). The grounds are lovely, with plenty of flowers. Dinner, served buffet style at a set time was plentiful and good. Service was friendly. We left early in the morning, and it's a pity we didn't get more time there to enjoy the place. I can't comment on the swimming pool, because we didn't use it and we didn't look at it until after dark.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDXRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I totally love this place! The food was delicious, and the rooms very clean. I was also impressed with how clean the pool was. The atmosphere was nice and green which I like very much. The staff were very friendly. I recommend this place to other travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

One of the best hotel in the region. But most important: a perfect service. The ideal place to stay and a wonderful contact to organise your trips in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro! It’s an hotel and a highly reliable a travel agency; just go for it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just finished leading two safari groups in December/January 2012-13. At the conclusion of each tour, we stayed at Eileen's after completing the safari circuit. The Lodge is a good alternative to several of the more expensive lodges in the same area. The service is good, the rooms comfortable, the food well prepared and varied and the pool wonderful. The hotel is off the main road so that you do not have the noice issue and the grounds are charming.

For those on a limited budget it is easy use Eileen's a jumping off point for visiting Ngorongoro Crater, Lake Manyara and Tarangire--all within short driving times of the lodge.

The manager, Godbless, does a wonderful job. Yes that is his name and there is a delightful story behind his name. I won't tell it here, you will need to ask him.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fossil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice clean rooms. The grounds are beautiful. Flowers and large shading canopies cover all of the property. The staff was wonderfully accommodating and polite. With its thatched roof and high ceilings, the main lodge room is a great place to relax, read and have a drink. Meals were excellent and options were good for the whole family. A great value with a great location relative to sooo many Nat'l Parks. Close walk to town. Kids loved the pool! No internet....which is a good or bad thing?!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
0 mi away
Crater Rim View
Crater Rim View
#2 of 3 in Karatu
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Octagon Lodge
Octagon Lodge
#13 of 51 in Karatu
108 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 51 in Karatu
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
287 reviews
16.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,227 reviews
18.4 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eileen's Trees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eileen's Trees Inn

Address: Mbulu Road, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $158 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eileen's Trees Inn is a small owner-operated lodge on the northern Tanzanian safari circuit, located just on the edge of Karatu town. Simplicity and service is the hallmark for our country lodge set in beautiful treed gardens surrounding the lovely pool. We serve farm fresh food along with Tanzanian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eileen's Trees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eileen's Trees Inn Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing