We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sweet deal!!!”
Review of Octagon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Octagon Lodge
Ranked #12 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Bautista, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A sweet deal!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is a beautiful, well run oasis with comfortable rooms, friendly and attentive staff, and the best Irish Pub in Karatu. The owners are on site and very involved with the day to day operation. The rooms are large, well appointed with comfortable beds and the bathrooms have large showers. We stayed three nights and were never without hot water or electricity. The price was half what we paid at the Crater Rim View Lodge where we sadly had to go for one night when the Octagon was already previously fully booked. It was one of the most inexpensive places in town and one of the best. the food was excellent, our group included a vegetarian and there was plenty of variety for all. One of the owners is Irish and we had to do a money transfer to Ireland to reserve the room; that was the only negative.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMookfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
23
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

the lodge is very nice and very well thought; it has a lovely garden with many birds and a nice terrace where you can enjoy a very good breakfast and a non conventional dinner; the rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is kind; the lodge is close to Maniara park, nice to see, and not only the part close to the gate, and close to Ngorongoro park; so it is strategically well positioned; the 2 managers/owners, a young couple, are very sweet and ready to assist you.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My two days stay at The Logde, has left a bit of my heart behind at the place and I will never forget the kindness and hospitality shown from the hotelmanagers. The beauty and tranquility of the place is forever branded in my memory. I have to come back some day soon and enjoy their fabulous coffee and chocolate truffles :o)

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeppepeppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Despite an unpromising approach this is an oasis with large rooms, good food, beautiful gardens. Didn't see any mosquitoes but nets on beds were not in good condition - that is only criticism though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshiretraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

After reserving rooms for the night 3 months in advance, and receiving confirmation from the owner himself but no details about paying a deposit, despite asking the question, we arrived after dark, tired and hungry after a long drive from Nairobi, children in tow. It proved impossible to find since there were no signs from the main road and despite asking many passers-by, most of whom had not heard of the place. Finally someone was able to direct us. On arrival at the gate we found the place completely closed with just a bleary-eyed askari (gate-keeper) to inform us the boss was away at his home in the nearby town. Despite telephoning him, we got no reply. In fact I have since emailed from the UK to ask what happened but still no reply. Hence my disparaging review here. We were lucky to find accommodation at the nearby Bougainvillea Lodge, which I can thoroughly recommend, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms and some of the best food in Kenya and Tanzania, and after 20 days on safari in ten or so different places I feel qualified to judge. I'm afraid we were badly let down, no explanation, no apology.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skweakx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stunning, in every way. The food was fabulous, the service impecable, the rooms dreamlike... An oasis of calm friendliness! We wer travelling as a group of 5, and our 2 nights here were the perfect way to finish our 2 week holiday in Tanzania. Many thanks to the owners for their friendly welcome and the barbecue on our final night - very special indeed, and a memory which will remain with us all. Asante sana!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Octagon Lodge with a group of friends and all of us absolutely loved it! It has a great location, halfway between Lake Manyara and the Ngorogoro National Parks, only about 30 mins drive from each. The rooms, are delightful, clean and characterful. And the service was wonderful. We were made to feel so welcome by staff and owners alike. Oh and the food....wow!
Octagon Lodge really is a little gem, I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torybirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
12.8 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tanzanice Farm
Tanzanice Farm
#20 of 48 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
6.5 mi away
Karatu Simba Lodge
Karatu Simba Lodge
#11 of 48 in Karatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#31 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jambo Rooms
Jambo Rooms
#1 of 7 in Karatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octagon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octagon Lodge

Property: Octagon Lodge
Address: Karatu, Tanzania, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Octagon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the breathtaking Ngorongoro Crater and majestic Lake Manyara. Octagon Lodge is a perfect base for safari travellers on holidays in Northern Tanzania. Day trips may be arranged to Ngorongoro Crater and Lake Manyara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Octagon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octagon Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing