We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of context”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tindiga Tented Camp
Ranked #30 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Reviewed October 22, 2013

the tenes are low standard, the barhrooms ar ereally poor, low level of maintenance. The owner who is does nearly everything there is a very nice guy, with warm welcoming and hospitality. There is no electricity except for 4 hours in the morning and 4 hours in the evening using a generator. Food was reasonable but very basic with actually no selection, poor cooking.

Room Tip: there is a special space whew you can light a fire outside and sit around it on cushions, very attar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elhanan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Tindiga Tented Camp at Lake Eyasi was quite different from all other camps in my trip, but I liked it a lot. The tents and facilities are very basic but they are clean and spacious enough. The food is actually quite good (which I had not expected, looking at the basic facilities). So there is nothing to complain over here.
I had beautiful moments walking to Lake Eyasi, where we arrived in time for sunset. In the early morning, as most people, I went hunting with the Hadzabe and visit the Eyasi Bushmen village afterwards. The hunting was awesome, though quite difficult! In the village it was interesting to get to know the way they live and their culture, the people were all very friendly. In any way it is worthwhile getting up that early for these activities.
When I came back at Tindiga they had prepared our breakfast for us, which was nice and fresh and a welcome break from the heat and dust in the village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was the most basic of the tented camps we stayed at but still, comfortable enough.
The bed was good and as simple as the bathroom was, we got hot running water evening & morning. Having a nice shower with the late afternoon sun coming through the bathroom "walls" (small wooden sticks) was awsome !
Quite isolated, there are not a lot of tents and we did enjoy the intimacy a lot.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the meals were quite good and relaxing by the fire to sip a drink under the stars was perfect.
The only bad point was their policy about our guide. He had to have his meals at the village as the food for them seems to be awful however, the manager still charged him full board which is totaly unfair and should be sanctionned by the TO.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DomBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a tented camp. From this Camp we went the next morning to visit the Hadzabe tribe. The food was exceptionally good. When dark you have to be escorted by their Massai staff from your tent to the dinning area and back because of fear of wild animals! There are nets in the tent to protect you from mosquito bites. (Bring your own repellant as well) very nice basic breakfast and good dinner (always chicken and potatoes but very good -also good soup). Shortly very good camp as a base for traveling in the area

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We too were visiting the Hadzabe and Datoga tribes (highly recommended) so we stayed for one night only. It is quite remote and in the center of an agricultural region. The tents were quite large and well accomidated with a very comfortable bed with nice linens as well as very good shower/bath. We enjoyed sitting on our porch and sharing stories of the day. The food was terrific for both dinner and breakfast and the staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binkybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here on 1st July 2012 for just a single night. We were visiting Hadzabe and Datoga tribes and this place provides a perfect location. This indeed is in a dry, dusty and remote area. And this is not a luxury accommodation.
Room:
The tents are basic, but the were clean, had beautiful pillow covers and comforters with animal prints, a flushing toilet and running water basin and shower. They had a wooden bed with net and chairs in front of the tent where we saw a beautiful full moon. They have electricity till 9 or 10 pm and they provide solar lamps for the night, which I thought was a cool and environment friendly idea.
Lodge:
They had amazing fireplace area (see pics) which we enjoyed in the night. Nice dining and lunch area.
Food :
The food was awesome. They asked us if we were vegetarians on arrival, we said yes, and they heard it wrong. They served dinner thinking we are non-vegetarians and when we said we are vegetarians, they quickly took it away and asked us to wait for 10 mins. The manager came by to apologize. Then they promptly served tasty veggie curry and rice :-) The breakfast next morning was good too. The veggie pasta for lunch was mind blowing..!!!

- The only bad thing was that water in basin & bathroom had a weird smell. I don't have complaints considering it is in a remote area. But, we had to go without bath that morning..!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Tents have seen better days. Is in very dry and remote area. Good place if you want to meet Datoga and Hadzabe people. Tents and other amenities are getting a little tired. Part of the Moivaro-Chain, of which this is definitely the least attractive place. Must improve on quality of the food. Chain wants every guest to have a four course dinner, but could better be focussing on quality of a two course diner. Kind and attentative staff, who try there best, but it is not more than what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diederik_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#25 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#32 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ikoma Tented Camp
Ikoma Tented Camp
#100 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Migunga Tented Camp
Migunga Tented Camp
#12 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tindiga Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tindiga Tented Camp

Address: Qaund_ded Village | Lake Eyasi, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $176 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Tindiga Tented Camp 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to present our Tindiga Tented Camp: a beautiful and smalltraditional camp, ideally situated only 1,5 kilometers from the stunning Lake Eyasi. This great landscape is home to the indigenous bushman, the Hadzabe, and the nomadic Datoga tribe. This is the only place in Africa where you can go hunting with the Hadzabe, the last known tribe that lives by hunting and gathering honey and fruit.Tindiga Tented Camp is situated on a hill overlooking the shrubland of the Eyasi Ecosystem, with Mount Masumbuku in the west and the hills of the Ngorongoro area in the north, offering a magnificent view. The camp has 10 spacious tents with en-suite bathroom, containing a shower and flush toilet.With only 10 tents the camp is small and offers a personalized service and quality. The camp blends in beautifully with the natural environment and is run with an eco-friendly approach; protecting and preserving the natural resources. The camps restaurant is built by Datoga women, reflecting their culture and lifestyle. Staying at Tindiga Tented Camp offers a unique and ultimate “Africa experience.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tindiga Tented Camp Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing