We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it.”
Review of Crater Rim View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crater Rim View
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Karatu
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We arrived at the hotel, quite late, after a long bus journey from Dar Es Salaam. We were very happy to find a big, clean room, with plenty of hot water and really comfortable beds. Best of all though, were the staff. They happily opened up the kitchen for us and made us a dinner, which we enjoyed in their outdoor bar. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was great; including offering us food at off hours, helping us arrange taxis, moving us to a better room free of charge, and just generally friendly and helpful.
Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARichards_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our safari through the Tarangire, Ngorongoro, and Serengeti areas. I am fully aware that there are limited lodging options in this area, but I would recommend looking elsewhere. The other places we stayed on our safari were all much better, including a tented camp in the Serengeti.

When we arrived, the first room we were given was less than desirable. The bathroom was in disrepair and there was a substantial puddle of water covering the bathroom floor. The walls featured several reddish-brown stains. I prefer not to think about how they got there, and why they were not cleaned. There were also holes in the wall, presumably where light fixtures used to be but were removed.

We asked hotel staff if we could change rooms. The second room was better in the sense that it was not flooded, nor were there any strange smears on the walls. Other than that, it was essentially the same. There were two twin size beds pushed together, with mosquito nets. The bathroom ceiling had a hole cut into it from which we could see up to the corrugated metal roof where birds nested. Fortunately, no birds decided to visit us while showering.

The food was mediocre. Breakfast consisted of eggs, toast, juice, and tea or coffee. The box lunch seemed to be leftovers from the previous night’s dinner including some cold chicken and greasy corn fritters.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank viajerosivda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Bautista, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This place was relatively expensive, $100 for a double room, twice the cost of the Octagon which was 10x better. When. Returned after a long dusty day on safari there was no hot water. We we told a bucket of hot water would be delivered so we could wash up but there were no wash clothes, only towels. We were also told that they would be shutting off the electricity over night so we were unable to charge our camera batteries and turn the lights on to go to the bathroom. A bucket of hot but dirty water arrived shortly after and we were told there would also be no hot water in the morning and asked when we would like to have another bucket of hot water delivered. We said 6:30am because we were leaving at 8:00. Another bucket of dirty hot water arrived at 7:30am, too late for us to be able to use before packing, eating breakfast and leaving. When we checked out we asked to have our rate reduced since it was expensive compared to the Ocatagon, a much nicer place and since we were without hot water bathing and electricity most of the time we were there and were told no. When we persisted, the clerk reluctantly agreed to a $5.00 per person discount insisting that we had in fact had hot water....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMookfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Stopped here during wedding tour of Tanzania. Hot, powerful, working shower -- a plus during this trip. Comfortable bed. Friendly helpful staff. Good food. Recomended.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Like many others I stayed here on a safari trip before going to Ngorogoro Crater. The staff was nice, had a gift shop and a little bar. I have to saw the food here was amazing! We had soup, roast beef and green beans and it was the best food on my month long trip. The rooms were basic and clean with good mosquito nets. It was fairly tranquil and the only noise was from the nearby mosque, it was a holiday apparently so the call to prayer was often. Overall I was very happy with my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShelleyO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed here after visiting Lake Manyara before going to Ngorongoro. We had been camping the previous few nights, so it was nice to get a shower and be able to wash our clothes. The room was clean. The mosquito net was without holes. Food in the restaurant was not as good as other budget/mid-range hotels. Overall, I feel like I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattle30sCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
0.0 mi away
Highview Hotel
Highview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Karatu
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Octagon Lodge
Octagon Lodge
#13 of 51 in Karatu
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tanzanice Farm
Tanzanice Farm
#15 of 51 in Karatu
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eileen's Trees Inn
Eileen's Trees Inn
#4 of 51 in Karatu
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Rim View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Rim View

Property: Crater Rim View
Address: Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crater Rim View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crater Rim View Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing