We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem up a hidden valley.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
Ranked #7 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We thought to try this place in order to explore the local area away from the crowds on the Crater. We were not disappointed.
The approach is via 5km or so of rough track from the tar of the main Manyara-Ngorongoro road but it is no problem as the turns are well signed.
This is a development in conjunction with support for a local school/orphanage nearby. There is a competent team in place headed by the two Dutch owners.
The accommodation is perched on the slopes of Ngorongoro Crater right against the NCA Fence and they offer guided and unguided walks in the surrounding farm and woodlands. Plenty of birds for those who like this sort of thing. I had a Little Sparrowhawk come and perch by my tent one afternoon. Lots of Shrikes, Waxbills and other stuff too.
Accommodation is in Tents on raised platforms in the usual manner. These very very well furnished and each of the 24 tents has a different view and space from its neighbours. There is a well stocked bar and service is prompt and friendly.
Dining is to a fixed menu with table service in a spacious Lapa adjoining the Bar/Platform area. Fires are lit for those cooler evenings and Hot Water bottles in the Bed at turndown. Maybe a few too many 'domestic' Cats around for my taste and seeing them squat in the empty fireplaces is not conducive to an easy dining experience.
However that apart we enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2009

Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge is among the best tented camps I have been to in Africa. The views from the lodge are breathtaking and the service is wonderful. Unique furnishings add special touches and the landscape is spectacular! It's truly a beautiful hidden gem. GREAT place to stop at while en route to Ngorongoro Crater. Definitely take a 4WD as it's a steep and muddy drive to get there, but definitely worth it.

The children's home is immaculate. The children are so loving and appreciative. Marise is doing some amazing things in Karatu!! Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJMSAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Great location on top of a hill, away from the main road and villages, right on the border of the Ngorongoro Conservation Area - the elephants walk around the camp at night - there is even a "bar" for them to drink at!

Absolutely perfect and welcoming hosts who invited me to dine with them at their table, since I was traveling alone. I enjoyed their company very much!

The tents are supremely comfortable (I loved the hot water bottle in bed at night!) with great views, the food is very good, and the service very genuine.

In the end, supporting the locals and the orphanage which is on top of the neighboring hill makes one feel even better about indulging in such a wonderful treat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I stayed at Rhotia Valley as part of an Exodus trip in Tanzania. I can say without a doubt that it was the favourite location of the trip for everyone in our group and far exceeded anyone's expectations.

The lodge is built on an outcrop of land above the Rhotia Valley so has great views. It's about 45 minutes from Lake Manyara National Park and about 30 minutes from the gate to the Ngorongoro Crater Conservation Area, so an ideal place to relax whilst on safari.

It consists of a large central building comprising a bar restaurant, terrace and the reception. Each of the bedrooms is a tent, but the poshest tent you have ever seen - built on wooden platforms and with a thatched roof, the tents have en suite shower rooms with plenty of hot running water and flushing toilets, and their own balcony which looks out over the stunning valley.

Our stay was pure heaven after a long day on safari - from the hot towels and fresh juice on arrival to the comfortable tents, hot water bottles (filled up and put in your bed while you are at dinner!) and excellent food and wine, this was luxury all the way.

The hosts really get the small touches right and make you feel like you are staying with family and friends. George and Marise who run the lodge and the neighbouring children's home are charming, generous people who welcome all their guests with open arms.

The best part about this place though is that you are helping to support the children's home. We walked over to visit and found 24 happy, healthy children who were well cared for and being provided with an education. Although these children are unfortunate to be separated from their families, they are very lucky that George and Marise are such caring, generous people and provide for them so well.

I would recommend Rhotia to anyone. It's a truly amazing place and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girl_friday_0382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

It is located on a hill in the countryside of Tanzania and has a stunning view. The tented rooms are amazingly pretty, as well as the restaurtant and bar area. The sevice we experienced was very personal and the food delicious.

But the thing we liked the best is really part of the area. It supports a childrens home (I believe all the profit goes there) and other projects in the small village. We did a walk with one off the staff through the farms of the local people and we learned so much. Very nice change between all the safari days!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariaB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed at this tented lodge for the first night of our safari that included Manyara NP, Serengeti NP, and the Ngorongoro Crater. The setting was beautiful (alongside the Ngorongoro Forest), along with the decor of the tents. We were greeted by the owners and family upon arrival and given juice after a long, parching day on safari in Manyara. The tent was amazing because it was equipped with a running water (hot) shower, sink, and toilet. The beds where very comfortable and we were provided with hot water bottles for the cooler temps at night. The three course dinner was delicious as well as the breakfast. It was also nice knowing that part of the profit from our stay was contributing to the Rhotia Valley orphanage which is linked to the lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lcaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iplatteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
1.5 mi away
Karatu Simba Lodge
Karatu Simba Lodge
#9 of 51 in Karatu
95 reviews
17.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,224 reviews
8.6 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
108 reviews
14.6 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
285 reviews
10.8 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#31 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Address: Rhotia Valley Road | 5 Km Off the Main Road Arusha - Serengeti, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $226 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away on the top of a hill in rural Africa and, at the same time, located in the very heart of the Northern Tanzania safari circuit Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge breathes the atmosphere of true Africa. The lodge is built with indigenous hardwood and in traditional African style. It is in complete harmony with its surroundings. Yet, its spacious set up, personal and friendly service and its finishing touches, such as cozy sofas around the fireplace and warm decorative details, provide a perfectly balanced luxury. With only fifteen individual tents, Rhotia Valley has an intimate charm. Each of the comfortable tented houses has its own veranda with splendid view. The bathrooms are provided with hot and cold running water, shower and flush toilet. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in our open dining area. Most of the vegetables and all the herbs are grown in our own garden. Daily we bake fresh bread in our Bakery. Moreover, we produce butter from the milk produced by our own cows. Facilities: - Swimming pool with panoramic view. - Wifi is available in the common dining area. - Conference Room fully equipped with beamer and flipchart. Rhotia Valley is more than a lodge. It is completed embedded in the community of Rhotia. Rhotia Valley consists of the Tented Lodge and, on the opposite hill, a CHILDREN'S HOME. Its aim is to give support to the people of the Rhotia area, all the staff and the children in the Home are from the local area. TWO HILLS, ONE GOAL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhotia Valley Tented Hotel Karatu
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing