We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, magical place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
Ranked #7 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived cold and wet after a day in the crater, a fire in the lodge, gracious hosts George and Lisa, Evelyn, and staff were very nice, George gave us a tour of the children's home and school. Nice to know our patronage helps this worthy cause. The setting is beautiful, tents are very nice, zippers alittle tricky. Food is supurb. When you go make sure you take tour of the village with Emanuel. He is a walking encyclopedia of flower and fauna. Just wished we could have stayed longer.
Blake and Claudia

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Blake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 246 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We immensely enjoyed our stay here!!
The view and the setting are amazing, the tents are simple yet comfortable. The hosts are lovely, and the work they do at the Children's home is incredibly inspirational.
We especially enjoyed the guided tour to the Children's home to see all the great projects at hand, and our kids really enjoyed playing with the Rhotia kids. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

is that by staying there you will be directly contributing to the local community. Marisa and Joris have done an incredible job in not only building the Lodge in 5 years, but also completely renovating the local Primary School, building a Pre-Primary school and an Orphanage, not to mention a Bakery and Dairy to provide jobs for local people, all of which is supported by the revenues from the Lodge itself. If you want a taste of authentic African village life this is the place for you. Nothing is too much trouble ( they coped admirably with my suitcase remaining in Frankfurt ) and you're made to feel part of a family from the first minute. You will depart with a smile on your face and regret in your heart that you're having to leave.

Room Tip: They're all superb !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge makes you realise that hospitality is not something you can 'bolt on' a place. The lodge breathes attention to detail. A beautiful dining hall, excellent food, courteous staff, romantic tents with fabulous beds - and a lit bed-side lamp when we first entered our tent. The fact that the owners aren't running it for the money alone - they support the orphanage next door - would almost seem a detail.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zwets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was the first tented camp we were put up at by TrueAfrica during our Safari. We didn't know what to expect as this was our first time in a tented camp on a safari. We were surprised by the amenities- regular toilets, 24hrs hot shower and solar lights + gorgeous views of the valley. The lodge is run by two doctors who were amazing. They have a bakery and a herb garden which is used for the meals. The meals were basic but delicious and the packed lunches were perfect for when you are on a hot safari.
The only thing to keep in mind when you stay here is that it is a little far from the parks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2lovetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Best lodge we saw. Movie set decor, genuine hospitality, high quality. The pre-warmed bed was the finishing touch. Let the word 'tented' nog suggest uncomfortable to you. Better than most fixed lodges. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WLMN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

You can't really leave once you arrive here (you'll know what I mean once you embark on the long steep drive up to the lodge), but you wouldn't want to. What is unique about this place? There is an unexpected but lovely vegetable and herb garden; an orphanage (supported by the lodge) around the corner, where they also bake their own bread; and the amazing view. The accommodation is simple but good (you stay in semi permanent tents with a separate shower/toilet area). The dining room and common area are spacious, and there is even a swimming pool. Highly recommended, but I don't know how popular this place is, being kind of in the middle of nowhere - you'd only come here as a pit stop before or after the Crater.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shezz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
15.3 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
708 reviews
1.5 mi away
Karatu Simba Lodge
Karatu Simba Lodge
#11 of 55 in Karatu
98 reviews
17.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#8 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
10.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
#18 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Address: Rhotia Valley Road | 5 Km Off the Main Road Arusha - Serengeti, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $247 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away on the top of a hill in rural Africa and, at the same time, located in the very heart of the Northern Tanzania safari circuit Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge breathes the atmosphere of true Africa. The lodge is built with indigenous hardwood and in traditional African style. It is in complete harmony with its surroundings. Yet, its spacious set up, personal and friendly service and its finishing touches, such as cozy sofas around the fireplace and warm decorative details, provide a perfectly balanced luxury. With only fifteen individual tents, Rhotia Valley has an intimate charm. Each of the comfortable tented houses has its own veranda with splendid view. The bathrooms are provided with hot and cold running water, shower and flush toilet. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in our open dining area. Most of the vegetables and all the herbs are grown in our own garden. Daily we bake fresh bread in our Bakery. Moreover, we produce butter from the milk produced by our own cows. Facilities: - Swimming pool with panoramic view. - Wifi is available in the common dining area. - Conference Room fully equipped with beamer and flipchart. Rhotia Valley is more than a lodge. It is completed embedded in the community of Rhotia. Rhotia Valley consists of the Tented Lodge and, on the opposite hill, a CHILDREN'S HOME. Its aim is to give support to the people of the Rhotia area, all the staff and the children in the Home are from the local area. TWO HILLS, ONE GOAL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhotia Valley Tented Hotel Karatu
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing