We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our best stay in Tanzania”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
Ranked #8 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
breziers
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“our best stay in Tanzania”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We staid two nights in Rhotia valley and that was the best place we stayed in Tanzania.
The location is amazing with a magnificent view. Tents are very comfortable and they are all parted like a little village. Decoration is very nice and the dinner/bar room is also very welcoming.
The owners are such nice people and their commitment to the local community is impressive. They built a childhome where local kids can stay and they help them to pay for school and getting to the highest level as possible. Our kids played football with some of the boys and this added a lot to the trip for them. The swimming pool was very appreciated after dusty days driving.
Thanks at all the team for their welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florence l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    39
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
72
99
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The last leg of your journey to this lodge will be bumpy and dusty but it is worth every jolt of the 5km ride from the main road. Plus, when you arrive, you are greeted with a damp warm cloth to wipe the dust off your face and a delicious glass of juice to quench your thirst. It is the beginning of what will be your best accommodation in Tanzania!

This lodge supports a children's home that you can see on the top of the next hill. You are able to visit the home with one of the owners at 5:30 when the children are home from school. It's an amazing story of how the home and lodge were "born." It's great to know that the profits from the lodge support the children and community.

Each tent is fully equipped with everything you need and the generator is used until 9pm at which point the solar power kicks in for an hour. There is running water in each tent and the shower gets very hot! There is only a privacy half wall between the main room and the toilet so be prepared for that.

Charging happens at the front desk and there is internet after 6pm for a $5 charge. Dinner is served at 7:30 and it is a fixed menu (unless you have special dietary requirements.) Breakfast is fresh fruit, eggs, bacon or sausages, and homemade bread and jam. The coffee is delicious and the tea is a homemade lemongrass tea.

There is a lovely pool that overlooks the valley, a garden in the middle of the property, a bar, a reading area, and a fireplace. It is cool at night and your bed will have a hot water bottle placed under the covers to warm it up while you eat dinner. Once it is dark, you must walk with a guide back to your tent as the lodge is on an elephant route. We did not see elephants but we did hear baboons and also lots of smashing of trees during the night. The birds are spectacular. If you can spend half a day at the lodge just relaxing, it's a great place to recharge your batteries!

One our last day there we stayed until noon and they made a special lunch for us to eat before we left. The day before we had been given a boxed lunch and the amount of food was incredible! All the food was delicious but the soups were heavenly.

Room Tip: Tents face the valley or the forest. The view is bigger if you face the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank China_Kimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It's rare that you stay at a lodge or hotel that contributes a significant portion of their profits to an orphanage, they also built, located right next door. Beyond that, the staff was amazing and so kind that they went above and beyond to even make me a birthday cake and put out balloons for a breakfast before I left. We also stayed at two other tented lodges while on safari and they by far had the best hot shower of the places we stayed. On-site organic garden that produces many of the items they use in the food they make, which was also great. Great place all around.

Room Tip: Rooms 16 and 12 both have good views, can't comment on other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here with extended family in July. It is a bit out of the way (not in the crater) but it is a beautiful place to stay. The view of the Rhotia valley is superb. They have their own organic herb and vegetable garden from which produce is used in cooking for the camp. The service is excellent. The rooms are very charming with nice balconies with a view.
They have a nice bar area where one can sit and enjoy the view and some drinks. The dining area is very cosy and well decorated. There is a sitting area with a fireplace. Breakfast and dinner are both excellent. Loved the atmosphere of this camp.
To top it all, the hosts run a Children's home which is nearby and you can go visit it if you have the time. We were told that 20% of the bill goes towards maintaining the Children's Home.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefig2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon and we had a great time. The owners/managers were not only great hosts, but their effort in running the children's home were truly inspirational.

The lodge has a great atmosphere including a bar with an amazing view on the valley surrounding the lodge, a cosy sitting area including a fire and a great restaurant. Furthermore, both breakfast and dinner were very good. The tented rooms were nice as well and situated in a beautiful garden.

We also had a tour around the children's home and were impressed by what the owners/managers have managed to set up over the last couple of years. Not only have they been able to build up a great orphanage through various initiatives, they have also been able to a.o. improve education for the local people.

The good thing eventually is that by staying at this great lodge, you also indirectly help the children's home and various initiatives for much needed funding as part of the profit is used for further developments.

In summary, I can definitely recommend staying at this lodge!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I absolutley love this lodge. The service is A+, the location magnificent and the rooms put together with so much charm!

We will most certainly be your guests again. Best lodge on northern circuit.

Keep it up!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManuelaJUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night before visiting the Ngorngoro crater. The camp is perched high up on a hill with the children’s home on the opposite hill. We were shown around the children’s home by a volunteer who was staying for three months from Holland.
The camp and children’s home set up is truly inspirational and very humbling. The running of both the camp and the children’s home is very well organised.
It is definitely worth staying here as it is not touristy like alot of hotels/camps in the crater region.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smith2013xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
1.5 mi away
Karatu Simba Lodge
Karatu Simba Lodge
#11 of 48 in Karatu
76 reviews
8.6 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
402 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,513 reviews
5.7 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#6 of 48 in Karatu
156 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Property: Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
Address: Rhotia Valley Road | 5 Km Off the Main Road Arusha - Serengeti, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away on the top of a hill in rural Africa and, at the same time, located in the very heart of the Northern Tanzania safari circuit Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge breathes the atmosphere of true Africa. The lodge is built with indigenous hardwood and in traditional African style. It is in complete harmony with its surroundings. Yet, its spacious set up, personal and friendly service and its finishing touches, such as cozy sofas around the fireplace and warm decorative details, provide a perfectly balanced luxury. With only fifteen individual tents, Rhotia Valley has an intimate charm. Each of the comfortable tented houses has its own veranda with splendid view. The bathrooms are provided with hot and cold running water, shower and flush toilet. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in our open dining area. Most of the vegetables and all the herbs are grown in our own garden. Daily we bake fresh bread in our Bakery. Moreover, we produce butter from the milk produced by our own cows. Facilities: - Swimming pool with panoramic view. - Wifi is available in the common dining area. - Conference Room fully equipped with beamer and flipchart. Rhotia Valley is more than a lodge. It is completed embedded in the community of Rhotia. Rhotia Valley consists of the Tented Lodge and, on the opposite hill, a CHILDREN'S HOME. Its aim is to give support to the people of the Rhotia area, all the staff and the children in the Home are from the local area. TWO HILLS, ONE GOAL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhotia Valley Tented Hotel Karatu
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing