We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
Ranked #7 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We spent two nights at Rhotia Lodge during our Tanzanian safari and it exceeded all our expectations. Our tent was very comfortable with a double and two single beds and amazing views over the countryside from our private balcony. All the staff were very welcoming and the food was excellent. It was my daughter's birthday during our stay and they made her a cake and sung to her in the dining room which made the day really special. Another lovely touch was the hot water bottles in the beds at night to take off the chill. We visited the children's home next door whilst we were there and it was truly inspirational to see what had been done there. I can't recommend this lodge enough and would definitely stay here again if I return to Tanzania in the future.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 244 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

Everything I've ever dreamt of and then some...Tasteful and so becoming it's environment, with a wonderful view. Comfortable and so well thought through tents. Friendly and courteous staff. Charming and hospitable owners with an inspiring mission, with their impecable orphonage next door to the Lodge. My daughter and I had a lovely time there and wished we had the time to saty longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank appleNYC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here during our trip in February 2012. Beautiful place in beautiful environment, nice walks in the direct environment. Hospitality, food, service and rooms (tents) are of good quality. We also visited the children's home next to the lodge and realised that this is the extra we wanted during our stay in Tanzania. Tanzania is a beautiful country, but it does have a lot of room for improvement with regards to social development and care for people. It was really heart warming to se how this lodge is able to make a difference in the society. Marise, Joris and their staff are doing a great job out there, for the village and for the guests!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vakantiegangers010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We just got back from 12 days in Tanzania. This was our favorite lodge. Excellent views, cool sleeping, great meals, comfortable tent/lodges, friendly staff. We stayed at Tarangire Safari Lodge, Rhino Lodge, Ndutu Lodge and this was the best. I cannot say enough good things about it. Only downside is the road might be a little tough in the rainy season.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadisonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed there in early March in 2010 and heard bush babies at night, saw elephants in the day. I was glad lions were not out and about, but I know they were in the area, and so do the locals.

Apparently birds are not considered wild life either as there was a bevy of different birds to be seen.

I would never pass on a opportunity to revisit this lodge!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colowilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband and I have just come back from our Tanzania holiday which included four nights at the Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge.

It was by far the best lodge we've encountered on our 9 day safari (despite having seen some with higher aspirations to luxury). The couple of Dutch family doctors that run it (along with the nearby children's home) were very kind to us. We even got a free medical consultation, as we both got there fighting off a cold and cough.

The lodge has an authentic African expedition flair, no excessive or unnecessary luxury, but all the important things: cleanliness, running warm water, good food (grown in their own garden), friendly staff, access to internet (very important as my mobile phone "found" a new owner a few nights before we arrived at this lodge, and I had no way to change passwords before) and general attention to detail.

They run their own generator and the water boiler is powered by solar energy. The tents are spacious, have an open feel and beautiful views from the decks. After sundown it can get a bit chilly, so they have a fireplace in the dining area, there are hot coals placed next to you during dinner and we have found warm water bottles in our bed every night. And, if any tall person is reading this: the bed was long enough even for my husband (202 cm tall). Not to be missed: the "juice of the day", various combinations of exotic fruits.

Moreover, it's hard to put the finger on exactly why, but we had the feeling that the atmosphere was a great deal more relaxed than on other lodges, the staff seemed to enjoy their work more and to interact better with the guests, probably also because of their better English. Also, from the general aspect of things, we felt we could trust the hygiene of the cooking more than in other places, again, hard to say precisely why.

Due to the high altitude there are no mosquitos. The landscape is beautiful, with the red earth contrasting with the lush vegetation, and one can experience wonderful sunsets from the bar deck, and in the dark one can discern the lights of Karatu in the distance.

As we used this lodge as a base camp for the nearby parks (Manyara, Ngorongoro) we've experienced the road from the main street to the lodge quite a number of times, and yes, it's rough. Been holding onto the jeep for dear life every time, but it's part of the experience and a good training if you just start the safari ;)

Room Tip: Tents from about 12 to the last (16) face west (sun in the evening), not sure about the others, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelCat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

First-rate, roomy, clean accommodation. Each tent has a deck overlooking the beautiful, red-earth Rhotia Valley. Eco-friendly: use solar lights, re-use of water. Food was fabulous. The couple from Denmark who run the place are warm, caring and helpful people. They also run the children's orphanage next door and gave us a tour. Wonderful local project.
However: do not stay here during or just after either the long (Apr-May) or short (Nov-Dec) rains. It is situated probably at the highest point and the red-earth is like mud during rains. We slid into mud at the bottom of the hill and it cost us an hour of time we could have been in Ngorongoro. The owner kindly came with his truck and towed us out.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
15.3 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
690 reviews
1.5 mi away
Karatu Simba Lodge
Karatu Simba Lodge
#9 of 51 in Karatu
95 reviews
17.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#10 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
109 reviews
10.8 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#32 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
56 reviews
14.6 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Address: Rhotia Valley Road | 5 Km Off the Main Road Arusha - Serengeti, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $227 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away on the top of a hill in rural Africa and, at the same time, located in the very heart of the Northern Tanzania safari circuit Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge breathes the atmosphere of true Africa. The lodge is built with indigenous hardwood and in traditional African style. It is in complete harmony with its surroundings. Yet, its spacious set up, personal and friendly service and its finishing touches, such as cozy sofas around the fireplace and warm decorative details, provide a perfectly balanced luxury. With only fifteen individual tents, Rhotia Valley has an intimate charm. Each of the comfortable tented houses has its own veranda with splendid view. The bathrooms are provided with hot and cold running water, shower and flush toilet. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in our open dining area. Most of the vegetables and all the herbs are grown in our own garden. Daily we bake fresh bread in our Bakery. Moreover, we produce butter from the milk produced by our own cows. Facilities: - Swimming pool with panoramic view. - Wifi is available in the common dining area. - Conference Room fully equipped with beamer and flipchart. Rhotia Valley is more than a lodge. It is completed embedded in the community of Rhotia. Rhotia Valley consists of the Tented Lodge and, on the opposite hill, a CHILDREN'S HOME. Its aim is to give support to the people of the Rhotia area, all the staff and the children in the Home are from the local area. TWO HILLS, ONE GOAL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhotia Valley Tented Hotel Karatu
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing