We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good solid place, a little expensive (but not in relative terms)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kudu Lodge & Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kudu Lodge & Camp
Ranked #14 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good solid place, a little expensive (but not in relative terms)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

Three of us stayed here. It is a nice place, in gardens, well run. A bit on the expensive side but this level of accomodation in Karatu seems to be since it is close to the Crater. This area is fairly remote, with tourism kind of grafted on. We had a nice banda - spacious enough for three persons. There are nice gardens. Food though is very expensive, with lunch being US$18 as I recall and I think supper (a buffet - not that great) was US$25. We went into town one night and had rice and chicken at a very local place for a few dollars each. But, by and large, a reasonable place. I just remembered one very frustrating issue - the mosquito nets need to be tucked in all around the bed, but given the frame of the bed, this was actually next to impossible.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueformoneyandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
29
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

We too found the Kudu Lodge a relief after the blandness of the big lodges in the game parks. The food may not be very special, but then the buffets at Serena and Sopa are nothing much either. The cabins are quite simple and a bit kitsch, service is friendly and somewhat chaotic in typical Tanzanian fashion. The birds in the garden are a delight, and a comprehensibe bird list is left in each cabin for enthusiatsic birders. Since three of the game parks are within an easy day's drive, we would seriously consider basing ourself here for a few days on our next trip. It's far enough from the village to be quiet, but close enough for a bit of social inter-action. There is a cultural tourism project in the village too.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Londinense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed here at the end of our safari, after a sucession of bland and unpleasant Serena Hotels. This place was wonderful, the staff were really enthusiastic and helpful and we had an enormous sort of semi detached bungalow with two beautifully draped four posters, a sitting area and fireplace, dressing room and large shower room. The gardens are amazing and the food was better than we had in any of the other lodges, except , perhaps, Kirawira which is very expensive. I really wished that we had asked our safari company to book more African run lodges/Hotels. The best thing about this place is that our driver was allowed to have dinner and a drink with us ( most places relegate the drivers to some grim staff quarters) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Higgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c2watkins
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

This is a fantastic lodge in an oasis of calm and tranquillity. We loved this place and the beautiful gardens that surrounded it. This was the largest room we had during our safari with two double beds a sitting area, fire place, shower room and dressing/washroom.
There was a lovely bar with a beautiful terrace where you could sit and look out at the well manicured gardens.
This was the only place we stayed at on safari where the dinner wasn’t a buffet service. They gave us a menu which was very nice, soup, chicken and fruit salad and then came round with big pots of each and you served yourself and much as you like. The main course came round twice so you could have seconds if you chose.
The room was clean and very well furnished. I would definitely recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c2watkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2009

This lodge is a well kept secret - in fact I can't believe I'm actually telling you about it.
In the town of Karatu, close to the Ngorongoro Crater and Serengeti, it is hidden amongst fantastic gardens which attract so many birds that a twitcher will never leave!
The campsite facilities are very good. Hot showers and kitchen areas. However, it's worth splashing out a bit to upgrade to the lodge rooms. Four poster beds and comfy chairs.
The bar drinks are a bit pricey, but there are nice chairs to lounge in and music to listen to (if you like country and western!).
The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially in finding a replacement 4x4 after ours broke down.
I loved it here and so will you - just don't tell anyone else.

  • Liked — The amazing gardens with so much birdlife
  • Disliked — country and western music and expensive beer
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank somewhereinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset, england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at Kudu as part of a safari. The place is lovely, with detached cottage type rooms and beautiful gardens to wander around.

The main problem however was the food. All the food served at breakfast and evening meals was cold. But worse still was the picnic boxes provided - day 1 contained chicken that had maggots in it. Unforgiveable. Day 2, after complaining and requesting no chicken, saw the interesting combination of a grated carrot sandwich (about 5 strands of grated carrot!!).

All three of our party, even including our safari guide, had upset tummies after staying here, which is a shame as the actual place is very nice, they just need to seriously improve their food and food hygiene.

  • Liked — Gardens and seeing a little hedgehog!
  • Disliked — Maggots in the chicken. Urgh.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank safarinewcomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

This was really a great place. We stayed there only 1 night arriving from Manyara National Park and heading (the following day) to NgoroNgoro.

Karatu is in fact close to both, which makes it an ideal stop en route. Moreover, being a (for local standards) real town, a stop in Karatu allows you to e.g. withdraw money from cash machines or buy drugs from pharmacies etc.

The hotel is composed by several nice and well decorated bungalows spread in a very beautiful garden full of colorful flowers. There is apparently a campiste too but I did not see it.

We were given a huge bungalow, i.e. a large suite: an enormous room with on one side 2 double four-poster beds, and on the other side a small living and a small studio. A corridor led to the bathroom which was large and in fact composed by 2 rooms. We frankly did not know what to do with all that space! Furniture and decoration were also quite nice.

The restaurant serves very tasty food, and we ordered a bottle of wine which was good as well (at a reasonable price). Also, the package lunch we got on the day we left was really nice: probably the best package lunch we had during our 10 day safari in tanzania! Personnel was really attentive, helpful and well-mannered. In other words, service was impeccable.

There is also a nice bar in another building but we were tired and did not get any drink there.

There is also a sort of business centre were you can have access to the Internet. It is not for free, but not expensive for Tanzania. In sum, we were very very happy about this lodge and when later we spent 2 nights on the crater rim (at the not so good and expensive Wildlife Lodge) we wondered wether it would not have been better to stay at the Kudu Lodge: less pricey and far better treatment.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bruges00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.0 mi away
Amaan Bungalows
Amaan Bungalows
#2 of 40 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moivaro Lodge
Moivaro Lodge
#13 of 148 in Arusha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#4 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kudu Lodge & Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kudu Lodge & Camp

Property: Kudu Lodge & Camp
Address: | PO Box 60, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Hotel Class:2 star — Kudu Lodge & Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kudu Lodge & Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kudu Lodge & Camp Hotel Karatu
Kudu Lodge And Camp
Kudu Lodge & Camp Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing