We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place in karatu but maintenance of rooms can be better”
Review of Kudu Lodge & Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kudu Lodge & Camp
Ranked #14 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Oosterhout, Nederland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great place in karatu but maintenance of rooms can be better”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

nice gardens and good rooms with mosquito nets. Showers and toilet are not very good, just a little water often cold and toilets do not flush properly. Personal is slow and do not react very fast on complaints. Food is good, only replenishment is slow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob30berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
30
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansund, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We arrived early in the afternoon, and had the great pleasure of finding the pool for a refreshing swim and some sun on blue-white scandinavian bodies. Very friendly staff, good food and nice rooms.

The garden was fantastic, lots of tree, flowers and birds.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c-horse_norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed in Kudu lodge for 4 nights altogether plus 2 nights in Ikoma Bush Camp on a safari tour organized by the Kudu Lodge. We loved it!
After lots of hassle in Tanzanian busses we finally arrived and were greated very warmly with fresh towel and welcome juice. They made sure we truly felt welcome - after the dusty voyage we felt like king & queen ;). That evening the manager came to our bungalow to introduce our guide and driver for the next days to us (he took us to Lake Manyara, a 3-day-trip to Serengeti and Ngorongoro and after that drove us to Arusha airport). The safari was superb, vehicle good condition and spacious (just for us 2!)

The Lodge itself is set in a beautiful tropical garden with so many colourful birds that don't stop singing it's like staying in a bird sanctuary. We had a huge Tembo bungalow first (3 rooms, almost too big for us two), after our safari we stayed in a Serengeti suite, which was truly fantastic. But also the smaller bungalows seemed in a good state and compared to other places the prices seems very fair.
There's a brandnew big pool with a funny poolbar, lots of places to sunbath, always friendly staff. Pool truly is fantastic, but you have to take a (cold) shower downstairs before you swim - that's the only negative. You can also relax in the gardens or at the bar (lots of comfy chairs outside and inside). The restaurant area is nice and food and wine are great, also the lunch boxes for the trips were a good offer.

Overall, the place gives you a good feeling, it seems well kept and constantly new built / improved and the staff are so nice. Seems a lot has changed since the last guide-books articles were writen... It's a very relaxing retreat after a dusty safari and it's a lot closer to the big parks than the Arusha-locations. Also, the Kudu-organized Safaris are really recommended, they have great guides and equipment and prices are fair.

And, last but not least, this lodge is (sadly) one of the only Tanzanian-owned in the area. That means your big safari-money doesn't disappear in the European /American oder South African pockets as in all the other places. That was a big plus for us!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernweh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed at Kudu Lodge a few days whilst travelling through the Northern Circuit. We mostly used their campsite which had great facilities and also spend one night in one of their Tembo retreat cottages to have a night of relative luxury compared to our tents. The staff at Kudu were fantastic. They are friendly and very helpful and we even had one of their guys come with us into Karatu to help us with our shopping supplies for our camping trip through the Serengeti, showing us the best shops to get what we needed.

Kudu Lodge is set in spectacular grounds with great flowering gardens. They have an internet cafe and a gift shop as well as a bar and restaurant. They're building a fantastic looking pool which unfortunately was not finished when we were there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monasmithphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Were booked here 2 nights. If could have gotten out of 1 of them we would have. Were in Kilimanjaro room #3. Room itself was clean but overly furnished. Could not get the door open without pushing against it around the inside chair. Toilet/shower area ok. Windows did not have screens and had about 1 inch gaps between bottom of window and windowsill. Door was about 1 inch above floor area so pretty much any bug could come under it. After dinner our first night there, we found a big black bug not sure what it was crawling up the mosquito netting of 1 of the beds. There was a bottle of raid like spray in room for us to use but.... We put towel in from of door each night to keep the bugs out and sprayed each windowsill with large amounts of bug spray as well. Shower did not drain properly but we found that at other places as well. Nice garden area around the rooms. Food was good. Had buffet dinner and breakfast. Beds were not very comfortable and were small so my husband and I did not sleep in the same bed here. Not a bad place but finding more bugs in our lodge room than what we ever had in our tent in the middle of the serengeti was a turn off. Also, they provided boxed lunches during the day for us. Included was what my husband thought was a cabbage sandwich. Very strange.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hak63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Three of us stayed here. It is a nice place, in gardens, well run. A bit on the expensive side but this level of accomodation in Karatu seems to be since it is close to the Crater. This area is fairly remote, with tourism kind of grafted on. We had a nice banda - spacious enough for three persons. There are nice gardens. Food though is very expensive, with lunch being US$18 as I recall and I think supper (a buffet - not that great) was US$25. We went into town one night and had rice and chicken at a very local place for a few dollars each. But, by and large, a reasonable place. I just remembered one very frustrating issue - the mosquito nets need to be tucked in all around the bed, but given the frame of the bed, this was actually next to impossible.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueformoneyandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We too found the Kudu Lodge a relief after the blandness of the big lodges in the game parks. The food may not be very special, but then the buffets at Serena and Sopa are nothing much either. The cabins are quite simple and a bit kitsch, service is friendly and somewhat chaotic in typical Tanzanian fashion. The birds in the garden are a delight, and a comprehensibe bird list is left in each cabin for enthusiatsic birders. Since three of the game parks are within an easy day's drive, we would seriously consider basing ourself here for a few days on our next trip. It's far enough from the village to be quiet, but close enough for a bit of social inter-action. There is a cultural tourism project in the village too.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Londinense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
0.0 mi away
Octagon Lodge
Octagon Lodge
#13 of 48 in Karatu
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
0.0 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaan Bungalows
Amaan Bungalows
#1 of 46 in Nungwi
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Heritage Camp
Serengeti Heritage Camp
#42 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kudu Lodge & Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kudu Lodge & Camp

Property: Kudu Lodge & Camp
Address: | PO Box 60, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Hotel Class:2 star — Kudu Lodge & Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Kudu Lodge & Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kudu Lodge And Camp
Kudu Lodge & Camp Hotel Karatu
Kudu Lodge & Camp Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing