We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge
Ranked #6 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Staff were all very friendly and eager to help. Pool hours were 24 hrs so we were able to take advantage of the pool each day after long dusty safari days.

Fireplaces in our chalets were great too and the staff lit them while we were at dinner so we returned to the warmth and didn't have to do anything.

Excellent location if you are going to see the Ngorongoro crater.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    123
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
90
137
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Bougainvillea Safari lodge is a good mid-range budget option located a short drive from the Ngorongoro Crater, and Lake Manyara. The cottages are big, with ample space for items, my only complaint is that the pillow are extremely hard and the water pressure in the shower was like being "licked by puppies" as my travel mate put it. I had a nice swim in the pool, and all the staff were very polite. The selling point of the lodge is their dinners, the chef is obviously well-trained and puts together a very nice assortment of dishes each evening. They staff always came around asking if you wanted seconds of anything, and were also very accommodating to my dietary restrictions (bringing me steamed vegetables without dairy and a bowl of fruit for dessert instead of pie). As I am lactose and gluten-intolerant, I had a wonderful packed lunch full of fresh fruit, peeled veggies, hard cooked egg, a piece of chicken and chips, was not starving! Be warned however, they charge a hefty $5 USD per 1/2 hour of internet, and the connection is extremely slow, try finding an internet cafe or using internet at another lodge for better rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromma, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in house/room 1 and 2 which were excellent. Big room with a nice double bed and twin beds for our sons, which were made up every night with the full covering mosqito net and a cosy light. It looked so nice and comfortable. A good bathroom with a shower.
There is a lovely refreshing swimming pool with sun beds.
The restaurant is serving good food, a small sallad, then a soup as a starter and then chicken or meat with rice, vegetables and sauce, finally a small desert. Nothing fancy but good food.
Breakfast offers tropical fruits, toast, pancakes, omelettes, eggs or what you want to order.
The staff was so nice and friendly, best staff we met in Tanzania.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and 2 which were excellent situtated by the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YlvaBromma_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I arranged to have my mother and brother stay at Bougainvillea for about five nights while I was working up the hill in Karatu for a few weeks in March 2012. When we arrived on the property we fell in love immediately! The staff were extremely hospitable and everyone knew us by name within a day. The gardening and pool were pristine and the the guest houses were adorable and well equipped! I visited my family many nights for dinner and really enjoyed the food -especially the soup, vegetables, and avocado salad! Reggie is a great chef and is very welcoming, we shared several good chats. My mom and brother went on a tour to a coffee plantation with Andrew; I also joined on a hike to the elephant caves around Gibbs Farm. Andrew was a fantastic guide. When we went on a safari for a few days the staff volunteered to lock up my mom and brothers suitcase which was a big help. We will also remember Daniel as being a fantastic host to my family. He was very friendly and we became friends very fast.

Thanks Bougainvillea!

- Lauren, Pam, and Sam

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here as part of an organised tour and remember being surprised, as they could have just put us anywhere. However, this is a really nice place with a lot of charm. It is also conveniently located between Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro Crater, so a late start from one and early rise to the other is not a problem. Food was fine, rooms were nice and quaint. Overall very happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This way my third stay at the lodge. I love the rooms here. The setting is so relaxing and the rooms are beautiful and the beds extremely comfortable. I spent many hours on the porch reading and enjoying the quiet. The next morning I took a walk outside of the grounds, away from the town of Karatu. I felt very safe and the people were quite friendly. The staff is very helpful. I rated this only a four, because I feel the food, although always good, is a little hit and miss. Sometimes it is outstanding, sometimes just average. But if I am ever near Karatu, I will always use this as the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilopascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were rerouted on our tour from an accommodations closer to the Ngorongoro Crater and at first a little disgruntled by the change....until we were received by the staff of the Bougainvillea Safari Lodge with damp cool towels to wipe the safari dirt off our faces and cold mango juice to soothe our souls.

I see a few travelers were a litte unhappy with this little gem of a hotel. I am sorry they missed the most important key to why it is so speical...it's the people who work here. I did not meet the manager but I am going to guess he does a good job because the people who work here care ab lout each other and care about the guests and each one strives to be sure every expectation is met. They treat everyone like family.

We did meet the executive chef, Reginald Bayo, and you can tell he loves his work as the food was exceptional! Dinner is served to you and we had pumpkin soup and pot roast with carrots and mashed potatoes...delicous! He even has a lush garden where he grows most of the produce.

The grounds look like a bit of England...the pathways to the cozy cottages are lined with beautiful flowers that even included some coffee plants. The accommodations are charming with mosquited netted four-poster beds, African themed quilts, a small fireplace tucked into the corner and fresh flowers from the garden. Although the bathroom is quite Spartan...it is more than adequate.

All in all, I would return here again..and hope Reginald will consider doing some cooking classes or at least a little blog with some of his recipes on the website. And I must say the photos onm the website don't do the grounds justice...everything has flourished since the photos were taken.

Room Tip: Beautiful pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chichicastenango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
0.6 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 50 in Karatu
170 reviews
5.2 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
15.2 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Octagon Lodge
Octagon Lodge
#13 of 50 in Karatu
101 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
0.9 mi away
Eileen's Trees Inn
Eileen's Trees Inn
#4 of 50 in Karatu
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Property: Bougainvillea Safari Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Road, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge, located a few minutes from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area gate, offers comfortable accommodation, excellent food and friendly service at a reasonable price. Manager and executive chef Reggie Bayo has many years of experience and his food is legend on the northern safari circuit. Each comfortable room has a fireplace; family cottages and triples are available. There is a comfortable lounge and bar as well as a swimming pool and gift shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Safari Hotel Karatu
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing