We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, food, service!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge
Ranked #6 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We recently stayed 3 nights - ideally situated to access Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro Crater and on your way to Serengeti. Big, spacious bungalow rooms with a large bed. The food was the best of anywhere we stayed in our 2 weeks in Tanzania. The gardens are simply beautiful. We highly recommend Bougainvillea Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ucaimaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 361 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

After a day at Taregire National Park we arrived at Bougainvillea. We were welcomed with a complimentary beverage. The house accomodations were absolutely wonderful and well kept. The bathroom had working hot water, the room had a small fireplace, and the bed had a mosquito net. It had a very luxurious feel to it. The property is full of lush plants and trees, has a pool, masseuse, gift shop (super affordable), and bar. The dining area was lovely. The waiters came around and placed our napkins on our laps and the rounds of food came around. The staff was always friendly and attentive. Drinks are the only thing not included in your price. The food was amazing btw. Highly recommend this area if you are around Ngorongoro or Tarengire NP.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sneekymongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed one night travelling from Lake Manyara to Serengeti. Spacious, nice and clean bungakows with open fireplace. We had the best dinner in whole Tanzania during our safari trip. Large and jovial chef wadered amongst the guest during dinner making certain that all was for guests full satisfaction. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the bungaklows appear to be the same. All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PekkaR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I arrived at 22.00 hours and the place was closed for the night. Slowly a "room" was found for me, more like a very nicely decorated room with small salon, excellent bathroom and small terrace, very clean and with a double bed with mosquitoe nets. Breakfast was delicious with home-made muffins, fruit, etc. Dinner was the only other meal I had there, which was really top-quality food i.e. roast lamb with garden fresh salad and vegetables beautifully presented; I spoke to the chef Paolo Theodori who had studied to become a chef and run out of money so he was working to save more money. If only for the food it is well-worth a stop, but with the added bonus of charming staff with a "yes" to everything I asked for and excellent living quarters after a day's safari. Great value and 20 minutes from the Ngorongoro crater with private transport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BaghdadSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a perfectly nice hotel close to both Lake Manyara as well as Ngorongoro with large comfortable rooms, good service, and good food (served as a full 3-4 course sit down dinner or lunch). The staff is friendly and helpful, the place is clean, and the pool is nice, and the only thing that needs work is the bathrooms. Despite that, it is a nice place to stay for a couple of days, especially with kids. The downside is that, while both Manyara as well as Ngorongoro are close enough for a good day safari, both are far enough that you'll find it hard to get to them early (if that matters). Internet is available for the expensive safari rate of $5 per half hour but that appears to be the norm in that unconnected area. (The staff, thoughtfully, let me hook my own mac to their dsl modem.)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We spent 2 nights there - we were 10 in total with children from 2 years to 15 years. It is a good hotel with simple rooms & bathroom but clean. There was hot water but hot shower needs to be taken quich in order for the other person to also have some. The food was very good (soup, starter, main course, dessert) & breakfast is also good.

There is a nice swimming pool which the children loved as well as a nice garden around it for drinks & coffee.

Good hotel to stop on the way to the major parks.

Room Tip: ask for the new section on the right of the reception area not the one by the pool (older rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoiDfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We really enjoyed Bougainvillea. Our room was huge, the food was very good, and the staff was great, particularly the crew in the dining room. It's also very affordable compared with other safari lodges. It's very relaxed and comfortable and everyone went out of their way to accommodate us. Power goes out occasionally, but that's a larger Tanzanian problem. There is limited internet access, which is not free. Overall the lodge has a very winning spirit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifelongTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
0.0 mi away
Crater Rim View
Crater Rim View
#2 of 3 in Karatu
44 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
6.6 mi away
Karatu Simba Lodge
Karatu Simba Lodge
#9 of 51 in Karatu
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eileen's Trees Inn
Eileen's Trees Inn
#4 of 51 in Karatu
231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tanzanice Farm
Tanzanice Farm
#17 of 51 in Karatu
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Road, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range: $201 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge, located a few minutes from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area gate, offers comfortable accommodation, excellent food and friendly service at a reasonable price. Manager and executive chef Reggie Bayo has many years of experience and his food is legend on the northern safari circuit. Each comfortable room has a fireplace; family cottages and triples are available. There is a comfortable lounge and bar as well as a swimming pool and gift shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Safari Hotel Karatu
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing