We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent amenities and value”
Review of Hotel San Jorge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Jorge
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent amenities and value”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Positives: great free breakfast (eggs, plantains, beans, fruit, coffee) clean spacious rooms, friendly staff (Some spoke English), free calling to the USA, good location (walk to many restaurants, bars, shops), excellent value (we paid $45 for 3 people so $15 per person) hot showers

Negatives: noisy even in your room (bring ear plugs), tile floors (bring socks or flip flops), no storage in rooms- even though the room space was large, there was barely any furniture so I had to keep everything in my suitcase

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Santa Rosa!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
2
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here as part of a group. We had a series of rooms in the basement. The beds were excellent and the breakfast was freshly made daily. The rooms in the basement have high ceilings (4 meters or so) and windows along the top that go into the hallway and between some of the bathrooms to faciliate airflow. You will hear things and people that you might not expect to hear while staying in a hotel. The staff at the hotel is so helpful with exchanging money at a fair rate, answering questions and having a dedicated phone line to the US. I would easily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The huge rooms and central location were nice, but the real perks of Hotel San Jorge is the excellent staff. We stayed there for a few nights in March 2013 while we were heading from the highlands to the coast. Our flight got cancelled and Jorge let us use their phone to call the airline, as well as our friend back in the US who was meeting us, for free. Very knowledgeable, accommodating, and friendly! Highly recommend it if you are looking for a place in Santa Rosa de Copan.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here with a group to support social programs locally. We were served a hot breakfast every morning that included items like pancakes, eggs, plantains, banana, mango, orange, bread, juice, refried beans, you name it. They also prepared our lunch for off-site as we had some dinners there. The food was great. The rooms do not have A/C, so this makes the rooms in the basement very damp and the rooms upstairs very humid.

The only complaint I have is that you can hear everything from within a block away. There was a party down the street one night that kept most of us up until 3am, and there were fireworks a few nights after starting at 4am. Obviously this is out of the hotel's control. You could hear every toilet flush and every door close, people walking on any floor and talking in any room. but I think due to the fact that everything in Honduras is TILE, you should probably bring a set of earplugs anywhere you go in the country. Perhaps some rugs or art on the walls would damper the noise a bit...

Room Tip: Rooms at the back end of the hotel on the basement level are the quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaverickBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great stay and wonderful staff!
After a long journey all the way from London to Santa Rosa de Copan, Hotel San Jorge was a great home away from home. The rooms are large, comfortable and immaculate. The beds were comfy and the showers were nice and hot. Breakfast offers a variety of food on a daily basis and the meals we had at the hotel were home cooked and tasty. The hospitality shown by Jorge and his staff was exceptional, they went out of their way to accommodate our schedule and provide us with assistance. The hotel is centrally located and is walking distance from the town square. I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michigan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

stayed for a week with a group of 14. Spacious rooms, beautiful rooftop views, fantastic food; amazing, polite, and helpful staff. The hotel was extremely clean, beds were remade when we returned each evening. This was my first time to Santa Rosa de Copan Honduras and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerrittBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for a week in this great hotel in Santa Rosa de Copan in Honduras. The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The rooms were large with comfortable beds.
The restaurant was excellent and had a good variety in both breakfast and dinner. The service could not have been better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rchance34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa de Copan
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elvir
Hotel Elvir
#1 of 4 in Santa Rosa de Copan
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real Camino Lenca
0.0 mi away
Posada de Don Juan
Posada de Don Juan
#3 of 3 in Gracias
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos
0.0 mi away
La Posada de Juan B&B
La Posada de Juan B&B
#1 of 9 in Santa Rosa de Copan
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Maya
Hotel Posada Maya
#7 of 9 in Santa Rosa de Copan
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jorge

Property: Hotel San Jorge
Address: 2nd Ave So, Between 1st And 2nd Sts, Santa Rosa de Copan CP3100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Santa Rosa de Copan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Santa Rosa de Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Jorge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family business and offer you the largest and more comfortable rooms in town and a touch of hospitality that will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Jorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing